https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: Dbax, Golfman, Papa Murph; 86 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Bigtimer40


Real name:

Location:
Kerrville, TX

Division:

Messages posted by Bigtimer40 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Jan. 24, 2023
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: un-coordinated 2nd baseman

There was no chance for a DP. So i just let the play stand as 1 out at 2nd base.
Jan. 24, 2023
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: un-coordinated 2nd baseman

Last week we had Runner on 1st, ball was a normal grounder hit to 2nd baseman. fielder as he attempting to field the ball falls forward, runner stops as to not make contact. Fielder from his belly tosses the ball to the SS at 2nd for the out. Meanwhile, runner attempts to hop over the 2nd baseman as he is getting up and falls. Instantly, the 1st base coach/manager starts yelling "Obstruction" and letting me know the fielder should have gotten out of the way. I call time and have a short conversation with the field umpire and we both agree it was a good no call! Would you have made a different call?
Sept. 9, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: runner interference

I agree with BJ on this one. The ball is still considered a batted ball and if the 2nd baseman has a chance to make a play the runner must make all attempts to avoid the collision. The only time you could have an obstruction call is if there are 2 fielders attempting a play on the same ball, it is the umpire's judgment as to which player has the best chance of fielding that ball. If the runner runs into the fielder that doesn't have the best chance in the umpire's judgement, then OBS is called.
Sept. 9, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter interference

@Mikelmart....In your scenario, I believe as a baserunner on a base that I could maintain my safe position on a base and allow for a fielder to have a fair chance at a ball. So what I'm looking for is if he is making an effort to allow for the fielder to make a fair play on a ball. In our league there is avoid contact at all costs rule implemented, so if a baserunner steps off a bag to allow for a fielder to make a fair catch, im not calling him for being tagged out if that happens. Unless he was actually trying to advance.
Sept. 9, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter interference

The ball was in fair territory about 3ft in front of the strike mat the entire play. Once the ball was batted into fair territory he became a Batter-Runner, had he started towards first base the catcher would have had an easy play on the catch. I called interference as he made no adjustment on his position. His argument was that he was hoping it would bounce foul, which it never did. That right there confirmed my call as he should have been on his way to 1st.

Sept. 8, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter interference

Batter hits a fair fly ball that is catchable by the catcher. While attempting to field the ball catcher runs into the batter who hasn't left the batters box because he was hoping it would bounce foul. I have Batter interference/Out, no runners advance. What's your call?
July 13, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Foul Tip

I do know that our league adopted the rule: There is no “Foul Tip”. Any pitched ball that contacts the bat and is caught by the catcher results in the batter being out.

Im not sure if this was amended in the rule book or not.
July 13, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Are we playing Soccer or Baseball

Had a couple instances last night:

First was a overthrown ball from outfield to infield, pitcher runs and is not going to be able to glove the ball, so he extends his leg to stop the ball with his foot.

Second...Basically the same scenario but with a ground ball in a gap in the outfield that a fielder is chasing after.

Neither time was the ball put out of play. Are both of these legal touches by the fielders?
May 20, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Commitment line on a tag up.

the commitment line violation isn't an out until it is recrossed is what i understand. So as long as the player doesn't recross it to retreat back to second, he is not out until the bag is touched?
May 19, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Commitment line on a tag up.

Had a situation come up this week. Zero outs runners on 1st and 2nd. Deep fly ball to left field that everyone including the runner on 2nd was for sure clearing the fence. Ball is caught at the fence, runner from 2nd has passed the commitment line and was almost to the scoring line. Runner on first played it smart and went bag for the tag up and headed towards second and stopped within inches of it. Ball comes in Shortstop touches second, runner from 1st immediately puts his foot on the bag. Runner from 2nd just stood around the commitment line and watched it. My call: i signal out as soon as the fly ball is caught, I then signal an out for the runner that missed the tag up at second, and the runner from 1st to second is safe. The question here is, when was the runner from 2nd actually out? When he crossed the commitment line, or when the base he failed to tag up from was touched? When should the base have been available to the runner from 1st without being able to be put out?
May 12, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Hitting the Gap

That is how we have been calling it. It was argued that it was from the last base touched as time was called
May 12, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Hitting the Gap

On one of our fields the outfield fence sits on a hill and has a large gap under it. It is very often that a hard hit ball goes thru this gap and out of play. Usually when the fielder declares it out of play, a runner that was either on first has touched 2nd and was on his way to 3rd as well as a runner on 2nd already rounding 3rd. Is this a 2 base from the initial base they occupied or is a from the last base touched?
April 6, 2022
Bigtimer40
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: bases loaded but no advancement

Had a situation last night where bases were loaded zero outs. Ground ball to third baseman, the runner on third doesn't ever leave the bag to run home, 3r baseman fields it touches third base, but also tags the guy running from second to third. whats the call?
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners