http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: CurtfromKY, Drew, sal; 55 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Paul P


Real name:
Paul Preuit

Location:
The Villages, FL

Division:
Men's 65

Messages posted by Paul P »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, March 7, 2016
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: How to score this 1

The "error" occurs after the recorded out, so the instant ruling of infield fly is irrelevant to any subsequent action. Much like if a foul ball pop up is dropped, with no advance by any runners, it is still recorded as an error, depending on the official scorers interpretation of the difficulty of the catch.

A further example of how this should be scored, if the fielder caught the infield fly rule ball, and a runner tagged up and tried to score,and the fielder subsequently throws it away. No RBI, error to the fielder, and an at bat out recorded.
, March 7, 2016
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: How to score this 1

I would think that it would be an at bat, recorded out and error on the closest fielder, no RBI.
, Feb. 20, 2016
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Softball Quotes

My outfielders don't yell, "I got it", they yell, "I'll go get it."
, Oct. 5, 2015
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: First time for everything

Dbax and wagon, I'm in agreement, the orange bag should always be touched, but the rules don't state that, they refer to a play being made at the bag. In this case, there was no play at the bag. Again, I was on the team with the favorable ruling, but still ... Ahhh, Senior ball ... Its what keeps us young!
, Oct. 5, 2015
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: First time for everything

Yeah, it was Mike, the pitcher,you left handers all look a like to me!!! Oh wait, dang... I AM a left hander too!

The pleasure goes both ways my friend, I enjoyed our time on the field together. I especially enjoyed it when YOU pitched!!!!
, Oct. 5, 2015
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: First time for everything

I saw this at Big League Dreams in Vegas, and even though I was on the team that received a favorable ruling, I'm still confused and think it was mis-applied.

Batter hits a squibbler towards first base, and runs to the bag, safely past the first baseman who was vainly trying to corral the spinning ball. Home Plate Umpire called him out for touching the white bag instead of the orange bag, even though there was no play at the bag, nor was there any interference with the fielder.

A TD was summonsed, along with a tournament UIC, and it was ruled, "the runner had no reason to run across the white bag." and hence the ruling on the field was affirmed.

As a career first baseman I take umbrage with those that run across the white bag while I am affixed to it, however this one had me shaking my head.!!


, Oct. 21, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference

Ok, I get it, I know the rule, as do all of you, but let me throw a real time scenario.
Base loaded and no outs. I'm a career first baseman so this is how I play it. Im two steps back of the pathway that runner will take to go to 2nd base. Hard hit ball to me at first, one handed scoop, tag the runner, and, my plan is to tag 1st base and throw to home for a triple play. However, once I tagged the runner at 1st, he shoves me with two hands, yelling "get out of my way" (it was far more descriptive language but you get the idea!!). I continued on, tagging first base and throwing home. The field umpire immediately calls interference. But, rewards the runner saying its a dead ball out, runner closest to home is out, runner from first base is out and the batter/runner is called safe by virtue of the dead ball interference. So, in essence they get 1st and third and two outs and my team should have been in the dug out. Somehow, I think it should have played out like an obstruction call, a "delayed" call. I KNOW what the rule is, and THATS how it was called, but ..... it just seemed a tad unfair. Call me a frustrated 65 Major Plus player!!!
, Aug. 11, 2014
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Help for those with Vertigo

Davey, I know we talked yesterday in Venice, and, to your point. As a person who's other passion in life is sailing, I had learned for some of my sea sick friends, to have them focus their eyes on the horizon. This seemed to help in the recovery process. I will add the exercises to their regimen as well. Good post and thanks for sharing!
, Aug. 10, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Strangest play I have ever seen

In a similar situation in a Florida Half Century Tournament, runners on first and third, two outs. Batter his a single to left, the runner on first advanced to third but missed second base. (Everyone agrees, umpires, players and even the runner, that he missed the bag)

It was my argument that it's a force out, third out and the lead run should not have scored.

However, the umpires (and the tournament director) ruled that its a "timing play" based on an appeal that the runner missed second. I was told had we "continued" the play and thrown the ball to second base, it WOULD have been a force out and no run scored.

My argument to that was, the umpires, in their haste to call "TIME" after the play was basically over, did not allow us to pursue that avenue so we were forced to call an appeal, which, obviously was ruled in our favor, less the run scoring!

It was all a moot point, as we were winning the game handily, so I let it go. Any thoughts?
, July 17, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Im so glad I asked the original question, which was based on an actual event that I was a party to!!!

The rest of the "scenarios" reminded me of an old George Carlin skit in which as a student in a Catechism Class he once asked a nun, "Can God make a rock so large that he himself cannot move it?"

The entertainment is priceless, but after aall, it IS SENIOR Softball, the emphasis being on "Senior".

The "flight of the ball" determines the call at 3rd, the runner not being out as long as he was in contact with the base.

Anything else would be fun to just sit back and watch the fireworks!!
, July 17, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Im so glad I asked the original question, which was based on an actual event that I was a party to!!!

The rest of the "scenarios" reminded me of an old George Carlin skit in which as a student in a Catechism Class he once asked a nun, "Can God make a rock so large that he himself cannot move it?"

The entertainment is priceless, but after aall, it IS SENIOR Softball, the emphasis being on "Senior".

The "flight of the ball" determines the call at 3rd, the runner not being out as long as he was in contact with the base.

Anything else would be fun to just sit back and watch the fireworks!!
, Jan. 23, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Thanks for the input, both answers raise interesting possibilities.

The "flight of the ball" determines fair or foul, agreed? 99% of the time, the fielder is behind the bag. So that part of the equation is out of the mix.

Most experienced ball players step towards the 3rd base coaches box, so that if they are hit, foot on the bag or not, its just a foul ball. However there are those that remain in fair territory.

Assuming a fair ball strikes the runner on third, and he is attached to the bag, in a bases-loaded situation, all runners advance one base, including the batter. In ther case of a "first and third" situation, the batter moves to first, and the runner on first moves to second while the runner on third remains.

This is how I understand it, and if wrong, could someone correct me.
, Jan. 20, 2014
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

We all know the standard rule, the ball passing an infielder, deflected by an infielder, etc, etc, but here is one that I'm suprised doesn't happen more often. Runner on Third Base, batted ball hits the runner, while the runner is affixed to the 3rd base bag. What is the proper call? Obviously the runner is not out. The base being in fair territory is it a fair ball, or is it a dead ball, foul ball?
, Nov. 25, 2013
Paul P
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: You make the call part 643

If a baserunner on 2nd base, attempting to score on a single, makes a wide turn at 3rd base and collides with the third base coach and no subsequent defensive play was made, may the runner continue on his way and score. Does the run score? Or was the runner out for the collision at third base?
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Garocket and Stick, thanx for the input, the obstruction non-call was a bit painful, as the umpire's explanation was "He (the first baseman) has a right to be there." Ive been around long enough to know better. Perhaps he didnt see the MLB World Series!!

On the foul/fair ball, the explanation I received was "Its a foul ball until I see it fair, and since I didnt see it fair, its a foul ball." Kind of like what came first the chicken or the egg!!

Wasn't much of an argument in either case!!
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Fort Myers 65 aaa

@Steve, I was playing on the field following Miami Power's Saturday games and was told the brother's Canseco "missed their flight from Las Vegas" and would not be playing. You get what you pay for, and sometimes, not.
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

Ok one last one: Ball hit down the right field line. The homeplate umpire's view is blocked by a rather large first baseman. What's the call, fair or foul? Note: The field umpire was positioned behind the 2nd base bag and had no view.

I was the on-deck batter and saw the ball landing clearly in the middle of the foul line. The umpire admitted he couldn't see the ball land, but looked for a cloud of chalk and seeing none, called it foul. (The foul line was painted, so chalk was not in evidence!!!)
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rules question. Happened at Huntsman

In Ft Myers, batter/runner hits single, rounds first, stops, returns to bag. First Baseman comes over to make small talk, standing between runner and the next base. Ball comes in from the outfield and trickles by everybody, rolling harmlessly past the pitcher. Runner tries to take off for 2nd, collides with first baseman, and then subsequently gets thrown out at 2nd base. Ruling on the field is, and I quote from the field umpire: "He (the first baseman)has a right to be there." This, in a one-run game. Ouch!
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Where was Jack?

This just begs the response: "I don't know Jack." (insert groan here)
, Nov. 11, 2013
Paul P
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Results from Ft. Meyers

Rose Enterprises won the 65 Major Plus division
beating Beef O'Brady's Villages team in the "IF" game.
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners