https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Crazy8s; 72 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Nancy Allen


Real name:
Nancy Allen

Location:
Indianapolis, IN

Division:
Men's 55

Messages posted by Nancy Allen »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

June 18, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rule Question

BruceAZ, that is a horrible way to end a ballgame. You can't call what you don't see but sounds like someone checked out early. He should have been right there with you until the end.
June 18, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rule Question

Boys, blame me. I brought up the scenario.
June 18, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rule Question

BJ, you are of course right. That slide made everything else not relevant, but it was entertaining to watch. Fortunately the umpire also called it correctly. It was interesting to watch, a lot going on. Of course the offensive coach tried to argue the tag, but his guy was sliding towards the strike mat before the tag.
June 17, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rule Question

I meant the strike mat, not the scoring plate. Yes, this was the runner's first 50 tournament.
June 17, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Rule Question

Order of precedence is important. We once had one that slid into the scoring plate, was then tagged before he actually touched it, and then touched the scoring plate. Any guesses?
June 17, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: 4 DAYS NOW FOR VEGAS MASTERS?

Dave, Layla has your back and is smiling on you know. In the words of the local legend, Tim Fisburn, people can add, but they sure can't subtract.

Logic? What the heck is that?
June 16, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: questions to catchers and umpires

Stick8, I get the league rule for letting the runner be off the bag at 3rd. I am not sure why a runner would be out for being hit by a foul ball.

Grayhitter59, you're welcome. BJ said the same thing and glad that we agree. In tournament play that is unacceptable. It is also unacceptable that there was no director or UIC on site. I disagree with your teammates. You were right, and there should have been a dead ball out. Offensive outs are always the easiest. The fact that the umpire admitted to it bothers me too. I would have rather had him say that he never saw it do didn't call it.

Just keep being Manny. You should have gotten the out.
June 15, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Obstruction, interference, or incidental play?

Now that, my friend, is funny.
June 15, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: questions to catchers and umpires

BJ, thanks, you typed faster than me, and I am glad that we agree. I don't like situations where both teams agree on something unless it is in league ball and definitely not this. So that runner gets hit with a foul ball standing off the bag because I let him do that because the teams agree on it. Then I have put myself in the middle of a potential lawsuit by allowing it. So it is not happening with me.
June 15, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: questions to catchers and umpires

Grayhitter59, thank you so much.

I would call for time and explain to them exactly what my concern was and what I expected. Since it is more about a rule than judgement, your only other action would be to call for a director or UIC. Of course who knows how that will work against you the rest of the game. Him admitting that he saw it really makes me wonder about him as an official. There are rules that I sometimes don't agree with, but I still enforce them. I agree with you on what he did, actually didn't do.

Well, and then there is the teammate. If you had gotten the out, I bet that they would not have said anything. Don't get me into the discussion of if they are allowed to stand on the orange bag to avoid a foul ball, then why isn't there an orange bag on 3rd? Just for the record, I do not like that they can stand on the orange bag when the ball is being pitched. That is my own opinion but not consistent with our rules

What I suggested above is the only ways that I can think of to handle it by protocol. From what you have above, it looks like he still did not give you a reason for his inaction.
June 15, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Obstruction, interference, or incidental play?

OZ40 and Dave, yes, that does add an interesting wrinkle to the entire scenario. There is nothing worse in a Special Olympics game for the defense to appeal the runner leaving early at home. Has anyone ever played in the Shelbyville league where the runner has to hold a rope attached to the backstop before running?

Softball4b, if I call your wife, you might be in more trouble. Nancy who?

DCPete, it depends and would have to see it. Remember that the runner is supposed to avoid contact. I will advance a guess of interference unless softball4b sends me a video with strong evidence to the contrary.
June 15, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: questions to catchers and umpires

Grayhitter59, that is what I thought that you meant, but I never assume anything (usually). Yes, that is a dead ball out if he is standing off the bag when the ball is pitched. I think that it will probably depend on the umpire how you can get them to communicate. If I see it, I am calling it even without your help. Third is pretty easy to see from the plate.

Softball4b, I will take that as a compliment, but I think that it has to do more with being around softball than old guys. I have learned a lot about communication from my old guys though. I like the weather reference. I had to deal with a youngster this week that wanted to absolutely insist that a person had to play the field before they can bat. "It's a rule." He seemed deaf to the concept of a sub at any time. I finally just said that, yes, there was one park here that had that as a league rule, but he was way too young to have ever played there. They have been closed for many years. They also had a league rule that in coed that a girl had to bat first. What?
June 13, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Obstruction, interference, or incidental play?

Dave, you nailed it. It is judgement. It very seldom happens, but I had it happen twice in the same tournament. The batter just kind of froze and lost track of the ball and was right in the catcher's way. He had to go through the batter to get to the ball. Although it can be a controversial call, I have never seen anyone intentionally interfere in that situation at the plate. If anyone says infield fly, it could go higher, Dave.
June 13, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: questions to catchers and umpires

Grayhitter59, is the reason that the umpire is asking that is because the runner is standing off of third when the ball is pitched? Is that the question?
June 13, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Product review
Discussion: bat bags

Some of the players here have SIS (Smash It Sports) rolling bags, and they look really sturdy. I like the autism awareness one because it is loud and proud.
June 12, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Arthritic Feet

ALLPRO, Coachie dealt with a couple of kinds of arthritis. His life was much better after I found a good rheumatologist for him. Your podiatrist might be a really good doctor, but I believe that for anything involving arthritis that the equation changes completely, and that only a rheumatologist can help you effectively deal with those issues. I agree that the surgery does not sound like a good idea.

Now for just pain relief, Coachie's regular doctor said that naproxen was the best over the counter remedy. It seemed to help him. I know that Hydrocodone and its "cousins" are very bad drugs and would never want anyone to deal with them because of the addiction issues.

I wish you the best of luck with this.
June 12, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Double or homerun?

Stick8, given enough talk time and adult beverage, I think that we could do it. The older guys do it every week at hitting practice. They drink some coffee first and then solve all of the World's problems while doing that. Then they hit.

So you know about Indiana's greatest scorekeeper? I would score it as an error in the scorebook since they got the glove on it and caused the event. Yet I still maintain that the result is a 4 base award.

We played the Worlds in Roseville in 2000. The sun was apparently in the outfielder's eyes. The ball our guy hit got the outfielder directly on the forehead, and it went over the fence off of his head. The umpire wanted to make it a homerun which would be an out for our AA team at the time. It only took me and a director to get him straightened out after about 10 minutes. I told our guy that he needed to buy 2 action shots because somehow the photographer got the picture of our guy hitting the ball and the other guy collapsing to the ground with the ball bouncing off of his head. Classic, like us.
June 12, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Double or homerun?

OZ40, thank you for making my day by using the correct terminology of 4 base award. I have a few other terminology pet peeves that players often use, but that is a whole other subject. This is probably the worst one of that bunch. I agree with everything Dave said.

Stick8, we can discuss this in a ballpark discussion where we also plan to save the World.
May 31, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is the infield fly rule based on physical ability to catch the ball?

Thank you, HJ. You stated that very well. That is a very good example too.
May 30, 2018
Nancy Allen
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is the infield fly rule based on physical ability to catch the ball?

titanhd, thank you, I will take the compliment. Unfortunately I have to disagree with you. It is not about the ball; it is about the infielders and whether it is routine. I apologize that it is about judgement when correctly applying the rule. So it is both the rule and my judgement. Have I messed up on my judgement on what is routine before? Yes, occasionally. Was I wrong last night? No, but you would've thought that I was killing them even though it appears that only I knew what was going on. Thank goodness I was there to sort it out and calm them down.

BJ, you are so right on. I compliment you as always. Too bad you weren't hanging out last night to see the circus act. So many people assume too much about the infield fly situation. I don't think that I have ever had so many people so passionate about things that were wrong. You know like I do that this is just one of those things that happens sometimes. Apparently from this thread, the myth continues.
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners