http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: road kill; 59 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for missouridave


Real name:
Dave Beckering

Location:
Saint Charles, MO

Division:
Men's 55

Messages posted by missouridave »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Jan. 16, 2013
missouridave
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC Questions

SSUSA,
What rules will be used in the TOC, 2012 or 2013? Specifically home run rules for AAA and base distance. What category will teams that were moved up in 2012 play at? An example, Gonzalez won Vegas and was moved to Major. Do they play Major or AAA at the TOC? Thanks.
Jan. 14, 2013
missouridave
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC

SSUSA,
When can you let us know who has signed up for the TOC? I know you may not be able to have schedules but can you tell us who is planning on attending? Also, once a team has signed up, is a package or email coming to the manager including things like how to sign up for the banquet? Thanks.
Jan. 13, 2013
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: rotator cuff rehab

Rainmans, thanks for the input. I trust my surgeon who was also an athlete and am following his advice. How long before you actually swung a bat or golf club? I had no problem doing either before the surgery, just could not throw a ball more than 15 feet. Pretty sure I injured it at Vegas Worlds. Again, appreciate your insight. I sure don't want to start over again!
Jan. 13, 2013
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: rotator cuff rehab

I had my surgery on the 30th of November so am now six weeks post surgery. According to the PT and doctor making good progress and will start strength work next week. In addition to the torn rotator cuff I also had bone spurs and a frayed labrum. Working hard at physical therapy with a goal of being able to hit at the TOC next month. Doc says hitting will probably be OK but doubt that I will be able to throw very much at all. My teammates say it will be a miracle if I can hit after shoulder surgery since I could not hit before! Work had at the PT and let the PT folks know what your goal is.
Jan. 6, 2013
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One more time on 1 and 1 count

After completion of the survey,it will be very interesting to see if SSUSA will use the data provided. By that, I am referring to the significant difference between the survey results for those under 60 versus those over 60. Current data shows that 59% of those under 60 favor the 1 and 1. I hope they listen to the respondents and will consider trying the 1 and 1 for those that support it. By the way, I would not give a courtesy foul with 1 and 1.
Dec. 30, 2012
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: survey

I believe that 1 and 1 no foul is the way to go. I answered the survey with the 1 and 1 with the foul, only because that was the only choice. Have played with that in tournaments and leagues. In my opinion it gives a better chance to get in seven innings and clearly makes the hitters more aggresive. Our pitcher loves it both as a pitcher and a hitter. They still throw it underhanded and you have three acres to hit the ball into!

Missouri Dave
Dec. 30, 2012
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Who is going to the TOC

Sport Image 55AAA will be at the TOC

Missouri Dave
Oct. 23, 2012
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Senior Players Who Hunt

Ed,
I sent an email to the email address above. Please let me know if you got it. Thanks.

Missouri Dave
Oct. 23, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC

Thanks Harry. On my screen there is a jumble of things over top of each other on the webpage. It was hard to see but I found it.

Dave
Oct. 23, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC

SSUSA Staff, is there a link anywhere on this site that lists the eligible teams for the TOC in Feb 2013? I thought that last year the tournament page had such a link. Our team is considering attending the TOC but would like to know what teams are eligible in our bracket. I could figure it out by looking up the winners in each TOC eligible tournament but thought you might already have the data available. Thanks.
Oct. 4, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Vegas 55AAA

Anybody know the winner in 55AAA? Thanks.
Sept. 11, 2012
missouridave
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Hypocrisy

Collisions at bases other than home are also covered. That is why there is a double bag at first base and why rule 8.6 prohibits runners from coliding with the fielders during a double play at second base.
Sept. 7, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

Stick8,
Here is the answer from the SSUSA staff:

The overall intent of Rulebook 8.6 is player safety. There are two primary components to that intent:

Avoiding collisions between runners and defensive players is foremost. This rule contemplates prohibiting actions by a base runner which place a defensive player at physical risk, including sliding into the defender to hinder the continuation/completion of a play. The double play scenario is specifically mentioned in the last sentence of the rule. Accordingly, we conclude that sliding into a defensive player to break up a double play is prohibited.

The rule also provides a limited exception to the prohibition against a base runner sliding into 1st Base or Home, because of the dual base configuration. (The runner may slide or dive while returning to 1st Base.) If, in the umpire's sole judgment (NOT an appeal play), the runner slides into 1st Base or Home to avoid a collision with a defensive player, (s)he will not be declared out. (NOTE: The Rule title states the intent of the optional sliding exception, but the language of the rule is vague as to its application. This was an inadvertent language omission in the last printing of the Rulebook. We will address the issue of more specific and consistent language during the Rules Committee Sessions at this year's SSUSA Annual Convention in Mesquite, NV, in late November.)

You can see this answer under the discussion "SSUSA Staff Question-Collisions"

I agree you can slide, you can even end up close, but the above answer is very clear, you CANNOT collide with the fielder. I hope that if you umpire any future SSUSA games that you will follow the associations intent. Thanks again for umpiring.
Sept. 7, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

Stick,
No need to respond to my question, the staff has answered it. Thanks.
Sept. 7, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SSUSA Staff Question - Collisions

Staff,
Thanks for the response and the clear explanation. I hope that in the future this rule will be applied evenly at all SSUSA events. For MadDog, my interpretation is that you cannot break up a double play either sliding or standing up. In my opinion if the runner going into second is going to clearly be out the smart play is to give yourself up by getting out of the baseline.
Sept. 7, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

Stick,

Thanks again for your response. Let me be more specific, the situation I am referring to happened during an offical SSUSA tournament. So what should be the ruling under 8.6 of the SSUSA rules? This has nothing to do with winning or losing the tournament games, I just am looking for a clear position on breaking up double plays intentionally. I always thought that the intent of the rule was that the runner was to "give himself up" to avoid injuries just like having a double first base and a second home plate. I am not interested in debating whether or not this fits the "traditional" style of baseball or softball, I just want to know what the intent of the rule is. I have also started a sepearate discussion directly asking the SSUSA staff to respond. I hope they do. Thanks Stick for participating in discussions and for being an umpire. We could not play without guys like you!
Sept. 7, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SSUSA Staff Question - Collisions

Staff,
Since you may not have noticed the question I asked several times in the discussion titled "Offensive Interference", I am asking the question in this discussion. What is the intent of rule 8.6 in the current rules? I ask this question specifically to determine whether or not the intent of the rule is to prevent injuries by not allowing intentional breakups of double plays by baserunners. This is a topic often encountered during SSUSA tournaments and even SSUSA umpires have commented on their interpretation of the rule. Thanks in advance for your response.

Missouri Dave
Sept. 5, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

Stick,
Thanks for the response. I must say that I do not agree with your interpretation. I believe the rule is very clear, no collisions whether you intend to hurt or not. It does not say anything about high spikes or any other kind of slide. It simply says if you do not avoid a collision that the runner is out and if it keeps the defense from completing the double play than the runner is out at first as well. Of course the umpire has to make the call. Spike, we had a guy go into second base standing up as I our second baseman threw the ball he hit him and broke his thumb and knoked the ball out so he could not complete the throw to first. The runner at first was safe. No call by the umpire. What would you have called? I will once again ask the SSUSA staff to comment on their intent and interpretation of this rule. My interpretation is that if the runner is clearly out at second he should give himself. If the play is close I would fully expect him to slide but he must avoid a collision whether he slides or not.
Sept. 5, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

Stick,
If you are in fact a SSUSA umpire, what is your interpretation of the rule that I posted above? Also would still like to ask the SSUSA staff to respond to what is the intent of this rule. Thanks.
Sept. 5, 2012
missouridave
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Offennsive Interference

My interpretation is that if you go into second base standing up or sliding and hit the shortstop, second baseeman or pitcher covering the bag and this causes the fielder to not be able to complete the double play, both the runner at second and the runner going to first are both out subject to the umpire making that call. My team has had a broken thumb and other injuries in tournaments because seniors think they are still playing baseball and try to take out the fielder. Come on guys, everyone is a least over 50, many are still working and cannot afford to be injured and miss work. I would like the SSUSA staff to comment on the intent of the rule. I have always maintained that the intent was to have the baserunner who is forced to give himself up so no one gets injured. Why else would we have a second first base bag and a second home plate. I am not saying that if the play is close that the runner should not slide to try and beat the force. Just my opinion but I really would like to hear the staff's position.
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners