https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 199 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for lb16


Real name:
Les Barnes

Location:
Milton, FL

Division:
Men's 50

Messages posted by lb16 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, Oct. 11, 2017
lb16
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: The Rock.

Attn: SSUSA Staff, So when is the contract with for use for the stote end?

, Sept. 27, 2017
lb16
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: out or not?

Incorrect call on double play if third strike on batter yes batter is out. If ball is in foul territory unless 3rd base runner intentionally hit ball with hand all you have is foul ball batter out. It is always where the ball is in relation to fair/foul line.
, Sept. 7, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

Absolutely not interference never has been and never should be! My only question is ball would have still been live so play would not officially been over just because it hit runner.
, Sept. 6, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

stick8, you're scenario should not warrant an interference call. If you slide out of baseline and contact runner or do anything in baseline such as wave arms jump up in front of fielder etc. Those are grounds for interference. Simply being in baseline after being forced out or sliding into bag and runner in normal fashion is not interference!
, Sept. 6, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

Also forgot to add there doesn't have to be a throw if runner does something intentional to impede throw. It is umpires judgement had there not been interference would fielder have been able to attempt to get out then interference would be called throw or not.
, Sept. 6, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

umpire 14, you are not giving a reason for interference. When a runner is forced out at say 2nd unless runner does something intentional to impede throw to 1st there is no interference. If fielder just throws ball and hits runner or doesn't throw because runner is in baseline after being forced out there is no interference. Runner has right to base and can't just disappear after being forced out. It is written that way in every rule book I have seen from mlb down. It is fielders responsibility to throw around runner in these situations!
, June 30, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball "Out Of Play"

Some organizations differ on this.Most say if you already acquired a bag it is the next bag plus one. That being said runner must have tagged or go back and tag properly if returning for a caught fly ball, or runner would be subject to being out on appeal if this wasn't done.
, June 30, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball "Out Of Play"

Duke, yes I was just trying to simplify the answer so most would understand. 1 the base runner is going to plus 1 more.
, June 30, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Ball "Out Of Play"

It is always 2 bases. The confusing comes from where the runner(s) position are at time of release from fielder.
Runner gets base going to plus 1. Based on runners location at time of release from fielder.
, June 26, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the correct call?

Dave,

I was basing my answer on BH44 scenario in that situation "run counts every time".
, June 26, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the correct call?

stever it is an appeal play yes, but most importantly it is a timing play. Did runner cross plate before defense appealed runner not tagging up or tagging bag that runner left early from. Out or not is based on timing.
, June 26, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the correct call?

Why is this call so hard to understand. You mean to tell me the umpire or umpires there neither one knew the correct call? And as many years as most of the players playing why was their a question on the call? Run counts every time if scored before out is made!
, June 24, 2017
lb16
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rotator Cuff Surgery or not?

Not gonna sugarcoat it had rotator cuff surgery in 2012. the worst therapy and recovery i have ever had to endure. but I am back playing infield ss, 3rd, 2nd. I would not be playing at all had I not had surgery. I am 53 was 49 when I had surgery. I took almost a year off to get fully healed.
, June 2, 2017
lb16
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Friend to get a hip Replacement

Had both of mine done in 2009. Was the best decision I could have made. Tell you're friend he will be glad he had it done once he does. Tell him to check on hip resurfacing as well it is a more complicated procedure but you retain more of your natural bone. Not all hip replacement surgeons do this procedure make sure he ask's his doctor if he does this procedure if not ask him to refer him to one that does. I wouldn't be back playing now if I didn't have it done. Also tell him to make sure he keeps up with PT after procedure. I took a year off to get completely healed I would advise the same for anyone getting hip replacement.
, May 9, 2017
lb16
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Homerun - Hit and Sit

Incorrect call by umpire once ball has cleared fence player can run around bases with bat if he wants too.
, May 8, 2017
lb16
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Vegas Info Help

I saw the hotel page on tourney page booking online with a flight/hotel package some are listed some are not having no idea what fields we will be at, we are playing 50 major. Just trying to get an idea on the best location to try and stay for most fields we will be playing on which I have no idea which that will be.
, May 8, 2017
lb16
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Vegas Info Help

Our team is planning on going to play in Vegas this year for the 1st time. Need info/help on the hotel rooms. We are going to book hotel/airline package where is the best place to stay decent/affordable with access to all parks. Online booking shows hotels on strip, east of strip, west of strip, downtown, north vegas, east vegas, henderson, boulder etc. Any info/help would be appreciated!

Thanks!!
, April 17, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You make the call.

coop3636 it is called that way incorrectly most of the time. It is a judgement call for the umpire what base runner would have made if not for obstruction. The reason being the 1st baseman could just truck the runner every time and runner 99% of the time is going to just stop and go back to 1st. The call is made to penalize defense for obstruction and for runner to get base he is entitled to if not for obstruction!
, April 15, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You make the call.

Base runner should only be awarded base he would have gotten without obstruction. If base runner continues to 3rd ruling should be an out.
, April 15, 2017
lb16
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You make the call.

If player makes an attempt or not doesn't matter. If the umpire felt runner would have made 2nd without obstruction that is what should be awarded. Most players when obstructed will almost always immediately go back to bag they were coming from.
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners