http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 52 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: I need a ruling on this scenario

Posted Discussion
April 28, 2014
yankees02
Men's 50
8 posts
I need a ruling on this scenario
we had this happen during our weekend tournament and I need opionins on the ruling and whether it's called a force play or a continuance .


1 out - 2nd and 3rd . batter hits a line drive to the leftfielder he makes a shoe string catch for an out . The runner on second thinking the ball is going to be a hit runs towards third and is thrown out trying to go back to second ( he never tagged up ) . the runner on third tags up and scores while the guy on second tries to go back to second ( but is called out at second) .


The umps had to get the field director to help with the call . I told him that the run doesnt score as the runner on second failed to go back to second base on the catch and that he was doubled off the base for the inning ending out .
which he said was true but he didnt call it a force out he said it was a continuation play .

can someone show the rule book onthis ?
April 28, 2014
SSUSA Staff
1307 posts
Umpire is correct ... This is NOT a force out at 2nd, since a force out occurs ONLY when the base runner is advancing to the next base ... This is actually a Live Ball Appeal (LBA), and the timing of the out at 2nd as it relates to the timing of when the runner who tagged from 3rd and crossed the scoring line/plate occurs ...

There was an extensive discussion on a very similar hypothetical here not too long ago ... Here's an excerpt from that discussion ...
___________________

"...The act of the defense throwing behind a retreating base runner who has failed to tag up is NOT a force play under ANY circumstances ... A force play occurs ONLY when a runner is "forced" to advance to the next base ... Returning to a previous base to tag up has the runner retreating and NOT advancing and, therefore by definition, is NOT a force play ... This is a very common misconception by many people ...

The run(s) never score when the final out of a -inning at bat is a force out ... An LBA is NOT a force out, so the timing sequence of its execution by the defense, and the resultant out call by the umpire, becomes a timing play call ...If the run(s) cross home plate/scoring line before the play concludes that results in the out call on the LBA, they ARE counted ... If the run(s) cross home plate/scoring line after the play concludes that results in the out call on the LBA, the run(s) are NOT counted ..."

April 28, 2014
mike23
2 posts
If 2nd out is made before runner on 3rd scores no run if not yes



April 28, 2014
mike23
2 posts
sorry 3rd out
April 28, 2014
stick8
1320 posts
If the out at second is recorded beofre the runner from third crosses the plate no run. If the runner at third crosses the plate before the out at second is recorded then the run counts.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners