http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 7 members: Fred S, USMC21, bigs64, hitter60, stattad, tlutzer, tommyk; 64 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for B.J.


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by B.J. »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, Feb. 4, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: All you rule experts: Need your input..

STICK8....I haven't worked Utrip in a few years but as I remember, it was a dead ball unless the ball had passed a fielder...here is the rule read E and effect 1




Sec. 10. BASE RUNNERS MUST RETURN TO THEIR BASES:
A. When any foul ball is not legally caught.
B. When any illegally batted ball occurs.
C. When a proper batter is out on appeal for failing to bat in order.
D. When an offensive player is called out for interference.
E. When an umpire or base runner is struck by a fair batted ball, before it touches a fielder or passes any fielder other than the Pitcher.
F. When time out is called by the umpire.
EFFECT Sec 10. A-F.
1. The ball is immediately dead.
2. Base runners may be forced to advance if the batter is credited with a hit
as per “E” above, thus awarded first base, thereby forcing other runners to advance.
3. Base runners need not touch intervening bases when required to return.
4. Base runners must be allowed sufficient time to return when required.
, Jan. 27, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Penalty for offensive intereference

usually when I cant find a ruling in the SSUSA book I refer to ASA rule book because it gives a more thorough description of the rules....as I posted above runner who interfered is out and runner closest to home would be out if in the umpires judgement a double play could have been made

RULE 8 - BATTER-RUNNER AND RUNNER
Section 7. THE RUNNER IS OUT.
P. When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player’s opportunity to make a play on another runner.
EFFECT: The ball is dead. The runner closest to home plate at the time of the interference is out. All runners not out must return to the last base touched
at the time of the interference.

, Jan. 27, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Penalty for offensive intereference

interference is a judgement call by the umpire... If he calls it the player that interfered is out and then if in the judgement of the umpire there could have been a double play the runner closest to scoring is called out....below is the rule but it does not describe where the 2nd out should be called.... maybe STAFF could help out on this??

8.6 • WHEN SLIDING IS OPTIONAL - AVOIDING COLLISIONS
Sliding or diving into first base or the scoring line or scoring plate is permitted only to avoid a collision with a defensive player. This is an umpire’s judgment call and is not subject to protest or appeal. A player may slide or dive into second or third bases, or when returning to any base. A runner must make every effort to avoid colliding with opposing players while running the bases or sliding or diving. If in the umpire's judgment a runner misses a base to avoid a collision, the runner will not be called out. If in the umpire’s judgment the runner fails to avoid a collision with a defensive player involved in the play, the
ball will be declared dead and that runner called out. All base runners except the batter will be returned to their previous base unless forced to advance. If in the umpire’s judgment the runner's collision with the defensive player
involved in the play negates a double play, the umpire may award a second out.
, Jan. 16, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 2017 Significant Rule Changes - Penalty for non-compliance

Staff....brb headed to the dictionary (analogous) lol
, Jan. 16, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 2017 Significant Rule Changes - Penalty for non-compliance

Steve, I think Staff mis-read your question on the defensive player ( Question: If the defensive player's foot slides onto the line separating the two bases and touches both, is the batter-runner out or safe? ) if the defensive players foot happens to slide onto both bags and the throw beats the B/R he is out and Staff I have a question on your answer to part (2) if the CR fails to report in and the error is not caught until after the 1st pitch isn't he still in jeopardy to being called out on appeal if he is illegal.. Rule 8.5(5) An illegal courtesy runner on base is committing a continuing violation and may be called out upon appeal at any time while on base or, if he scores,prior to the first pitch to the next batter...
, Jan. 11, 2017
B.J.
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Interference

Texas... great explanation.... I also disagree... the runner did nothing wrong and is exactly where he is supposed to be in the baseline... the defenseive player (F4)in this scenario has to go across the bag and throw around the runner... the part about "A base runner must avoid a fielder making a play." is when he is attempting to field a ball...what if in this scenario the runner did attempt to get out of the baseline and ran into the throw as the fielder was attempting to throw around him? would this still be interference?
, Jan. 7, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Taping of bat handle.

it's illegal ...below is the rule.... G. Shall have a safety knob of a minimum of ¼ inch protruding at a 90-degree angle from the handle. It may be molded, lathed, welded or permanently fastened. A "flare" or "cone" grip attached to the bat will be permissible as
long as it is a commercially manufactured flare or cone. Taping into a cone will be considered altered. The knob may be taped as long as there is no violation of this section
, Jan. 6, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Umpire Hit by a Batted Ball

8.2 • BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER
C. When he bats a fair ball even though it strikes another player, umpire or
their attached clothing or equipment.
1. If the runner is hit with a fair batted ball while touching a base, he is not
out. EFFECT: The ball is live or dead depending on the position of the
fielder closest to the ball. If the closest defensive player is in front of
the base runner hit by the ball, the ball remains live. However, after the
runner in contact with the base is hit by the batted ball, it shall be the
same as hitting the ground. Since the ball remains live, the defense is
free to make whatever plays are available. If the defensive player is
behind the base runner, the ball is ruled dead, the hitter is awarded a
base hit and runners are advanced only if forced to advance.
2. If the runner is hit by the ball while off base and before it passes an
infielder (excluding the pitcher), the ball is dead and the hit runner is
declared out. The batter-runner is awarded first base without liability to
be put out.
8.2(1) • CATCHER OBSTRUCTING
, Dec. 12, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

BillC.... if you are talking about this part of
5.7 NOTE: An appeal may be made after the third out in order to nullify a run.
No there is no contradiction because it is describing these 3 scenarios...

B. No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of:
1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other
runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner.
2. A runner being put out by a tag or live ball appeal play prior to the lead
runner crossing the scoring line or touching the scoring plate.
3. A preceding runner is declared out on appeal involving a force play.

your scenario was diferent because you had a thrown ball that went out of play so therefore the run scored from 2nd
, Dec. 10, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

Paul, if a runner leaves the bag to soon on a caught fly ball and was heading back to tag up and the ball is thrown out of play before he gets back the runner must still return and touch the bag before advancing on awarded bases...failure to do so puts him in jeopardy of a dead ball appeal by the defense for not tagging... Returning to touch a base missed or one left too soon must occur prior to an award; therefore, on an overthrow the umpire
should hesitate in making the award while watching what the
runner does. If the runner shows no intention of returning
to touch a base missed or re-tag a base left too soon, then
the umpire should make the award.





, Dec. 9, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

STICK, its been a while since i've worked U-trip but I think they count returning to the bag as 1 bag awarded if the throw went out of play before the runner returned?
, Dec. 9, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

runner is out... he must go back and tag up before advancing
, Dec. 8, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Triple Play or Not? - Help with call

Stick...the only reason they thought they had 3 outs was because the HP umpire initially made a quick and incorrect call of the runner on 3rd going home.... so if you made the incorrect call causing the defense to believe they had 3 outs...you then would change it and award both runners home?
, Dec. 1, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

Since the SSUSA rule book does not really cover specific appeals I looked in the ASA Rules Supplement for an answer... This supplemet to the rule explains how the appeal must be done. It says the appeal must be made prior to the runner returning to first base while the ball is live. If the B/R misses 1st base on the way to 2nd base then a dead ball appeal would be allowed.

L. Missing First Base Before the Throw Arrives.

When a runner passes first base before the throw arrives, they are considered to have touched the base unless properly appealed. On appeals involving the double base, when the batter-runner touches the white rather than the colored portion and a play is made, the same procedure applies. When an appeal is made in both situations, it must be made prior to the runner returning to first base while the ball is live.
, Nov. 29, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

Dave.. your answer below on a DBA is confusing when you say an appeal can be made before the next pitch... you do mean that the DBA still has to be made before the B/R returns to 1st....other wise the appeal is not legal


IF "time" is called before the batter/runner returns to 1st, such as on overrun situation with no intention to advance to 2nd, missing 1st base may result in an out on a dead ball appeal if the appeal made before the next pitch



, Nov. 28, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

Dave, I was wondering if you had time to research the appeal procedure when the B/R misses 1st base but beats the throw .... can the appeal be made until he returns to the bag or can it be made even after he returns to the bag but before the 1st pitch...Thx.
, Nov. 19, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

coop...if im wrong??? it certainly wont be the 1st time...in fact my wife tells me im wrong all the time....hopefully Dave will soon wake from his nap and give us an answer to both of the above questions
, Nov. 18, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

Dave, can you answer the above question of coop and I...whether the appeal has to be made before the runner gets back to 1st or can the appeal be made after runner returns to the bag but before the next pitch....thx.
, Nov. 18, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

B/R is allowed the safety bag and only the safety bag...so if he beats the throw and hits both bags he should be called out...and this is an automatic call...no appeal is needed


, Nov. 18, 2016
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: RULEING ON PLAY

once the runners foot is down on or across the line he cannot be tagged for an out and if he is the umpire mechanic is to immediately call the runner safe... so therefore he does not have to follow thru and touch the scoring plate/line
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners