http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 5 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: What\'s the call?

Posted Discussion
May 4, 2005
5-RBIS
Men's 65
12 posts
What's the call?
A player using a banned bat gets a hit bringing in a run. The ump doesn't pick up the fact that the bat is banned. The next batter gets a hit. The catcher now tells the ump a banned bat was used by the hitter before. What's the call? Is the use of a banned bat an appeal call? Or can the ump , if he realizes the batter is using a banned bat , make a call while the batter is in the box? If so what's the call?
If it is an appeal call, when is the appeal made , any time during the inning or before the next batter hits?
May 5, 2005
RonD22
Men's 50
26 posts
The appeal must be made before the first pitch to the next batter in order reverse what has resulted from the hit. However the questioning of the bat being illegal can be made any time. The rule says if a player is in possession of an illegal bat either while in the dugout or on the playing field he must submit the bat for examination by the tournament director for up to 30 days.If he refuses he can be suspended for that year plus two more and the suspension still applies even if the bat is determined to be legal at a later date. Better not bring an illegal bat or altered bat.
May 5, 2005
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
612 posts
I am a little disadvantage because I do not have a rule book handy, but my immediate reaction is that the banned bat calls are automatic. If I miss it, and it is brought to my attention, it is a correctable error. I either call the person out or eject them depending on what set of rules we are playing under. If this creates the third out, the next batter would start over the next inning. This is not an appeal, but an umpire's mistake that they can immediately correct. Now of course they have to be sure of the bat that was hit with. Appeals such as touching a bag, or batting out of order must be done before the next batter.
May 5, 2005
RonD22
Men's 50
26 posts
Nancy if the call is automatic and correctable and not caught for 3-4 batters then do you reverse all that has occurred and go back to illegal bat batter. Good discussion
May 5, 2005
Longballr9
Men's 40
48 posts
I agree with Ron on this one. If the appeal isn't made immediately, the umpire can only check the bats and remove the illegal ones. Otherwise, you leave yourself open for all kinds of problems. Umpires should have a list available to them. That's one of my jobs as catcher...watching for illegal bats.
May 5, 2005
Bob50
Men's 60
240 posts
How is this rule handled when a bat is believed to be illegal but needs to be tested to determine whether or not it is?
May 5, 2005
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
612 posts
Ron, as painful as it would be, yes, you would need to go back to the incident, but what are the chances that if the umpire did not notice the bat in the first place that they would even remember what bat was used by who? If you asked for it, and they refuse to do anything, you have a protestable situation based on rules but a hard one to prove either way. It is a correctable situation no matter how far you get from the incident if the umpire remembers the bat and batter. Of course a smart catcher has been known to sway an umpire into things that never happened. If a bat is altered like a Miken painted like a Mizuno, I am definitely calling the tournament director because I am definitely not the expert on materials and composition. Just remember that it should be an immediate call by the umpire. It is not an appeal situation even though you might have to bring it to the umpire's attention.
May 5, 2005
Joncon
289 posts
Uhhhh...sorry. Logically you CAN'T go back. Are you going to take the catchers word that the batter before used a banned bat?

If he points it out right away, BFORE the bat is put away...no problem.

Once the "evidence" is out of sight it is too late. Too much room for "what ifs".

If the batter ADMITTED to it, you may have a case.
May 6, 2005
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
612 posts
That is exactly the point, but there may be some umpire somewhere that writes down the bat that each player used, but if they did that then why did they not notice the bat in the first place? Of course with every association having a different approved or banned bat list, I guess that all umpires may have let a bat slip through that was legal in another association but not the one that they were calling. In a perfect world it would be a correctable error, but an umpire should have never let it get that far. Thank goodness SSWC has one of the simplest bat policies to enforce to avoid this whole issue.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners