http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Tri18; 5 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stick8


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by stick8 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Nov. 27, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Warning about too many pain medications

Webbie this is a great topic, thanks for bringing it up. Curbing and/or dealing with aches and pains is a continuing issue--especially with senior softball players!! It seems as if different players have their own remedies of curbing pain. What works for one may not work for another.
One of my clients is a doctor who plays ball and he told me that the human body can only take about 3000 mg of ibuprofen a day--which is equivalent to 15 Advils. and always, always take them with a meal. Anything above 300 mg is floating with danger. It sounds like you were floating with danger!!
I'm an Advil guy but only when I have aches or pains. Fortunately I've been lucky not to have experienced a whole lot of that. Perhaps it's me but I have noticed that when I do take advil I sometimes tend to get constipated. Is that something you've found? Or are their other side effects you've noticed?
Nov. 13, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Passing of a great player

I've played with and against Soup for approx 25 years. On the field, he was a 5 tool player and a great teammate. More importantly he was a kind, caring, unassuming man who always had a smile for everyone and never said a bad word about anybody. A 5 tool person!! We developed a pretty good friendship over the years and I will deeply miss my friend.
RIP "Super"
Nov. 12, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Webbie that's unbelievable!! I'm sure you guys gave Steve some (you know what) for that. That sounds funny now but I doubt it was at the time
If that was a USSSA rules game he would be ok--he'd be considered a sub going in--as long as he's on the roster that is required to be on-line. (USSSA qualifiers, NIT's and national tournaments require all teams to have an on-line roster before playing).
In SSUSA if your not listed in the line up card as a player or a sub you cannot play in that game. I think ASA has that rule too.
Nov. 12, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul P keep in mind obstruction does not have to be intentional.
Nov. 11, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Curty your line up card scenario is an interesting one and happens more often than you think. USSSA rules state that if he's unannounced or not in the book and: takes a position in the batters box, takes a position in the field or runs for someone he is considered in the game and thus no penalty. In effect, he would be a substitute.
ASA, NSA, ISA and Senior Softball may have different rules on this.
Nov. 11, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul P in I'd have to see it but by your description I have obstruction on the firstbaseman--runner gets second. Since that first baseman didn't have possession of the ball, wasn't in the act of receiving a thrown ball, wasn't in the act of fielding a ball and the play was live he does not have the right to impede a baserunner from legally running the bases.
Your second one is just a judgement call.
Nov. 10, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Good question curty. Presuming there are no outs I have the injured runner at third out on a force, the runner going from second to third out on a force. So far I have two outs.
What happened on the throw at second!!
Nov. 9, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Appreciate it Dave. As many of us that knew and played with & against Soup all thru the years, we are literally stunned speechless. Not only did we lose a great player we lost a great man and for me personally a great friend.
Nov. 9, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul your partially right but I digress only in a situation when the batter hits a beebee where it shoots by the pitcher before he can even react. If that ball struck a baserunner going to third I would call that runner out.
If you read the scenario Omar posted he is 100% correct in his analysis. The pitcher is always considered a fielder and in his scenario tried to make a play on the ball.
Keep in mind what I post is USSSA rules. Other associations including senior ball may differ.
Nov. 9, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

cal50 those are great questions. It's actually passing thru a fielder. What this means is in the umpires judgement--that being the key--if said fielder made what the ump deems an attempt to make a play on the ball and missed it--it could be thru the 5 hole or hopped over--went under his glove on either side of the fielder. This leads in to your second question--the answer is yes. Your third question most times applies to pitchers. Let's say I'm pitching, your batting and there's a runner on second. You hit a beebee by me where I don't have time to react (undoubtedly using the GSC bat!!) and that ball hits the runner going from second to third the ump should call a dead ball-that runner is out and your on first base.
Nov. 9, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Garocket after consulting with some others I'm going to correct myself in your second scenario. I won't call anything-live ball. I overlooked the runner was in foul territory--a baserunner cannot be out if a batted ball hits that runner standing in foul territory--regardless if it carroms off ther base or not.
Another situation: bases loaded, no outs. For whatever reason the batter in the box is batting out of order. This batter hits a grounder to third. Third baseman steps on third for 1, throws to second for 2, throw to first is late--safe. Next batter comes up the defense appeals the team batted out of order.
What is the call?

Nov. 8, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Garocket I am a USSSA umpire!! I also play 50 major plus with OKI.
Your answer is partially right. This is strictly a judgement call. If the umpire deems the pitcher made a legitimate attempt to field the ball it's a live ball--meaning it passed thru a fielder. Or as you imply it would be live if it touched the pitcher first before hitting the runner. If the ball was hit so hard the pitcher could not make an attempt to field it then the runner would be out--again this is strictly umpire judgement.
Your first question I would answer live ball.
Your second question answer is I would have the runner at third out unless the third-baseman tried to make a play if he was playing in front the bag.
Feel free to correct me if I'm mistaken!!
Nov. 8, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Here's one: Man on second 1 out. Batter hits a grounder up the middle. The pitcher tries to field it but misses. The ball hits the runner going from second to third. What's the call?
Nov. 7, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul some rules are a bit puzzling but like you said a rule is a rule. One rule in SSUSA that seems weird to me is when you hit a home run everyone must touch the next base. AFAIC it should be hit and sit.
Nov. 7, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Vinny LV you were actually on 2nd base on that play!! lol
In USSSA the answer to your question is once that batter is in the box he is officially in the game. The hit he got counts. There is no out and no penalty.
SSUSA and other associations may have a different rule
Nov. 6, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul here is the USSSA rule as it reads from the 2013 rulebook: "if the mistake is discovered after the incorrect batter has completed their turn at bat and before a pitch has been made to a succeeding batter, the batter who should have batted is called out. All baserunners, if they advanced, must return to the base occupied at the time the incorrect batter took a position in the batters box. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the batter called out for failure to bat. This may even be carried over to the first batter of the next inning, if the appealed out was the thrid out"
Example: let's say stick is batting 3rd, paul is batting 4th and Wayne is batting 5th. For some strange reason I went braindead and you batted when I was supposed to--thus we batted out of order. Runners are on 2nd and 3rd with 1 out. You get a base hit and both runners score. Wayne comes up to hit and before a pitch is thrown the defense appeals that we batted out of order. A check of the scorebook confirms it. Per rule, I'm called out for failure to bat and the runners go back to 2nd and 3rd. There are now 2 outs and whoever followed me in the order is up to bat, which would be you.
Nov. 5, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Paul in some cases your correct. We had a guy make a foul ball call on a ball that hit the foul pole--he said it hit the foul side of the pole!!
Nov. 5, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Wayne37, going by USSSA rules (baseball and other associations may be different)
First scenario: An out is called on the 1st batter and the batter who follows the proper batter is up. All base-runners that may have advanced go back to the base they occupied when the incorrect batter was up.
Second scenario: An out is called on the #3 batter and the batter who follows him is up. Any baserunners who advanced on the hit go back to the bases they occupied when the incorrect batter was up.
Follow up, what constitutes a proper appeal compared to an improper appeal?

Nov. 4, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Vinny LV sometimes you can't see everything but a national hof umpire told me once that there isn't a call you can't make walking out in the middle of the field--in a one man. And I believe he is spot on. But your scenario illustrates a good reason for having two umps in competitive games. But unfortunately the economics won't allow it. So we do the best we can.
To answer your question I must disagree about a do-over. I've never heard of a do-over!! I understand and am all about the integrity thing but I view Wayne's scenario as being akin to missing a base or leaving early. It may be blatant but if the next batter executes his turn at bat it's too late to appeal.
Nov. 4, 2013
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

It's not something that happens with regularity! Technically, you lose the appeal on the batter who went to second since the following batter went to first--that's considered throwing a pitch to the next batter. Let's say it was the 4th and 5th batter that were walked. The #6 batter is at the plate--you cannot appeal something that 2 batters before did--you can only do that if the next batter is up--5th batter.
That being said most umpires (including myself) wouldn't allow the batter to go directly to second, they'd make them touch first then go to second. Some umpires might declare that it's ok for the batter to go directly to second.
Some might consider this a correctable situation.
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners