http://www.humankinetics.com/products/all-products/The-Complete-Guide-to-Slowpitch-Softball?associate=6350

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 35 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Sports Trivia

Posted Discussion
Dec. 4, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Sports Trivia
In what sport is it illegal to play left handed?

Butch
Fastsigns
Dec. 4, 2007
the wood
1085 posts
fencing.
Dec. 5, 2007
geezer#6
Men's 70
58 posts
It is legal to fence left handed
Dec. 5, 2007
2awesom
Men's 50
296 posts
Jai-Alai i believe?
Dec. 5, 2007
docswear
Men's 55
97 posts
How about POLO?
Dec. 5, 2007
OLDBUCK23
Men's 60
62 posts
fencing , cricket, polo. Jai-Alai
Dec. 5, 2007
Jock
1 posts
Polo and Jai-Alai are the only two I know of that list left handed play as illegal
Good question.
Dec. 5, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Great! I'm sure about Polo and have heard Jai-Alai may be another.

Here's another: What single-venue sporting event has the highest attendence? (a bit tricky).

Butch
Dec. 5, 2007
the wood
1085 posts
Dude, you asked a question and someone answered it. Therefore, it's his turn to ask the question. If you answer someone else's question then you can hold court again. It isn't all that complicated.
BW
Dec. 6, 2007
pressguy33
39 posts
To answer the most people in attendence.
Pro wrestling. Ric Flair vs Antonio Inoki in Korea. Something like 190,000.
Dec. 6, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
The Wood,

Thanks for teaching me about the game.

Butch
Dec. 6, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Pressguy,

Ric Flair vs Antonio Inoki in Korea is incorrect. The correct answer is closer to a million!

Butch
Dec. 6, 2007
Lecak
Men's 55
1012 posts
The bike race in France. If I'm right somebody jump in but it better be a trivia question on a good looking female athlete, as my surrogate. Theres got to be one on say Sharapova or Gubluis.
Dec. 6, 2007
VegasPaul
Men's 60
30 posts
US Open Tennis
Dec. 7, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Vegas Paul,

You got it!

Your turn.

Butch
Dec. 7, 2007
VegasPaul
Men's 60
30 posts
Who is the only tennis player to have won each of the four grand slam events at least four times?
Dec. 7, 2007
DesertGuy
Men's 60
224 posts
VegasPaul- Pretty sure it's one of your neighbors in Vegas, but not sure how long ago it was. Seems like a long time ago. Is it Steffi Graf?
Dec. 7, 2007
Ken
Men's 55
462 posts
Navratilova?
Dec. 7, 2007
VegasPaul
Men's 60
30 posts
Steffi is correct!
Paul
Dec. 7, 2007
DesertGuy
Men's 60
224 posts
There are (I think) 7 major sports (NBA, NFL, MLB, NHL) teams that have names/mascots that are singular, with no 's' at the end. Name them.
Dec. 7, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Great Question

I'm not sure all of these match your criteria, but how about

NHL
Tampa Bay Lighning
Minn Wild

NBA
Miami Heal
Orlando Magic
Utah Jazz

MLB
Chicago White Sox
Boston Red Sox

Butch
Dec. 7, 2007
DesertGuy
Men's 60
224 posts
Butch - Not sure if you're right on all 7, but I know you got 6 for sure, ao I yield the floor - I didn't have Minn. Wild but I did have "Colorado Avalanche" in the NHL. So maybe the answer is 8 and not 7, but great job!
Dec. 10, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Thanks Desert Guy,

In what way can a team get 6 hits in one inning and not score a run?

Butch
Dec. 10, 2007
Lecak
Men's 55
1012 posts
I'll take a stab, first two guys get thrown out stretching singles into doubles. Next three get singles and load the bases. After this a guess, next guy gets a single and the runner at 3rd misses the plate and is tagged out after the batter reaches first safely.
Dec. 10, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Lecak,

I could be wrong, but I think the official scorer would score the last at bat as a fielder's choice.

There is a way I'm sure the official scorer would agree with the 6 outs.

Butch
Dec. 10, 2007
Dbax
Men's 60
1280 posts
I agree with Lecak. I don't think it is a fielders choice if you get a hit, and another runner misses a base and is called out on an appeal play.
Dec. 10, 2007
pressguy33
39 posts
The last out is when one of the base runners gets hit with the batted ball. Batter gets credit with a hit.
Dec. 12, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Pressgut33 got it. When a batter hits a ball that hits a runner, the batter gets credit for a hit and the runner is out.

You're up.

I believe the out at home is a fielder's choice. It's the same as someone missing 2nd base and then being called out, but I'll check this out.

Butch
Dec. 12, 2007
Sisavic
138 posts
Here's the ruling from the Official Scorer website:

"(b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:

batter apparently hits safely and a runner who is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner fails to touch the first base to which such runner is advancing and is called out on appeal. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit"
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners