SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 56 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for CaliScotty2

Real name:



Message posted by CaliScotty2 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Aug. 5, 2013
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Double Runners to First

In our game a batter requested and got a designated runner. The runner was positioned where he was suppose to be and left once the batter hit the ball. However both the batter and the runner ran to first base. The batter, running down the inner part of the line ran over the white bag (didn't make contact) The designated runner ran down the outer part of the line ran over orange bag (didn't make contact). Is the batter out automatically because both players ran to first? Or because he didn't make contact with anything, is the runner safe at first if he returns and touches the orange bag safely?

Because there was a runner at third, the ball was thrown home. Does that change the scenario? If there were 2 outs and the runner scored safely from 3rd, would his run count if the batter is called out at first because of the double runner?

Where in the Senior Softball rule book can I find the section that deals with the above event?

Thank you.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook