https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Larryy; 30 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for jgoff5113


Real name:
Jim Goff

Location:
Davenport, IA

Division:
Men's 60

Messages posted by jgoff5113 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Jan. 17, 2022
jgoff5113
Topic: Teams looking for players
Discussion: 65 INDIANA TEAM LOOKING FOR PLAYERS

Hello NEW TEAM. I see that on Jan. 8 you posted "J GOFF ?" That's me (jgoff5113), and as I wrote in my Dec. 17 message, I have a good 66-year-old player who is looking for a 65s team. Did you text or call 504-278-3040? Or you can contact me at 563-650-1003.
Dec. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Teams looking for players
Discussion: 65 INDIANA TEAM LOOKING FOR PLAYERS

Could you also text all your info to 504-278-3040? This is the number of a good-hitting 66-year-old who lives in IL, can play outfield and is in very good physical condition.

Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Stepping out of the box to avoid being quick-pitched

Thanks Dave! Just one more thing I’ll add: I sometimes step out during an at-bat to see if any of the fielders have moved since I first checked them when stepping up to bat…and I often find that one or more of them has indeed moved.
Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Stepping out of the box to avoid being quick-pitched

Thanks Dave and BJ. So it sounds like if a batter steps out without asking for “time”, he sort of puts his fate/faith in the umpire to declare “no pitch”. If the ump fails to do that, then the pitch counts and the batter has himself to blame (more than the umpire) for not asking for “time” in between each pitch.
Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Stepping out of the box to avoid being quick-pitched

To avoid being quick-pitched after the first pitch has been thrown, is it sufficient that the batter step out of the batter's box (assuming he does this before the pitcher begins his throwing motion), or must the batter also ask for "time" from the umpire?
Nov. 5, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Tag/No tag play -- does the tagged run count?

Thanks Dave and Duckman! That's exactly what I wanted to understand: Whether this is a timing play or treated like a force out.

Nov. 4, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Tag/No tag play -- does the tagged run count?

Scenario: Runners on 1st and 3rd with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to deep right field. Runner on 1st (or his base coach) decides that there's no way the ball is going to be caught, so that runner takes off right away. Meanwhile, the runner/base coach at 3rd knows that he's going to score whether the ball is caught or not, so he stays on the base (tags up). The right fielder makes a great over-the shoulder diving catch. The runner who started the play at 1st rounds 2nd, and by the time he can be told by his 3rd base coach to get back to 1st, the outfielder is able to get up and throw to 1st in time to beat the returning runner for the 3rd out. But before the ball reaches the 1st baseman, the runner who tagged at 3rd crosses the scoring line. Should that run count?
Aug. 19, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Assuming interference, other runner should be returned to previous base?

Thanks B.J. and stick8!

Aug. 19, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Assuming interference, other runner should be returned to previous base?

Scenario: Bases loaded and nobody out. Shortstop fields a grounder and then steps forward to throw to home. The baserunner who started the play on 2nd runs in front of the shortstop as he's throwing, causing the SS to have to "throw over" him, and after the ball leaves the SS's hand, there is contact with the baserunner on the follow-through. The throw bounces in front of the mat/catcher, and the catcher is unable to catch the ball just before the baserunner who started the play on 3rd crosses the scoring line. Two questions: 1) Would this be a judgment call for the umpire to make regarding whether the SS was interfered with? 2) Assuming the interference call is made, the baserunner who committed the interference should be called out, but should the baserunner who scored from 3rd be returned to 3rd? Seems like the answer to #2 should be yes, because the play is dead at the moment the interference occurred, and the team at bat should not be allowed to benefit "even a little bit". After all, what if the guy who started the play on 3rd was the winning run?
June 29, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Unsportsmanlike conduct call for showboating?

Thanks Dave, and no worries: Our team did not argue with the ump, and the next batter hit another grounder to end the inning, so the erroneous call didn't really matter. The ball doesn't lie lol!
June 29, 2021
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Unsportsmanlike conduct call for showboating?

At the TOC this past January, our infield completed a nice double play to end the inning (or so we thought). After our first baseman caught the throw from 2nd to complete the play, he did a little dance move and flipped the ball back toward out dugout. Seeing this, the umpire extended his arms out in the same signal you see in football, said "Unsportsmanlike conduct!" and ruled the hitter safe at first as the penalty. Even assuming that the showboating was uncalled for, did the ump make the correct call here?
Aug. 10, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on 2nd helping batter with inside/outside pitches.

So it seems like we can all agree that, for better or worse, it is rather common for someone to say something while the pitch is in the air:

1. The umpire, calling "Flat" or "Illegal" (as a batter, I find the "Illegal" call quite helpful, because a high arc pitch is in the air long enough for me to check my swing after the "Illegal" or "Too high" call is made).
2. The catcher, saying something like "Great pitch!" (annoying and potentially distracting to the batter, but not against the rules, I assume, since at least a few catchers do this, as lowprofile points out).
3. The "helpful" teammate in the dugout yelling "Short!" or "Deep!"

So my question was really just an extension of #3; namely, What if a teammate on 2nd base decided to "help" the batter? To be clear, I wasn't advocating for this at all; I was just curious whether it would be against the rules (Answer: No), and if not, opinions on how such behavior would be received (Answer: Not well).
Aug. 9, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on 2nd helping batter with inside/outside pitches.

Thanks Dave. Really, no argument desired. As I wrote in my previous post, you've answered my legality question, and now in your latest post, you've also answered my call for opinions on the sportsmanship or spirit-of-the-game aspect. Much appreciated.
Aug. 9, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on 2nd helping batter with inside/outside pitches.

Hmmm...OK DaveD and Jon44, so both of you would find such verbal "help" from your teammate on 2nd base, or from your dugout, too distracting and thus not helpful to you. If that's the case, then might I suggest that each time you step up to bat, you ask the ump not to call out "flat!" or "Illegal!" on pitches that are not within the legal arc? The timing of such a verbal "piece of info" about the pitch coming from the ump or a teammate would be the same, i.e. right around the time the pitch reaches the top of its arc. Tell the ump he can let you know after the pitch has hit the ground, so you don't lose your focus on the pitch. Lol! (Actually I was at a tournament this year run by one of the other sanctioning/governing companies where the umps did not declare the pitch illegal under after it hit the ground, so maybe they have a different rule or practice on declaration of illegal pitches.) I'm not trying to start an argument here, and thanks for letting me know that there's no rule against such verbal "help" from teammates. You've answered my question.
Aug. 9, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on 2nd helping batter with inside/outside pitches.

Fine Jon44; then in your case, you would simply tell your teammates that you don't want that sort of verbal help from your teammate on 2nd base. But assuming there are any players out there who might find it helpful, my question was whether there is any rule against this. It's really no different from someone in the dugout yelling "short!" to try to help their teammate at bat lay off a pitch (teammates in the dugout enjoy a "side view" of the pitch that again, is arguably better than the view that the batter has, in the long/short dimension); haven't we all done this, or heard someone in the dugout yell "long!" or "short!" to their teammate at bat?
Aug. 9, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on 2nd helping batter with inside/outside pitches.

When I'm a runner on 2nd base, I am looking right down the line of sight from pitcher to strike mat, and I can usually tell even before a pitch reaches the top of its arc, whether the pitch is going to be inside or outside and thus not a strike. I actually have a better view than my teammate at bat as to whether the pitch coming to him is going to be off-target in the inside/outside dimension. Is there any rule against saying in a load voice "inside!" or "outside!" to help my teammate who is at bat? Even if there is no rule against this, any thoughts or opinions on whether this might be considered poor sportsmanship, or not in the spirit of the game?
July 21, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Kicking the ball to a teammate legal?

Very interesting, bkb555. I assume that in the opposite scenario where the ball is on the infielder's glove and he touches the base with his other (bare) hand, the correct call would also be "out" (assuming it's a force play). Same principal that allows the much more typical play of the infielder having the ball in either hand and touching the bag with either foot. As long as the ball is in either hand and under control, touching the bag with any part of the body on a force play results in an out.
July 21, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Outfielder runs thru centerfield fence gap and catches home run ball; home run or out?

Thanks Wayne 37. Actually in the situation I was describing, the fielder runs through the open gate and then catches the fly ball, but your scenario is very good to know about as well. Often I've seen side gates (i.e. down the foul lines) mistakenly left open as well. And you're saying that if a defender catches a popup or fly ball in the field of play, but then is unable to stop, with his momentum carrying him through the open gate, the batter is out, but any other baserunners should be awarded an advance of one base. I've also played on fields where there isn't a side fence all the way along the field, and instead, a second line is painted on the grass to divide in-play foul territory from out-of-play territory. On that sort of field, you're saying that should a defender catch a ball on the in-play side of the line but then run over the line, again the batter would be out but any other baserunners should be awarded an advance of one base (after tagging up, as you wrote).
July 21, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Outfielder runs thru centerfield fence gap and catches home run ball; home run or out?

Thanks lb16 and Dave. You have relieved me of any temptation to risk my physical safety by attempting to run through that little gap, should I ever face the situation I described. On a related note, at the Sturgis, MI tournament last month, a wide gate (I'd estimate at least 12-feet wide) in the outfield fence was left open while a game was being played (I was coming in from the parking lot and closed it). The ump should have noticed the open gate and ordered play stopped until it was closed, but in effect, a section of the outfield fence was missing during play. This was a much higher fence, and had a fly ball landed just beyond where the fence should have been, a bru-ha-ha might have resulted on the question of whether it should be a home run or (I assume) a ground rule double. Had a batted ball bounced through the open gate, I assume the correct ruling would be a double. But still egg on the ump's face for not noticing the open gate. And had the left fielder run through the open gate and caught a fly ball, home run would be the correct call (but maybe the same bru-ha-ha, with the team in the field arguing that it would have hit the fence and not cleared it).
July 21, 2020
jgoff5113
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Outfielder runs thru centerfield fence gap and catches home run ball; home run or out?

Ok Rules Brain Trust Guys, here's another just-for-fun, hypothetical question: I just finished playing outfield at an SSUSA tournament where the fields were only 280-ft. and the outfield fence was only 5-ft. high. More to the point though, the outfield fences featured that small overlapping gap in the fence in center field, in order to make it easier to retrieve home run balls. Now imagine there's a lefty at bat who is known for his power and is also all-pull. I'm playing left-center and we put the shift on him, which means I'm positioned almost in dead-center field, and close to the fence since it's only 280-ft. The batter hits a towering fly ball that is tracking to land a few feet beyond the fence and just a little to the right of dead-center. If I run through the fence gap in centerfield and catch the ball beyond the fence, is it still a home run, or should the batter be called out?
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners