http://www.field-general.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 54 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: how do you see this call

Posted Discussion
Oct. 29, 2007
big jim
Men's 60
10 posts
how do you see this call
The situation is a man on first and second no outs Just wondered how someone thought this might go.
The ball is hit the pitcher gets his glove on it barely, it rolls torwards the second baseman, he is moving forward to make a play on the ball, the runner is on his way to second trys to go around him and they make contact, just a little bit. What is the call?
Oct. 29, 2007
Larry S
37 posts
2007 ASA rule book page 115.
Rule 7, Section 7, J.
The runner is out when the runner interfers with a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball.........
Oct. 29, 2007
tommy45
14 posts
Does that ruling change once the pitcher touches the ball?
Oct. 29, 2007
Larry S
37 posts
woops, hit wrong key on above post, it's Rule 8 Sec 7.
Oct. 29, 2007
frampton
Men's 55
55 posts
Nope, the rule is specific that it doesn't matter if it's touched or not. That's different if the runner is hit by a batted ball -- if the ball has been touched, the ball hitting the runner doesn't make him out. (In fact, the rule says the runner is only out if the ball hasn't been touched OR hasn't passed a fielder, but in practice the latter exception only applies if no fielder COULD make a play on the ball. Years ago, in a fastpitch game, I was going from second when a ground ball in the hole got past the third baseman and hit me. The ump said the shortstop had a play, so I was out. I wrote to Hal Lebovitz (who used to do the rules column in TSN), he said the ump was right.)
Oct. 29, 2007
big jim
Men's 60
10 posts
The senior softball rule book is not real clear about this it just realy talks about batted ball without the player touching it. If the fielder touches the ball why should the runner be penalized?
Oct. 31, 2007
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
588 posts
From the details you have given it is interference. The runner always has the right to the basepath unless the fielder is fielding the ball (or has the ball). If the contact was made, and the fielder was not fielding the ball, it would be obstruction. In both instances, you have a delayed dead ball and only make the ruling after the ball is in possession and the runners have stopped moving. So in this case, delayed dead ball, call time, and then the runner is out. Now this same play happened to our team (not in Phoenix), but the field umpire said that there was no contact and did not give the second baseman the out. Remember there is always judgement to deal with also.
Oct. 31, 2007
BossBandit
Men's 50
55 posts
Nancy, I hate to differ from what you are saying but it would appear to me that there would be a certain amount of HTBT on this call. Depending on the association you are talking about the deflection of the ball could enter in to the issue with contact between the runner and the fielder. If the deflection was such that it drew the fielder into the runner's path and the runner attempted to avoid the contact, then I think that most umpires would deem this incidental contact. However, and here is where we will differ. In the case of the umpire calling interference, it should be an immediate dead ball and the runner is called out and the batter is awarded 1st base. Delayed dead ball on the obstruction, however, is correct.

Just a headsup, we're looking to add women's divisions to the Fla Half Century, come on down and join us.

Boss Bandit
Nov. 1, 2007
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
588 posts
No, BB, thank you. I just messed up twice actually. First I would have to see the play because you are right, it could have been incidental contact especially if the runner was trying to get out of the way and did not get in the fielder's way. My brain was clicked in to the situation that we had in Georgia. The second is mentally mixing interference with obstruction. Obstruction would be the delayed dead ball only, but players generally call everything interference, and most of the time it is obstruction that occurs. There is no delayed dead ball on interference; it is a dead ball. This could actually be a decent case study.
Nov. 1, 2007
BossBandit
Men's 50
55 posts
Nancy, no rocks being thrown here. You're right about players calling everything interference. One of my pet peeves, in my umpiring role, has always been players or managers flying out of the dugout screaming about a missed call and wanting to argue a rule they don't understand or don't take the time to learn.

I'm serious about the women's softball division.

BB
Nov. 1, 2007
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
588 posts
BB, unfortunately there is no women's team here in Indiana, but I have been talking with someone that I am hopeful can help us change that situation. What is the starting age for FHC? Feel free to give me a call at 317-510-6310, and we can talk about this without all these other guys.

I am with you on those made up rules. Some of the players have bigger imaginations than I do.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners