http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 4 members: Jane-Class Act I, Mac44, Yankee Dog, rh25; 45 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: ONE BASE AFTER HR

Posted Discussion
March 23, 2009
ROOSTER10
Men's 60
91 posts
ONE BASE AFTER HR
In FHC the rule is that when a homerun is hit all runners on base advance 1 base and then leave the field.In this situation a HR was hit and there were runners on 1st and 3rd.The runner on 3rd touched the wrong home plate and was called out.This was only the 1st out.What if there were 2 outs and it was done-How many runs would of scored or no runs were allowed? Some people were arguing about the right call.Is it 2 runs or 0 runs?
March 23, 2009
Robo2
223 posts
That is a stupid rule in this case and the person that objected or umpire that made the call has no idea of what the intent of the rule was for. It was put in to avoid collisions at the plate. In this case, their was no chance.

People, we need to think about rules and stop this &^#$ around. If someone hits an HR, don't pull this kind of stuff. Have a little class.

I don't know what happened in this case, but I have seen similar things when the opposing manager would protest - such as a bases loaded HR with no outs and the batter did not touch first. Objection was made and the batter was declared out but the run scored anyhow. How stupid. Players from that team apologized and said they had nothing to do with it.

Umpires need to make decisions on what is the spirit of the rules and not be robots.
March 23, 2009
jolly52
Men's 55
49 posts
Just to add my opinion on this subject...Playing in the worlds a couple of years back I hit what I thought was a grandslam, but the runner on 3rd base either wasn't paying attention or had a senior moment and step on the home plate, he was called out and luckly it was only the second out of the inning.. I wasn't mad at the umpire or the other teams manager it was the runner I was mad at... If the rule states you must touch the next bag, then you should be heads up enough to do so... Rules are there for a reason so aware when in the game to understand them or get a runner who does!
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners