http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: EMJ, OrlandoErik99; 46 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for fresnomdn


Real name:

Location:
Fresno,

Division:

Messages posted by fresnomdn »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

May 22, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Infield Fly Rule

I don't think you reverse it. If the second call (reversed) was made verbally, stick with the Infield Fly call and rectify the situation, which would likely send the runners back to their original bases and the batter is out.
April 17, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Southwest Championships

Refresh, refresh, refresh
April 16, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Southwest Tournament

Is anybody else having trouble getting updates? I have nothing from about Tuesday afternoon.
Jan. 28, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Infield Fly (not)

Thanks B.J. Not sure I like it, but I do understand how age might make it a good rule. Even though the SS in the mentioned play did not intentionally play it this way, I would make the same call myself (now that I know this rule).
Jan. 27, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Infield Fly (not)

I know the Infield Fly scenario. Didn't know what else to name this thread. There was no touch of the pop up. Unless it's a Senior rule, the intent of the infielder isn't relevant unless they actually touch the ball in the air (same thing with a line drive). The batter not running is what makes this a doable maneuver for the defense . . . unless it's a Senior rule. You could let a ball hit the ground in order to force a faster lead runner, but you'd better be sure you can play the hop. And if the batter doesn't run to first, he can be doubled up . . . unless the umpire stops the play. I guess what I'm asking is if there is a specific Senior rule for this.

Jan. 27, 2021
fresnomdn
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Infield Fly (not)

No outs, runner on 1B. Batter pops up in front of SS (big wind blowing in). The SS comes up like he has it, but then stops and lets it hit the ground (looked intentional, he says not). The SS picks it up immediately and tosses to 2B forcing the runner from 1B. About this time, the umpire calls the play dead and calls the batter out for not running. The defense accepted it, saying it didn't really change anything (but said they thought it was wrong to make that call). I think it did change things, as they had an easy double play due to the batter not running it out. I know what this would be in any other league, baseball or softball, just not too familiar with Senior rules yet.
Dec. 6, 2020
fresnomdn
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: the catch rule??

Good call. It's a catch. If the runner had reached 1st before he held it in his hand or glove, not an out. He didn't actually 'catch' it until he held it in his hand.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners