http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: JoeMarine; 26 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Umpire Mistake

Posted Discussion
April 25, 2014
Softballer48
Men's 65
23 posts
Umpire Mistake
Question:
A Base Umpire (mistakenly) made a comment that a base runner missed touching a base; the defensive team then made appeal play on the base missed, and the same umpire called the runner out! This seemed wrong and can find nothing in the rules concerning how this should have been handled.
April 25, 2014
crusher
Men's 70
389 posts
Playing today in a tournament in Plano Tx.
Runner on 1st, batter hits a triple. Field umpire goes out on grass to see if the ball would be caught by outfielder. It was not so a triple. 2nd baseman told umpire the batter missed 2nd base. The umpire goes to 2nd base looks at tracks around 2nd base and calls batter out for missing 2nd.
April 26, 2014
stick8
1283 posts
Softballer48 if what you stay is true that base umpire shouldn't be umpiring anywhere. Was this a league or tournament? I would mention this to the director.
Crusher was that the field ump or the plate ump that made the call?
April 26, 2014
Softballer48
Men's 65
23 posts
stick8:
This happened to be a league game that uses SSUSA rules.
April 26, 2014
crusher
Men's 70
389 posts
Stick8 - it was the field ump. He did not watch the runner.
April 27, 2014
stick8
1283 posts
Softballer48, I head up a crew of USSSA umpires where I live. If I ever found out one of my umpires actually said that, he wouldn't be in my crew anymore.
April 27, 2014
stick8
1283 posts
Crusher, if I read your scenario correctly the field guy ran out into the outfield to see if the outfielder made a catch or not. In that case the home plate umpire has the infield for any plays including making sure runners legally touch the bases. Of course this is USSSA mechanics. In my estimation the field ump does not make that call.
April 28, 2014
Softballer48
Men's 65
23 posts
stick8:
My question: Is the appeal play valid, with an umpire advising the defensive team the base was missed?
April 28, 2014
Wayne 37
202 posts
If they are using two man mechanics, the base umpire should never go out on the grass. Much inexperience when a team talks you into an out. Tell the team that appeals you only have two eyes, and if they want to get that call consistently, they can hire extra umpires.

In my opinion, any umpire that puts a runner is jeopardy should have the sense to rule on their call in such they can correct it, and make the proper amends.
April 28, 2014
stick8
1283 posts
Softballer48 if the defense does the appeal properly it would be valid. As I stated the other team can certainly protest the blatant unprofessional conduct or if it's a two man ask that ump to ask his partner for help. Umpires are not out there to tell teams where to hit, where to play on d or do what your scenario outlined. IOW, they don't play favorites. They're supposed to ne neutral.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners