http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 4 members: Harri, Mac44, butch34, peif34; 57 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stick8


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by stick8 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Sept. 9, 2014
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: You Make The Call

Staff and Garocket are correct. Try this one:
Bottom of the open inning, runner on third, two outs. Score is tied. Pitcher announces to the ump they are going to walk the next two batters. First batter runs across the middle of the field to second (doesn't touch first). Then the next batter goes to first. The following batter gets in the box and before the first pitch to him the pitcher appeals the runner on second missed first base.
Is that runner out?
Sept. 2, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Infield Fly

Bruce, if I found out one of the umpires in my crew did that they wouldn't be umpiring for me any more.

Sept. 2, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Crash at Second Base

Fred I have to admit I've never seen that call made either. Even if players did know the rule I tend to think just by instinct players approaching second base where would not veer off if there was a close play.
Sept. 1, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Infield Fly

Bruce that is a first for me.
Aug. 31, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Infield Fly

Bruce did that really happen? Egads!!
Aug. 31, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Crash at Second Base

I'm not certain the situations you describe were in senior ball or young mans ball. In SSUSA runners must avoid crashing into a defensive player attempting to make a play. In your first scenario I presume the runner did not slide? If that's the case then by SSUSA rule the batter-runner would be out. As an interesting aside if the runner missed the base to avoid a collision he is not called out.
In your second scenario the umpire may call a double play on that if in his judgement the collision negated a double pklay.


Aug. 30, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball

Titanhd I cited what the rule is in a USSSA game. Your correct, upon reading the SSUSA rule, it is different. In both cases it's referred to as a blocked ball. In SSUSA it's a dead ball and runners go back to the last base touched at the time of the blocked ball. But if the blocked ball prevented the defense from making an out the runner being played on is called out. In USSSA if a member of the offensive team or their equipment cause a blocked ball it's considered interference. Play stops, the ball is dead and the most advanced runner is called out.
Aug. 29, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball

BJ it's not a bailout call at all. Its designed to protect the defense. There's no difference whether a thrown ball by the defense hits the on deck batter if he's standing watching the play or if he's picking up a bat. In either case he's in the field of play--live ball territory. Why would you call interference on one but not the other?
Aug. 29, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call - Infield Fly

That umpire blew it!! Once the call is made that's it, it stands no matter if it's blatantly wrong or not.
Aug. 29, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball

Had a similar play umpiring a USSSA C nit a couple years ago. Runners on first and second with two outs. Batter gets a base hit to right field. Runner on second attempts to score. Throw from right field is up the third base line and hits the on-deck batter. Dead ball interference. The LEAD RUNNER ON BASE is declared out, end of inning. The ruling should be the same in your situation.
Aug. 23, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call

Garocket I understand the principle your getting at but having courtesy runners in senior ball it wouldn't matter all that much would it?
Aug. 22, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call

BJ your answer is correct!!
Here's the SSUSA rule on intentional drop:

"If a fielder intentionally drops, or lets drop, a fair fly ball, including a line drive, that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort with first base only, or first base and any other base(s), with less than two outs, only one recorded out may be made on the play. This is an umpire's judgment call."

Being an umpire it's sometimes tough to make a judgement call
Aug. 22, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call

This is what it says in the SSUSA rules about failure to call infield fly:
"Failure of the umpire to call "infield fly," does not negate the infield fly. If the error is discovered prior to
the next pitch, the infield fly rule may still be called."
Here's a hypothetical scenario: Runners on 1st and 2nd, no outs. Batter hits a pop-up in the infield. Lets say the ss is under it but the ump does not call IFR. The ss let's the ball hit the ground and it spins away. As a result the baserunners on first and second move up a base so they are now on second and third respectively. The batter-runner who did not hear IFR ended up at first and then the play stopped. Obviously the ump made an error but the way I read the written rule the IFR can still be called meaning it's a correctable error. The batter would be out. The defensive team then argues that the baserunners should go back to their original bases. I say no. Whatsayyou?
Aug. 21, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You Make the Call

To answer the questions:
1)I call infield fly as soon as I determine the infielder is camped under the ball in a position to catch it
2)absolutely not
Although I wasn't there from the way the situation was described the umpire should have called infield fly. I'm not familair with any rule that states once a fielder loses sight of a ball that it eliminates infield fly. If no infield fly was called then technically the ball is still live. Not being witness to the play I suspect the umpire covered himself to avoid the defense getting a potential double play or even a triple play--if the batter didn't run it out. That's why theres the infield fly rule--to protect the baserunners.
That being said if, in the umpires judgement, no infield fly was called and the fielder did this intentionally to try and bait baserunners he could call the fielder for making a travesty of the game and award the batter first base and all runners move up a base.
Aug. 19, 2014
stick8
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Aluminum bats and blue dot balls

I'd definitely still play.
Aug. 3, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHY SEVEN RUNS PER INNING?

Mango, things are well. I'm still with OKI and yes we plan on playing in Vegas. There is another pretty strong 50 major plus team from the our area, DLB Purchasing, that will be in Vegas as well. Two of our guys traveled to California and played a couple tournaments with God Sports earlier this year. They said the competition was pretty strong so it should be a good tournament. Do you know which complex they will use for the 50 major plus?
Aug. 2, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHY SEVEN RUNS PER INNING?

Mango was that you that booted that double play ball? lol Sorry, couldn't resist that one.
How've you been?
July 21, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Ball Fair or Foul???

Garocket is correct!! Now what would be the call in the same scenario but it hits a runner who had moved off third into foul territory to try and avoid being hit?
July 21, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Baseballbill, any batted ball that hits first or third is a fair ball.
July 21, 2014
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Baseballbill, any batted ball that hits first or third is a fair ball.
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners