http://www.softballcamp.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 19 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: PPR Clarification.

Posted Discussion
Aug. 6, 2009
slomo
47 posts
PPR Clarification.
At ISA World I saw a pitcher take a vicious shot off his arm. The ball rolled to 2B man and he turned a DP. Ump called batter out via the PPR rule and DP nullified. Question! Shouldn't the DP count? Otherwise the pitcher got hurt and his team did also since they effectively lost an out and the pitcher was done in. I'm not a pitcher (and wouldn't be!!) so I'm not totally familiar with the rule. Just felt like the offending team got a heck of a break (no DP) and the agrieved team and pitcher got screwed (1 out vs 2).
Aug. 6, 2009
DoubleL10
Men's 65
821 posts
slomo, Unfortunately, that is the interpretation used. I agree with you, the offending team got a big break and the team whose pitcher got hit and hurt got the shaft. I think the worst outcome from a batted ball striking the pitcher should prevail but I know logic often does not apply in the interpretation and enforcement of the rules these guys come up with!
Aug. 6, 2009
hitman
Men's 65
302 posts
PPR is an absolute joke, I was also at ISA World and saw so many different calls that weren't consistent that it was even realistic. I'm a pitcher and I don't like the rule due to inconsistency with it being called. I got hit in the first game and was close to being out of the box and the batter was called out, still had a line on the field. After a few games and no remarking of the box, you almost had to be standing on the rubber to get an out call. In our last game we had a double call go against us that should have been a DBO. Then the very next inning I get hit on the leg and the ump says out of box when there isn't one and BTY I was in by the dragging footprint that was let after the impact.
How does getting hit and staying in the box protect the pitcher????????
Sounds stupid because if you stay in the box your chances of getting hit are higher and it hurts.
Just tell me how it protects the pitcher??????

The Hitman #13
Aug. 6, 2009
SSUSA Staff
1223 posts
The official SSUSA interpretation (explanation and application criteria) of the "Pitcher Safety Rule" is on this web site at:

"PITCHER SAFETY RULE" WHITE PAPER
Explanation & Application Guide
Aug. 6, 2009
JohnBob
Men's 60
247 posts
Staff please make sure Umps understand this rule before Phoenix in Oct. and being that its set in stone that Pitcher has to remain in box for DBO to be call I hope the Box is re-marked after each game. All year long players have posted on here as hitman said if you stay in box your chances of getting hit is higher. Most pitch and back out of box. Some pitch from the back of box and if they back up any their out of box. I have not seen one post from a player or manager on this discussion board saying the fact the pitcher has to remain in box is good! I was at ISA world to and I agree with hitman the
PPR was a joke, Umps hate it and TD was called over for help almost every game. So Staff please tell me that if our team spends about $15,000+ to come from KY to Phoenix that there will be a Pitcher box clearly marked so Umps will not be guessing where the back of box is.
Aug. 7, 2009
BruceinGa
Men's 60
2650 posts
I was wondering, does the offensive team have any recourse when they believe a call was made incorrectly?
While watching the GA/Ala Masters play in Gallatin, Carl Roberts hit a line drive to the pitcher. If I remember correctly the pitcher didn't catch it but the umpire called a dbo. At that moment all runners and Carl stopped advancing. I'm not saying this was an incorrect call but if it was and the team batting objected, how would it be, appealed? What would the outcome be, if after discussion, it was determined that the umpire made an incorrect call? I don't believe softball has the "do over rule".
Would it be just tough luck?
Aug. 7, 2009
Brett
Men's 55
239 posts
I was at the ISA Worlds as well. At the manager's meeting, Jerry Jackson said the PPR only applied to the frame of a pitcher's body. If a ball hit a pitcher in the arm while outside the frame of the body, the PPR should not be called. I also do not like this rule. We had one instance where the pitcher was releasing the ball from about 6 feet from behind the rubber and backing up to 10 or 12 feet behind the rubber after he had delivered the pitch. One of our players hit him in the leg and was called out. The umpire said he could not determine where the 6 foot line was because there was not a marked line.
Aug. 7, 2009
JohnBob
Men's 60
247 posts
In one of our games our batter hit line drive over pitchers head that tipped the top of his glove dbo was called. We had TD come over and it was reversed because ball did not hit pitcher. Batter was put on 1st he could of had a easy double because ball split the outfield. Same game hard ground ball hit to left of pitcher he reaches for ball and over extends and is hit on forearm,again dbo was called but shouldn't because pitcher made a play on the ball. We didn't appeal this one because it was a seeding game that did not mean anything.
Aug. 7, 2009
Airbosn
Men's 65
321 posts
As a Safety Professional this rule does nothing for the safety of the pitcher and that is a fact...Now for Gallatin. The umpires (for our games) would not call a DBO if the pitcher was attempting to make a play. We played in the same tournament as those above, however, each set of umpires had different ideas about the rule. Senior players don't you just love it when an organization can not / will not adjust a very crappy rule.
Aug. 7, 2009
UMP IN NORTH GA.
47 posts
HELLO ALL
Aug. 7, 2009
UMP IN NORTH GA.
47 posts
hello yall .... had to chime in .... we had this rule in our senior leauge here and it made it all of 3 maybe 4 weeks .... the way we had it wrote was ....

1. sharp hit ball on the fly between the rubber. (hits ground bets off)

2. if the pitcher attemps to catch it then all bets are off. (just reaction to a ball comeing at him was called he was going for it)

needless to say if anything came through the middle they were screaming to have it and out .... and part of it was they were using senior bats as well.... the senoir bats lasted a week on a 285 field ....

It's a small leauge so we have 50s playing with 60s and 65s and then a few 70s so there is a wide range of skills as you can see .... regular rec league talent and then some tourney players

just thought I would give some input to our use of it

Jesse
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners