Online now: 0 members ; 25 anonymous
Discussion: out or safe
|Aug. 3, 2004|
|out or safe|
this situation occured twice in separate games. in one game the umpire ruled the runner safe; in the other game, the umpire ruled the runner out.
runner on first base and one out.. batter hits a ground ball up the middle which is knocked down by the shortstop. he grabbed the ball in his bare (right hand) and "crawled towards 2nd base, tagging th base with his glove (left hand).
we checked the rulebook and could not find this situation clearly defined.
what do you think? safe or out? can you cite the correct section of the ASA softball rule book?
|Aug. 4, 2004|
It is just the same as if the shortstop had the ball in his hand and swiped his foot on the bag. The runner would be out.
|Aug. 7, 2004|
|Hoop, I served 10 years as the NCAA's UIC for the Women's College World Series in Fastpitch. Your question is a very simple one. First, your situation was a force out. The out is called if the defensive player has possession of the ball and makes contact with the base "before" the runner touches the base. The issue you are addressing is the common "tag play" which specifies the runner must be touched with the ball or glove holding the ball. Hope this helps clarify the issue. Downs-Seattle|
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA
sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today.