http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Chopper1, superfonzie; 55 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: foul tip rule

Posted Discussion
July 10, 2007
Gary Heifner
248 posts
foul tip rule
Another rule question. In a game in Champaign last weekend, I caught, as catcher, a foul tip on strike one that was clearly not above the batters head and was called a strike not an out. A ruling I thought to be standard. At the end of the inning one of the opponents walked by and said that it should have been an out. That senior softball changed the rule, to avoid arguments, to read any foul tip on strike one, two or three caught by the catcher was an out regardless of height. Any truth to a new rule.
July 10, 2007
Mitch
Men's 50
68 posts
Your opponent was correct. Check 2007 ASA rule book Rules Supplement section number 22 on page 142.
In brief it reads, "The reference of the "height of the batters head" as it relates to the Foul ball and Foul tip no longer applies." This change, instituted in 2006, allows more opportunity for the catcher to obtain "outs" by catching foul balls, etc etc.
So, yes it should have been an out.
July 11, 2007
Maj + player
16 posts
Guys, You must remember that there is a Seniorsoftball USA rule book and an ASA rule book. Senior softball has not adopted that foul ball rule, the first base glove rule, or the one large bag at first base. I believe the umpire called it right the first time if you were playing in a SSUSA tournament. If it was a tournament where the ASA book is used for any rules not covered by the assoc. you were playing, then it would have been an out. I hope this helps you.
July 11, 2007
Connie
Women's 55
116 posts
Please refer to page 30, 6.28 FOUL TIP in your 2007 Senior Softball Championship Senior Softball - USA Rulebook... it states "A batted ball which goes directly from the bat, not higher then the batter's head, to the catcher's hand(s) or glove and is legally caught by the catcher. NOTE: Any batted ball that goes directly from the bat, not higher then the batter's head to any part of the catcher's body or equipment other then the hand(s) or glove is a foul ball and dead."
July 11, 2007
Wes
Men's 65
306 posts
I had the same problem in Champaign---So it says
"other than the the hand or glove"' that means if you catch
it with you hand or glove it's an OUT--right
Wes
Sept. 25, 2007
Maj + player
16 posts
You ae confusing foul tip with foul ball. A foul tip on the first or second strike is not an out. A foul tip goes directly to the catchers glove or hand and is not higher than the batters head. If it is over the batters head, it then becomes a foul ball and then can be caught for an out.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners