http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: bronco, louurbinati; 55 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Nancy Allen can you help???

Posted Discussion
Aug. 3, 2009
Par
Men's 50
10 posts
Nancy Allen can you help???
Rules question about "diving" into home plate. It wouldn't have made a difference in our game but just for clarification, can an umpire call a runner out for "diving" (not sliding) into home plate. The play: First inning, runner on first one out, batter hits the gap to right/right center. Runner on first was going to stop at third but realizes the batter is coming around 2nd and not stopping. Bases are slick as a light rain is falling, 1st runner trips over third and falls down. Meantime, he gets up and starts home, I am catching and the relay throw is about 8-10 feet up the 3rd base line. I know I can't tag him as he is past the "commitment" line so I catch it and race towards home. He barely beats me by diving in and is called safe. I didn't think about it until 2 pitches later when I called time and asked the ump if he should not have been called out for diving into home. I know a runner cannot slide into home, that is clear, but what about diving? Anyway, after some discussion a supervisor was called over and then a cell phone was used to call somebody else and a decision was made that the play stood since the next batter had seen a couple of pitches. Was the ump correct?? Since this was a "rules" violation and not an "appeal" play could the umpire had reversed his "mistake" and called him out even though the next batter had 2 pitches thrown to him but not put the ball in the field of play?? I have a feeling the ump & I both missed it, but correct me if I am wrong. I should have probably said something immediately after the play. Thanks Par- KC Barons
Aug. 3, 2009
#6
Men's 60
1183 posts
I have always been told, you can't slide at home.
Aug. 3, 2009
SSUSA Staff
1268 posts
SSUSA Rule Book (adopted by ISA) at page 62 -

8.5 SLIDING OPTIONAL

Sliding or diving into first base or the Scoring Plate is not permitted, and such players will be called out. However, a player may slide or dive into second or third bases and when returning to any base, except the Scoring Plate or Scoring Line.
Aug. 3, 2009
Par
Men's 50
10 posts
Ok, thanks for the answer so quickly. I thought I had it right, just had a brain cramp when the play happened.
Aug. 4, 2009
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
612 posts
Par, from an umpire's perspective ONLY, I think that what you have is a correctable error. The other more serious side of this is that it should also be a protestable error since it was an incorrect interpretation (NOT to be confused with judgement which is never protestable) of the rule. Neither of these are popular with umpires, and they both create havoc during a tournament. I once had a coach pay a $75 protest fee on me during a world series on a rule. He lost, and he was even more upset because he also lost the $75 too; so be very sure before you ever do anything like that. The rule was over the wrong batter in the box; the team batting catches it before he hits. They put the correct batter in who assumes the count which is correct. The defensive coach thought that it should be an automatic out.

On a correctable error, you just go back to where the error was made. Of course I have also seen that not go better on the next try around on a blocked ball call. I have a feeling it is because the other team gets so worked up

You just have to remember on tournaments, seniors or otherwise, that sometimes things happen, and when everyone really reviews everything that something different or better could have been done. As umpires, players, coaches, tournament directors, groundskeepers, etc, we are always learning new lessons.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners