http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Nutt15; 21 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for SSUSA Staff


Real name:
Home Office Staff

Location:
Sacramento, CA

Division:

Messages posted by SSUSA Staff »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Jan. 25, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Oregon

Hi Ryan. This web site is owned and operated by Senior Softball USA and Senior Softball World Championships. We are the largest Senior Softball association in the world. Our headquarters are in Sacramento, CA, and we serve our membership throughout the United States and Internationally. Please feel free to contact us by email (at info@seniorsoftball.com) or by phone at (916) 326.5303 during normal business hours in the Pacific Time Zone if you have questions. Welcome to senior softball and good luck!
Jan. 24, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

@B.J. - You were citing a "Definition" and not the "Rule" ... Regardless, the intent, and therefore our interpretation, of Definition §1.5 - COMMITMENT LINE at sub-part "(b) must continue home" is simply that the next base he may touch is home (scoring plate or line) and he may not return to 3rd. The definitions section of the Rulebook generally defines terms appearing thereafter, and reference to the actual Playing Rules governs, specifically at Rulebook §8.8 in this circumstance. The language of §8.8 does NOT obligate the runner to continue moving toward home without stopping, nor does it prohibit his movement back toward 3rd base short of the commitment line (but it DOES define what happens if he re-crosses that line.)

In fact, if the runner's offense were to be either stopping or turning back, the rule would so state, and there would be no need at all for language referencing re-crossing the commitment line. The ONLY place in the rulebook that prohibits a runner from returning toward a base is at §8.3 H., which deals only with returning toward home before legally acquiring 1st base. We're sure you remember the confusion from our typographical error in that section the last time we printed the Rulebook! It is probably best to simply apply the rule as written rather than re-interpreting a definition as to its (presumed?) intent.


Jan. 23, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

stick8 ... We may be splitting hairs now to the degree that could result in the perfect unanswerable hypothetical, but here's our (rebbutable) presumption addressing your tweak to the fact pattern ...

The umpire should exercise his usual good judgment in evaluating this collision under the interference rules, and decide whether or not the runner had interfered with the defender's opportunity to make a reasonable play on the ball ... We are taking this approach, rather than the obstruction viewpoint, primarily because the runner presumably has a lot of latitude in moving right (or even left) away from the foul line as he nears the scoring plate/line ...

Your tweak to the situation differs materially (and decisively in our analysis) from the above discussion, where the runner was stationary and contact was initiated solely by the defender ... We didn't mean to state, or infer, that any contact resulting in a tag between the commitment line and the scoring line/plate results in an automatic safe call, but we would reach, and stand by, that conclusion if the runner was stationary or was overtaken in a "rear end collision", to use an automotive analogy ... Interesting stuff! ...


Jan. 23, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 2015-16 OFFICIAL SSUSA RULEBOOK AVAILABLE ONLINE

The following is a list of 2015-16 Rulebook changes made (other than minor technical corrections) ...

§1.29 - FOUL TIP - Clarification of effect of foul tip
§1.30 - HEADWEAR - Face mask clarification for pitchers and other defenders
§3.4 E. - OFFICIAL BATS - Prohibits adding foreign substances to bat barrel
§3.4(4) - ALTERED EQUIPMENT - Defines adding foreign substances to bat barrel as altering a bat
§3.4(6) C. - ALTERED SOFTBALL - Penalty for using altered softball
§3.5 F. - OFFICIAL SOFTBALL - Penalty for using illegal softball
§4.2 C. - ROSTER RESTRICTIONS - Clarifies eligibility for women to play on men's teams
§4.4 C. - SHORT HANDED RULE - Clarifies "first time at bat out" provision
§6.17 - PITCHER'S PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT - Clarifies how mask must be worn
§7.3 A. - BATTER'S POSITION - Requires batter to remain in batter's box throughout entire pitch
§8.6 - WHEN SLIDING IS OPTIONAL - Clarifies limited exception for sliding into 1st or Home
§10.1(1) A. - ADVERSE WEATHER - Clarifies when weather shortened game becomes official
§12.3 - REGISTRATION FEES - Adds annual "Snowbird" card provision/fee
§13.2(4) C. - AGE ELIGIBILITY - Establishes underage roster exceptions for 85+ age division teams
§13.2(6) - TRANS-GENDER ATHLETES - Changes standard from I.O.C. to NCAA provisions
§14.1 C. - AWARDS - Increases All-Tourney recognition from 10 to 14 players (also at §11.3)


Jan. 23, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 2015-16 OFFICIAL SSUSA RULEBOOK AVAILABLE ONLINE

The 2015-16 edition of the Official SSUSA Rulebook is now available online from the RULES page of this web site and from the link below. The book has gone to press and will be ready for distribution to all registered teams and for public purchase shortly. Changes and additions to the 2015-16 Rulebook arising from the recent SSUSA Rules Committee meetings at the annual convention are highlighted in bold print.

Official 2015-2016 SSUSA Rulebook: PDF digital release (Large file: 1.16 Mb / 98 pages)


Jan. 22, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

Corky - Runner can be tagged out in a run down before he crosses the commitment line the first time ... Thereafter, he may not re-cross back toward 3rd base, and may only be put out by a fielder having possession of the ball while in contact with the strike mat (or, in a rare exception, the fielder in contact with home plate itself if the mat has been dislodged from its initial position) ...
Jan. 21, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

While your fact pattern probably wasn't what was contemplated when the commitment line rules were designed and written, the runner stopping was completely legal ... If he was straddling the line as stated, so long as a foot was down on or down past the commitment line, the runner's option to retreat to third base was terminated ... Thus, the only option for the 3rd baseman to get an out was to toss the ball to a defender at the strike mat ... Tagging the runner, by collision, by accident, on purpose or by trickery results in the safe call by rule for the runner who is deemed to have passed the commitment line ...

The runner may retreat toward 3rd base, but he is protected from a tag out so long as he doesn't re-cross the commitment line going toward 3rd base, and if he does, he's immediately called out regardless of a tag or no tag (which was the initial question asked in this thread) ... As we mentioned earlier, this was perhaps the most heads-up base running move we've ever encountered, and will undoubtedly be an educational experience for all who were involved or may have read about it here! ...


Jan. 21, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Home Run

It's already here on the web site stick8 ... From TOURNAMENTS - RULES page, it's the second line after the Rulebook cover page graphic ... The link is: Download the 2014 Official Rulebook Addendum ...
Jan. 21, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Home Run

Stick8 - The rule you quoted is from the last "printed" full Rulebook (2013-14), but does not reflect the change to "hit and sit" made at the 2013 annual Rules Committee meetings in Concord, NC ... That change, which was effective immediately, was part of the "Amendments" document released a little over a year ago, and which is available as a download from the RULES page of this web site ... Here's the current language from Section 8.4 of the Official Rulebook ...
__________

NOTE: For §8.4(2) through §8.4(5), the home run batter may return directly to the dugout and all other runners may return directly to the dugout. EFFECT: The concept known as “hit and sit” is permitted in SSUSA sanctioned events.


Jan. 21, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: FUTURE ALL STAR MAKES IMPRESSIVE DEBUT

SSUSA is happy to announce the arrival of a future All-Star ... Executive Director Fran Dowell's second Grandson and fifth grandchild on the team, Jack Bailey, made his eagerly anticipated Rookie debut in Napa, CA, at 10:35 am on Tuesday, January 20th, measuring in at 21" and weighing an even 10 lbs. (clean-up hitter stature!) ... Mother and (Grand)son are getting initial rave reviews from Grandma Fran and Grandpa Dave! ... Jack's four veteran teammates are keeping a watchful eye on the rookie!


Jan. 20, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

Paul ... The umpire in your "situation" appears to have invoked an incorrect rule, but with an absolutely correct result ... When your 3rd baseman ran into the stopped runner, he tagged the runner (quite possibly accidentally!), which resulted in the automatic award of home on a safe call for a tag between the commitment line and home ... The base runner's action by stopping dead in his tracks just across the commitment line to create the contact is one of the most heads-up base running plays we've ever heard about ...
Jan. 19, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: crossing commit line

Runner is called out immediately upon recrossing the commitment line toward 3rd base ... This is NOT an appeal play ... See last sentence of the applicable rule below (emphasis added) ...
_________

§8.8 • COMMITMENT LINE
A commitment line thirty feet from the scoring line or scoring plate will be used. Once a runner's foot touches the ground on or past this line, the runner is committed to advancing to the scoring line or scoring plate and may no longer be tagged out. EFFECT: Tag of the runner by a defensive player will not be allowed. The runner will be called safe and the ball remains live. NOTE: If a runner re-crosses the commitment line in an attempt to return to third base, he will be declared out and the ball remains live.


Jan. 14, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOURNAMENT OF CHAMPIONSHIPS 2015 • TENTATIVE Field Assignments

Here are the TENTATIVE Field Assignments for the 2015 Tournament of Champions in Polk County, FL. Reminder: TENTATIVE means they are NOT final, are SUBJECT TO CHANGE and will become final ONLY with the release of the game schedules and brackets at the Manager Meeting on Thursday evening, February 5th.

The reference in (parentheses) indicates where that division played in the 2014 TOC.

• 40/50-PLATINUM (LHP) - DiamondPlex
• 50-MAJOR (DPX) - Loyce Harpe Park
• 50-AAA (DPX) - Loyce Harpe Park
• 50/55-AA (AUB) - DiamondPlex
• 55-MAJOR (LHP) - Auburndale
• 55-AAA (DPX) - Auburndale
• 60-PLATINUM (AUB) - DiamondPlex
• 60-AAA (AUB) - Loyce Harpe Park
• 60-AA (SW) - Westside
• 65-PLATINUM (AUB) - DiamondPlex
• 65-AAA (LHP) - Auburndale
• 65-AA (LHP) - DiamondPlex
• 70-PLATINUM (SW) - Westside
• 70-AAA (SW) - Westside
• 70-AA (SW) - Westside
• 75-MEN (WS) - Southwest
• 80/85-MEN (WS) - Southwest
• WOMEN'S 40 (WS) - Southwest
• WOMEN'S 50 (WS) - Southwest

Good luck everyone!


Jan. 13, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC Brackets

Anaconda TRUMP Stote optic yellow .44 cor/375 comp. ball. The Rock is used only in Las Vegas events.
Jan. 13, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC Brackets

We're not working on brackets yet, since we are expecting the final word on additional field availability today (Tuesday) or tomorrow to accommodate the tournament record number of teams ... After that, tentative field assignments will be determined and posted ...
Jan. 12, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC Brackets

By the end of next week is likely ... Still some loose ends to tie up regarding the available field utilization and scheduling around the Wounded Warrior Amputee Softball Team vs. Celebrity game on Saturday night ... We'll post here within five minutes of final approval ... Good Luck!
Jan. 11, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: when will 2015 schudule be out..????

Teams must participate in a "qualifier" event as a precondition to entering the Eastern Nationals (Raleigh), Western Nationals (Sacramento) or the LVSSA/SSUSA World Masters (Las Vegas) ... The qualifiers do NOT have to be an SSUSA TOC Qualifier "major" event ... As it relates to the Eastern Nationals in Raleigh, we have run a "Raleigh Qualifier" there for the past several years, and do not expect that to change for 2015 ... Good luck!
Jan. 9, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: List of teams going to TOC

PRELIMINARY DIVISIONAL BREAKOUTS • TOC 2015

• 40/50-PLATINUM - (4)
• 50-MAJOR - (4)
• 50-AAA - (8)
• 50/55-AA - (4 - 2/2)
• 55-MAJOR - (10)
• 55-AAA - (7)
• 60-PLATINUM (4)
• 60-AAA - (11)
• 60-AA - (8)
• 65-PLATINUM - (6)
• 65-AAA - (10)
• 65-AA - (5)
• 70-PLATINUM - (4)
• 70-AAA - (4)
• 70-AA - (4)
• 75-MEN - (6)
• 80/85-MEN - (6)
• WOMEN'S 40 - (7)
• WOMEN'S 50 - (3)

TOTAL TEAMS • 115


Jan. 7, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: List of teams going to TOC

Wagon487 • We just activated the Teams Tab on the tournament page ... There are currently (a new tournament record) 115 teams entered for this event as of this post ... Please keep in mind that many team ratings have been temporarily restated to reflect their ratings at the time they earned their TOC bid and will be restored after the TOC concludes ... Good luck everyone!
Jan. 4, 2015
SSUSA Staff
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Signs of Getting Old(er)

DCPete ... At the risk of continuing this thread hijack for one more off-topic post, here's why not ... We insist that all SSUSA sanctioned qualifiers be administered under the exact same rule set across all qualifiers all season ... Whether or not scoring turns out to be different, for any variety of reasons, under 0-0 vs. 1-1 count in any given game/tournament, the integrity of the scoring data is immediately suspect ... That potential cannot be allowed to exist or it undermines the entire qualification and rating evaluation system ... Hope this is clear as to what our position continues to be ...
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners