http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: 4x4, Hamma 1; 140 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Rule Question

Posted Discussion
Aug. 6, 2013
Michigan Vet
Men's 55
230 posts
Rule Question
Runners on first and 3rd with 2 outs. Runner on 3rd is a pinch runner and he is on deck. We walk the batter to load the bases. Now the runner that is on 3rd is suppose to be up. The umpire calls him out and the inning is over. The next inning the runner that was called out for being on base when it was his turn to hit comes to the plate. I say he can not be up because he was the 3rd out of the last inning. But umpire says because he was running for someone else he can still bat! To me that is not right. What is rule?
Aug. 6, 2013
swing for the fences
Men's 50
1004 posts
better explanation would be the baserunner is the one that is making the out by vacating the base... not the next batter!
Aug. 6, 2013
SSUSA Staff
1282 posts
You would be incorrect. [See 8.5(4) in the SSUSA Rulebook at page 48].

Every player in the batting order is required to bat in his/her proper position in the batting order. The (3rd) out occurred because (s)he had to "abandon" the base to take his/her proper at bat in that batting order and a second courtesy runner for the same original batter is not allowed. The practical effect is that the courtesy runner leads off the next inning, which is the next proper batter in the order.

Although not a perfect analogy, it's no different than a batter returning to the plate in a baseball game after the 3rd out of the prior inning was made by throwing out a runner in an attempted steal situation.

Aug. 7, 2013
Michigan Vet
Men's 55
230 posts
Thank You for the prompt response. I guess my logic was wrong!
Aug. 7, 2013
stick8
1301 posts
Chuck per what we discussed earlier is the same rule with one out. One time we had a similar situation. We had a courtesy runner on first with 0 outs who was on deck (he obviously forgot he was on deck). Next batter got base hit up the middle. Runner went to third and then tried to score. Caught the other team off guard a bit but what he did is cross the committ line and then crossed it reversing back to third. Automatic out and then he batted. The ump told us if he would have stayed at second or stayed third it would have been the same thing. He shoukd have just tried to score. It was a bit weird watching that play unfold.
Aug. 7, 2013
mad dog
Men's 60
3938 posts
so what your saying is the cr is only out for leaving the base,and you now have that base empty with the cr hitting.....our league just had that(ASA rules tho)and it was cr stays at base,he was out for not being able to bat,next batter in the order bats.....
Aug. 7, 2013
Freddie
Men's 55
108 posts
I would like to add to this out. It happened to me, I replaced the fielder by a sub & did not report it to the umpire right away. I used the fielder as a courtesy runner the following inning & his spot came up to bat while he was on base, automatic out. Not to many coaches can say they made an out & did not play.
Aug. 7, 2013
SSUSA Staff
1282 posts
md ... YES (we do not conform to your interpretation of the ASA rule) ... The batter must bat in his proper batting order position and must 'abandon' the base to do so ... It's also fair to the defense that the offense is penalized by losing the lead runner instead of still having the man on base with the out occurring at the plate (unless, of course, it's out #3) ...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners