http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: Mitchell11, rlspls1974, tattooball; 64 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call #3

Posted Discussion
April 11, 2009
Joncon
289 posts
You make the call #3
This is softball 101 and it comes up often but a surprising number of players AND UMPS don't know it.

One out, runners on first and third.

Batter hits a fly ball that is caught by an outfielder (out #2)

Both runners advance. Runner from 3b tags and scores, runner from 1b leaves early, advancing to 2b.

Throw is made to first (or verbal appeal is made to umpire) and runner is declared out (out #3)

Does the run score?
April 11, 2009
Bob50
Men's 60
240 posts
Since it is not a force play the runner scores provided he beats the throw back to first base.
April 11, 2009
Freddie
Men's 55
108 posts
This is considered a time play, providing the runner scores before the out is made @ 1st, the run counts, Now to find an umpire that's watching when the runner scores & sees the runner on 1st leave early.
April 12, 2009
JohnBob
Men's 60
247 posts
My feeling on this is if 3rd out is recorded by appeal then run counts, but if feilder throws ball to first before time is called for 3rd out than no run.
April 12, 2009
jim16
Men's 65
169 posts
Sorry John Bob, this is a time play. If the runner touches home before the out is recorded at first, the run counts. If its an appeal then it definitely happens after the run has scored and it counts. Going back to a base is not a FORCE out.
April 12, 2009
Freddie
Men's 55
108 posts
SSWC ** what's your ruling** in todays game, D-Backs & Dodgers, runners on 2nd & 3rd, 1 out, runners going on contact, line drive to 2nd, towards 2nd base, the 2nd baseman catches the line drive, instead of touching the base, decides to tag the base runner & runner on 3rd never tagged up & scored before the tag, since the defensive team ran off the field, no appeal play, run scores.
April 13, 2009
frampton
Men's 55
55 posts
Of course, tagging the runner rather than the base doesn't make a difference; in either case, the appeal was necessary (even if it would have been the "fourth out") to prevent the run from scoring. Were all the fielders asleep?
April 14, 2009
stick8
1283 posts
Freddie, since there was 1 out in your scenario the catch would make it 2 outs and the tagging of the runner (presuming it was the one on second who was off the bag) would be 3 outs.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners