http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: Fuzz, dawg13, justafan; 54 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Force play

Posted Discussion
March 11, 2013
birdie
Men's 60
677 posts
Force play
I was watching the NY St Louis game a little while ago. Runners on first and second and Jeter hits a ground ball to second. The 2nd baseman has the ball in his throwing hand tags the runner with his empty glove and a throw to first to complete the double play. I always thought that the ball had to be in the glove to get an out call.Is it different went it is a force play if so I never knew of that rule. Thanks Harry
March 11, 2013
DoubleL10
Men's 65
811 posts
Harry, I think as long as the ball is in your possession, administering a tag whether or not the ball is in your glove constitues an out. I remember once in Virginia while playing the outfield, I went after a fly ball and the wind moved it just as I was about to make the catch. I wound up catching it bare-handed in my right hand! Luck, of course, but the ump rang up the out!
March 11, 2013
TommyC
16 posts
Birdie it sounds like the umpire blew the call. The runner is out if tagged with the glove with ball in it or tagged by hand with ball in it.
March 11, 2013
stick8
1261 posts
Birdie If what happened is how you describe it then the ump blew the call. Perhaps he didn't see the ball in the fielders hand but on any tag play the ball must be placed on the runners body--it doesn't matter whether they can get a force on that runner or not
March 11, 2013
titanhd
Men's 50
324 posts
stick, you are correct.You must tag the runner with the ball but,if the fielder tags the BASE with the empty glove while ball in hand.
What's your call?
March 11, 2013
stick8
1261 posts
I haven't seen the play but if it's described accurately by birdie I have the runner going to second safe and presuming the throw to first was on time I have Jeter out.
March 11, 2013
titanhd
Men's 50
324 posts
empty glove on the base ball in hand .runner out. empty hand on base ball in glove runner out!
March 11, 2013
VINNY LV
Men's 50
178 posts
Birdie, the ump blew the call if it"s exactly as you put it to us....

Double 10, ump made correct call on your catch.. no where does it say you can't catch ball with your bare hand.. on a tag runner must be tagged with ball, whether in the glove or in bare hand..

Stick, I can't believe the manager didn't argue the call.. (or did he).. I'm sure that would have been over turned after discussion with other umps if help was asked for...
March 11, 2013
mad dog
Men's 60
3930 posts
as you describe it birdie,the runner is safe......

titan,yep,the runner is out if the fielder has possession of the ball and touches the base with any part of his body......like/same as touching with your foot....
March 11, 2013
swing for the fences
Men's 50
981 posts
you have to have ball in your glove to glove tag someone or in bare hand and tag with hand with the ball....
March 12, 2013
stick8
1261 posts
I don't know if Girardi argued or not Vinny. Sometimes in spring training games managers don't get all hyped up about calls like that as opposed to getting their players ready for the season. I guarantee you if this was a regular season game the runner, first base coach and Girardi would have been all over that ump like hot peppers on chili.
What's not being said however is spring training is also spring training for the umpires!! (g)
March 12, 2013
birdie
Men's 60
677 posts
The game was Televised on ESPN. Jeter was the batter and after the play was over the announcer said double play. I switched back to the MLB channel. There could have been and over turn but I did not stick with the channel to find out. I guess I should have. I am sure that is what I saw although the eye site is not what it used to be. Thanks Harry
March 15, 2013
VINNY LV
Men's 50
178 posts
Stick I hear ya on the spring training..Det-Philly game batter got 5 balls and Leyland said something to ump but he said it was 2-2 when it was 3-2 count.. 2 balls later batter walked and Leyland never questioned it again..announcers went to the truck and said ump was correct but with technology of today I rewound and ump gave 5 balls..

On another note: ump behind plate in DR-USA game thurs. nite was horrible.. Hope he's not a MLB ump ?????
March 15, 2013
stick8
1261 posts
Vinny LV I'll be in Florida next week. I'm going to take in the Tigers-Astros game next Thursday night. I always take a couple innings and watch the umpires. Most of the time they are in proper position and right on every call. You do raise a good question. I'm not certain if the WBC is using major league umpires or not. Anyone out there know?
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners