http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Tri18, inzerillo; 36 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Home Run rule?

Posted Discussion
May 19, 2009
coach4250
7 posts
Home Run rule?
If you are allowed five runs an inning and the 5th run is on third and a ball is hit over the fence. Does it count as one of your your home runs even if it does not count on the score board. We have a rule 1 home run +1 with any extra Home runs counting as a single. There have been no Home runs hit in the game. Is it a Home Run or single? Thanks
May 19, 2009
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
588 posts
It is a HR; only 1 run scores. If it was touched going over the fence, it would not count as a HR (4 base award), but you would still only score 1 run.
May 19, 2009
SSUSA Staff
1007 posts
In SSUSA sanctioned events, the ruling in this fact situation is to add one to the offensive team's over-the-fence home run count for the game. The simple explanation is that any ball hit over the fence in fair territory is added to the team's home run total. (Note: A four-base-award does not count against a team's home run total.
May 19, 2009
coach4250
7 posts
Got it. Thanks!
May 22, 2009
gshfbk
23 posts
In the situation of a four-base-award ruling, does the player who hit the ball have to touch any base? This situation amazingly has come up twice in recent tournaments our team has been in and the ruling as to what bases the player who hit the ball had to touch was different and in one instance the umpire said that the player had to touch all 4 bases. This specific detail does not seem to be in the rule book as far as I can tell.
May 22, 2009
mad dog
Men's 60
3921 posts
gary i do know if they award a 4-base award that most assoc's require ya to have to touch all 4 bases,yes we've been caught up in it also,where on one field they didn't require it,but same tourney diff field(diff ump) they did.i think it's just up to is umping your game,we've begun asking if its required to touch all 4 so we don't get an out called.
May 22, 2009
gshfbk
23 posts
Heh BB!! We also are checking with the ump to see what he/she requires for the same reason. Am also wondering, as I have seen this happen too, is it a 4 base award if the ball hits the ground first then deflects off of the outfielder and goes over the wall in fair territory?
May 22, 2009
softball4b
Men's 60
706 posts
If it hits the ground first it is a ground rule double.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners