http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Debwright, Johnny Hose; 46 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Another what's the right call?

Posted Discussion
June 20, 2011
BruceAZ
Men's 60
84 posts
Another what's the right call?
We're in Pinetop Az this weekend, runner on 1st, batter hits a line drive to 2nd, runner tries to get back to 1st, 2nd base throws the ball wide to 1st, 1st baseman catches the ball but his foot is on the orange bag and the runner is called out. Umpire says the rule is, that the orange and white bag are one.

Thanks for the responses,
Bruce
June 20, 2011
tucsondoubleplay
5 posts
Bruce: saw the play and thought the umpire missed it. Rule 8.4 states the orange bag is in foul terriorty and white is fair. Defensive player only has the white bag to touch in fair terrority!
June 21, 2011
stick8
1238 posts
Tucsondoubleplay is correct. Let's create a different scenario from the same play. Second baseman throws the ball wide of first into the dead ball area--out of play. Ump calls "dead ball" awards second base to the runner. The runner does not go back to tag first after being awarded 2nd. Next batter comes up and the defensive team appeals the runner on 2nd never tagged up at first. Is that runner out?
June 21, 2011
doker
Men's 60
168 posts
WHITE BAG ONLY..........SAFE
June 21, 2011
Freddie
Men's 55
108 posts
the out side base is used only if there's a play @ 1st from the batted ball to prevent a collision, the fielder must touch the white or runner before the runner touches the outside base.
Remember the outside base is for safety & once the plays over, it's no longer part of play.
must be on white: before pitch,courtesy runner checking in, tagging up.

Agave Realty
Aug. 24, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
unless ssusa goes by the ASA interpretation of the rule.ASA rule is,once the batter/runner has passed first on the initial play,both bags are considered to be the same,so runner or fielder can use either one on a play like this to either record the out for the fielder,or be safe for the runner.
Aug. 29, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
ok here is another one....webbie is at 3rd and omar blasts one to the outfield,well webbie in a senior moment leaves 3rd thinking its not gonna be caught,but lo and behold here comes stick out of nowhere to snag it.webbie has already crossed the commit line when he sees it caught and proceeds to go back to 3rd to tag,where he stays instead.whats the call if any.......
Aug. 29, 2011
BruceAZ
Men's 60
84 posts
Webbie is out, my understanding of the rule is if you cross the commitment line and then change direction and go back over it toward 3rd, you're out.
Aug. 30, 2011
Webbie25
Men's 60
1936 posts
Geez, guys, I'm not 93 years old. With less than 2 outs I don't budge until the ball is caught or hits in the outfield. :-) At least most of the time until the senior moment hits. I think I am out because you cannot return from the commit line.
Nice catch Stick8, wow-diving away from the plate. Who woulda thunk it?
Aug. 30, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
ok as we all know webbie has lighting speed,what if he got back tagged and got to home safely,after doing all of the above.
Aug. 30, 2011
Webbie25
Men's 60
1936 posts
mad dog-once you have passed the commit line you are committed-hence the name. You cannot return even to tag. It becomes an appeal play at third for not tagging up.
I used to run a 4.5 40 yard dash. That's the longest four and a half minutes of my life.
Aug. 30, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
hey i was a 4.2 man myself in the 40.....yep 4 minutes and 2 seconds......

what has got me to ask this,is on another board for a coed league that does the commit line they have basically had the same question.i remember doing a stop and go back before getting to the line,and the catcher did an appeal that i crossed the line,ump called me out on the appeal(even tho i had reversed a good foot before it,you could see my skid mark as i locked them up),not automatically like it has been said will happen.the
asa guys say it is an automatic call,no appeal needed,was trying to find out if it is an appeal here,or the ump just calls you out no matter what.


staff do ya have a ruling for us.
Aug. 31, 2011
surf88
Men's 60
845 posts
Freddie, Just saw your post and wanted to say howdy. Sorry to intrude on this thread Mad Dog but haven't seen or heard from Freddie in ages. Hope all is well. Send me an email and get me caught up. ed@ewandrews.com
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners