http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Charlie Torres; 26 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for 1jonsey


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by 1jonsey »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, June 6, 2016
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 2nd base RUN BY LINE

several years ago I played in the Fla. Senior Games and they used a rule for runners going into 2nd base to avoid collisions. If I remember correctly they used a "run by line" to the right of 2nd base and if a play was being made on the runner they had the option to either slide into 2nd base or run to the line, but if they went into the bag standing up and made any contact with the fielder they were called out for interfernece and the batter runner or runner closest to home was also called out. Does anyone have any info. as to where there would be a written version of the rule?
, March 30, 2016
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: coaches touching a runner


had a runner round 3rd base and was held up by the base coach, as he was walking back to 3rd the coach tapped him on the shoulder and said nice hit, there was no play being made on him, the home plate umpire called him out for the coach "touching the runner" I'm confused in the wording. The umpire said he cant touch the runner at all, I argued the wording meant the coach cant touch him in assisting him back or forward, as in grab him or push him, but a pat on the back for a good hit was OK

I know the wording of the rule back in 2011/12 used to say when a coach touches "OR" physically assists a runner, then in 2012/13 it was changed to the rule below

2016 rule 9.2 V. When, in the umpire’s judgment, a coach touches and physically assists a runner,

what is the intent of the rule??
, March 24, 2016
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Appeal Play?

stick so batter is only called out without an appeal if he enters the dugout? what is the difference between the batter entering the dugout without touching the next base and being called out and the runner going to 3rd not touching the base and entering the dugout you say that is an appeal? if one is an automatic call why not both? didn't they both do the same thing?
, March 24, 2016
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Appeal Play?

Tim, I read the rule but why isn't this an appeal? I have a couple more questions, 1)what if the pitcher walks in the 5th run the batter walks up the 1st base line but doesn't touch the base he is met by the base coach who takes his bat and a team mate who has his glove he then proceeds to the field, he never entered his team area, do you call him out and disallow the run? same scenario but instead the runner that was on 2nd advances towards 3rd but does not touch the bag he then enters the 3rd base dugout, do you call him out and not allow the run?
, Jan. 25, 2016
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: illegally batted ball

STAFF
7.6 • BATTER IS OUT E. When the batter bunts or chops the ball, or does not take a full swing when deliberately hitting a pitched ball. can an illegally batted ball be called on a ball that rolls foul?
, Oct. 18, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: runner leaves base

no outs, runner on 1st and 2nd, batter hits into what he thinks is a double play but umpire calls him safe, he enters the dugout and no one notices until after a pitch is made, isn't he out for leaving the base even though a pitch was made, offense argued that time was called after the play so he could enter the dugout and that he should be put back on 1st? whats the call?
, Aug. 3, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

Clean Up....lmao have you been watching my hitting video???
, Aug. 3, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

Nancy, you made my point again in 2 ways 1)I also looked into 2 differnt Assoc. rules under batter is out they both talked about batter is out for a bunt and chop but no mention of him being out for not taking a full swing. 2) you even admit at tournaments that teams complain about this. Garocket is right they have made a science out of it and practice it. So if you are going to let the 1/2 SWING happen then remove the FULL SWING part of the rule, then you will be CONSISTENT with other Assoc. rules
, Aug. 3, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

lol well i'm definitely not a clean up hitter, and I agree with Garocket on the judy hitters only we call them Gladis and yes at times I've done it, and consider it a legal hit. Garocket even defines it as stopping the bat 1/2 way thru your swing. So how is it a FULL SWING?
, Aug. 3, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

Yes, again I agree with you over the years you have learned what to except/call in certain situations. Many umpires do not have the experience let alone attend a clinic, they only have a rule book to read. My O/P was more on how this rule is written it gives no gray area or does it mention umpire judgement, FULL SWING could be explained in the definition section of the rule book.
, Aug. 3, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

NA thank you, your answer is exactly what I'm getting at. Each umpire has a different idea of what a full swing is or what they feel comfortable calling. I believe years ago there was some type of wording about the batter breaking his wrists??? I see this in tournaments all the time batters slapping at the ball when fielders are playing somewhat deep, then if the fielder moves in they power the ball over their head. I think that is smart hitting, but when slapping at the ball they do not take a FULL SWING. The way the rule is written now is very direct and in no way does it imply that it should rely on umpire judgement.
, Aug. 1, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

thanks for the answer, and i understand the bunt and chop part of the rule, i dont understand how i am reading anything more into it the rule specifically says the batter is out if he doesn't take a full swing and then you give a generic answer that it's umpire judgement, i think it would be easier just to remove full swing and say the swing must have a forward motion
, July 31, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

RULE 7.6 • BATTER IS OUT E When the batter bunts or chops the ball, or does not take a full swing when deliberately hitting a pitched ball. Here's my question I see many left handed batters who take partial swings toward 3rd base and then run like hell to try to beat out a hit and right handers that partially slap at the ball over 1st base. When swinging the bat starts forward but only travels about 1/3 of the way of a normal swing. How is this considered a legal "full swing"? Shouldn't a swing start from over your shoulder and end fully across your body?
, July 20, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 15" gloves

my buddy just returned from a tournament and said a vendor was selling 15" gloves, if they are illegal why would they be able to sell them there SSUSA would you reply on if they are legal or not?
, July 19, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 15" gloves

i've read the rule for the size of gloves allowed and I'm still not sure, are 15" gloves legal in senior softball?
, June 19, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: courtesy runner

who's arguing, a scenario was asked, and answered by STAFF and then i asked about another scenario i thought the purpose of this forum was to ask about scenarios and rules questions, as far as getting a cheap out, please, don't try to tell me that you guys NEVER tried to stretch a rule to your advantage
, June 18, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: courtesy runner

SSUSA STAFF, the granted time out call was an automatic call the umpires make after the play to insure runners stopped advancing, since you ruled that the runner should not be called out for abandoning his base and that he could return to the base what would be your ruling if the runner just beat out an infield hit the umpire made a safe call but in the heat of the moment the runner thought he was called out, after the play the umpire called time, again to insure runners would not advance and the batter/runnner turned and walked into the dugout, would you allow him to come back because there was timeout and a dead ball situation, if so when would you rule on a runner abondoning his base? I've actually seen the last one happen a few times over the years
, June 17, 2015
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: courtesy runner

after a base hit the batter asked for a courtesy runner, the umpire called time and the runner left the base and entered the dugout, after a minute the offense figured out that they didn't have a courtesy runner available and sent the original runner back out, upon touching the bag we appealed that the runner had abandoned his bag and entered the dugout and that he should be called out, the umpire hesitated but did call him out, were we right that the runner should have waited until the courtesy runner came out and replaced him?
, Oct. 24, 2014
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: illegal courtesy runner rule

STAFF---this is part of RULE 8.8 5) An illegal courtesy runner on base is committing a continuing violation and may be called out upon appeal at any time while on base or, if he scores, prior to the first pitch to the next batter. here's a scenario bases are loaded 2 outs runner on 1st gets an illegal courtesy runner the umpires and defense do not catch it and the next batter gets a single now the illegal runner ends ups on 3rd, and the defense realizes it and upon appeal the illegal runner is called out making it 3 outs. I assume since umpires and defense didn't catch the violation when he took 1st base that both runs scored?
, May 17, 2014
1jonsey
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: EXTRA INNINGS

STAFF: if a game goes into extra innings and the offense forgets to put the last batter at 2nd and no one noticed until the first batter singled doesn't the offense forfeit that runner, is that correct? also what if just one pitch had been made can you then put runner on 2nd?
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners