http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Yankee Dog; 45 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Phantom Base Runner

Posted Discussion
Nov. 11, 2009
SoCal'er
68 posts
Phantom Base Runner
Tell me the ruling. Batter reaches 1st base, asks for a runner,umpire says ok. After a few pitches, next hit is to SS,who starts his toss to 2nd and notices no runner coming to 2nd,pumps again to 1st but to late to get hitter.
New runner never took his position on 1st.
Nov. 11, 2009
E4/E6
Men's 60
850 posts
So we now have two runners on 1st or only the original runner? Once the second hitter goes out of play he is out. Original runner remains on first unless he was tagged before 2nd runner left fair territory. Theoretically both could have been called out. We need more details.
Nov. 11, 2009
E4/E6
Men's 60
850 posts
I just re-read your post. Second runner is out, once play begins, same reason, he is out of play. Hitter get the bag. man on 1st.
What was the umps call?
Nov. 11, 2009
BruceinGa
Men's 60
2664 posts
Imo the runner that should have been on first is out because he was off the bag when the pitch was thrown. The hitter hits again because it is a dead ball out.
Nov. 11, 2009
VINNY LV
Men's 50
178 posts
should be a do over.. ump shouldn't have called time in til runner was on base.. my .02 worth
Nov. 11, 2009
mad dog
Men's 60
3937 posts
nope,the runner who never took first is out(out for being in the dugout)on the the first pitch.the batter then continues to hit if he didn't swing at the first pitch.
Nov. 12, 2009
doker
Men's 60
168 posts
I agree maddog once the first pitch was allowed the runner not being on first is out...and play resumes without that runner...fielding team shud have noticed....doker
Nov. 12, 2009
terryspears
Men's 55
38 posts
Happened to a team I played with in Pensacola league play last summer. May be a little different than your circumstance, but here's what happened to us. Batter attained first base and called for a runner. The runner never took the bag, and stood in the coaches box. I was playing second base, and the next batter hit a one hopper to me. As I had noticed, but not called attention to, the fact that the pinch runner never touched first base, I threw to first to record the out on the current batter/runner. The umpire and scorekeeper had lost track of the pinch runner and only wanted to record one out. After at least fifteen minutes of explaining we were finally awarded the two outs.
Nov. 12, 2009
OTE24
Men's 65
122 posts
Neither Beanpole(the pitcher),Stumpy(SS),Umpire,1b,manager,scorekeeper
realized until after the next hitter
what had happened. Doker is right,someone should have noticed. It
was a foggy night in more ways than one. On the other hand,the SSUSA method
of cr's works the best. Wait until the
cr takes the base before play resumes.
Senior moments rule!
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners