http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 47 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Garocket


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 55

Messages posted by Garocket »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, Aug. 18, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Associations
Discussion: Unfavorable weather conditons......

Our league for years played with a 4-3 count no extra foul, We had a 1 hour finish the inning if needed. Never got more than 5 innings in. Maybe 6 every now and then.

Went to a 1-1 count no extra foul and we almost always play 7 innings. May 1 or two games a year goes only 6 innings. I think the scores have went up a little as players are ready to hit and do not get themselves in a hole and have to swing at bad pitches.

With a 4-3 count most games was like 13-15 or 14-12. No games are like 18-19 or 21-24 and we play them in less than an hour.
, May 31, 2016
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Pay to play a quality tournament

Just you I guess.
So each player has to pay $90.00 on Sunday or is that the team?
, March 15, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Open inning ruling

Lots of tournaments in this area are going to round robin pools with either single elimination brackets are a 1 one winner take all between the top two teams from separate pools.

Seems to be the wave of the future. States and Nationals seems to be the only ones with true double elimination brackets.

This is young boy ball and I am sure if they had senior tournaments it would be the same.
, March 9, 2016
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: How is this scored #2

This should clear all questions up:

a. First, identify the proper batter (the player who failed to bat in his spot in the lineup) and call that player out.

b. Next, you must nullify any action that resulted from the improper batter's at-bat. If the improper batter is on base, send him back to the dugout. If other runners advanced as a result of his at-bat, return those runners to the base they occupied when the improper batter advanced. However, if a runner advanced by stealing a base during the improper at-bat, that runner's steal stands.

c. Finally, call the next batter to the plate. The next proper batter is the batter whose spot in the lineup follows that of the proper batter who failed to bat in turn, whom you've just called out. Often, this is the improper batter that you've just sent back to the dugout. Note that if the batter now due up is in fact on base, then you simply pass over him and move to the next batter in the batting order.

Important: If the improper batter's at-bat results in his being put out, and if the defense then appeals the batting order infraction, that put-out is nullified. The defense gets the out from the batting out of order infraction, but they don't get that out and the improper batter's put-out. Taking it one step further, if the improper batter's at-bat results in a double-play, an appeal of the infraction nullifies both of those outs. In short, a defensive manager is wise to know this rule well, since sometimes it's best to just leave well enough alone. (We have more to say about this in a section below.)

Note: When penalites are applied for batting out of order, the player penalized is not the player who batted out of order, but rather the player who failed to bat in his proper spot in the lineup. In that sense, "batting out of order" is a misnomer; it is more accurate to say "failing to bat in the proper order."

, March 9, 2016
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: How is this scored #2

1st scenario B is not out, A would be counted out for not batting
, March 7, 2016
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: How is this scored #2

B94 in your scenario, once a pitch has been thrown to A there can be no appeal. C would come to the plate with 1 ball no strike count. If caught before the pitch then A would be out for not batting. You do not penalize the batter for batting out of order. You penalize the person for not batting
, Dec. 17, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: volleyball question

This is what I found on the Volleyball rules:
3.2 Contacted ball: A player who contacts the ball shall be considered as playing the ball.
******3.3 Contact of the ball with the body: The ball may be hit with any part of the body above the waist and still be in play. If it hits below the waist it is a foul. The ball cannot come to rest visibly on the body.

, Dec. 17, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: volleyball question

All jokes aside and all of them are pretty dang good.
I would say yes it is legal. What rule did it break?
The smasher did have contact by another player between smashes. I do not think he could carry it with his head LOL
, Nov. 20, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Tim's Appeal Denied

Most people would look at the top of the page. That is where it is listed. Tim there is a simple solution to this. If you do not like the rules that SSUSA has put forth then go play elsewhere.
That's about as simple as anyone can put it.
, Nov. 5, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Use Ladies ball

Mizzou!!!!! you are kidding right.

We play one tournament a year on a baseball field with 11 defensive players in young men's ball. 10 homerun limit per team. The 10 is always met.
The fence is 340 down the lines and 390 to center and that women's ball goes over the lights sometimes.
OH and by the way we but a net in front of the pitcher to save his life. Sounds like you have thrown it but let a power hitter hit one back at you when you are pitching, I would bet you would no longer request the women's ball to be used in men's play.
, Oct. 21, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Why is this rule not enforced??

Enforcing the box to me is very important. As a pitcher for over 20 years I can tell you it is very important.
Why should the batter get all the breaks. If a pitcher does not pitch it 6 foot high or over 12 he gets penalized. But the batter can get out of the batters box and that is ok?

I know if there is a box it lets me work batters to my advantage. I know that with 2 strikes I can pitch to that low inside corner and hope to either get a grounder to the 3rd baseman or a foul out. Keep the power hitter low and him hitting a grounder is a better percentage pitch. But without a box he will step up so the pitch will be up in his power zone, when he is out of the box to hit bombs.

The box was put in to level the playing field to the pitcher, just like the 6-12 foot arc was put in to level the playing field back to the batter.
When one is enforced and not the other that puts a team to a disadvantage.
When you do not enforce one rule because some batters do not like it or is hard to enforce, that is BS.

I do not like the rule that a ball that tips off the glove and goes over is a 4 base error. That keeps a good defensive player from trying to make a great play at the fence. But it is a rule so I live with it.

Any one that thinks the batters box rule is a bad rule is not a good hitter. A good hitter can hit pitches that are not his best position for a hit. Maybe not a homerun, like he would if he takes 1 step or 2 and be out of the box that marginal pitch becomes a meat pitch. Hell every body can hit meat pitches. The good hitters can hit marginal pitches when it is late in the count and he has to put it in play.
, Oct. 16, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Major 40+ Brackets

Dave you forgot the 37 sets of Rings

I have been involved in rental at vegas before. Until you go there and see the prices you would be floored at the coat.
I checked on just one complex Arroya Grande for 2 days. Almost 3 thousand dollars Can you imagine about 18 complexes for 2 1/2 weeks. I have heard Big League is about twice what Arroya Grande is. Do they make money YOU BET THEY DO but with as many hours as the home office spends getting prepared for this event it they are not getting rich by no means
, Aug. 3, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

Nancy, it has nothing to do with wheels. What I am talking about the ball goes to the outfield before it hits the ground.
The guys in my area will take a rope and make about a 20 ft circle about 30 ft behind the 2nd bas man and practice on stopping the bat but the ball will go about 15 ft into the air and drop in that circle. But they did not take a full swing. You still going to call that a dead ball out on your field.
, Aug. 3, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A FULL SWING

The full swing can get an umpire in trouble. Here in the southeast we have what we call Judy hitters. They stop the bat half way thru the swing and ding it about 30 feet over either the 2nd base mans head or just over the 3rd base mans head. most times about 20 or 30 feet into the grass. If an umpire call them out for that you would have to call the National Guard in to break up the argument that would take place.
Just kidding about the National Guard but I think you get where I am going with this. Some things you just have to leave up to the umpires judgement.

If umpires would just call bunts and clear chopping down of the ball. and let the rest take care of itself.
, July 13, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: VEGAS FIELDS

For years either Pepsi or Coke gave the scoreboards away and paid to have them serviced. Now neither does that. They do not even install them or pay to keep them up. The old bulb scoreboards use powerpacks that go out very easy. In our area we have a company that comes out but it is $150.00 service call plus $90.00 per hour labor plus parts. The powerpacks are around $60.00 each. With them going out quite easy. A four field complex should budget around $5000 per year for scoreboard service in the budget. Most parks cut that out very quickly. The new LED scoreboards cost about $4900 each and that does not count installation. They are pretty efficient but parks do not want to spend that $25,000 to put them in. But once they are in they are good for years
, June 30, 2015
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: texas state championships

Guys why don't you ask SSUSA to do the brackets, All you are looking at is your bracket and to heck with the other teams. If they let you do the brackets you would take care of your bracket and to heck with everyone else regardless to how many games you had to play in a day.
Lets say they let your six team tournament play the two pool games on the first day. Then start the 3 game bracket and play one game in bracket. You get beat in your first bracket game then on Sunday you would have to play 7 games back to back to win the tournament. NOW that sounds like a bunch of fun
, June 18, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: courtesy runner

I would have to agree with SSUSA Staff. When a rule is not specifically covered in the rule book go with common sense. There was no advantage /disadvantage in this scenario, so let the batter runner get back on the base and game continue.

Trying to get an out in this situation is pretty lame.



, June 17, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: courtesy runner

Page 42 says this
H. No runner may return to touch a missed base or one left illegally once he
enters his dugout or bench area.

Now you would have to decide did he leave the base illegal because he had no runners? if so then he would be out.
That specifically is not in the rule book.

, June 17, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: foul

In slow pitch it should not.
This rule is a fast pitch and baseball rule. I guess back many years ago they rules makers figured that if the ball went straight from the bat to the glove then the catcher had a chance to throw the base runner out.

ASA define the rule a few years ago to read a ball that does not go directly from the bat to the glove is a foul ball and if caught it would be a foul ball caught and an out. nothing about going higher than the batters head. If the ball was fouled back and the catcher had to dive an catch it then it is an out. Nothing about higher than the batters head is mentioned.

Pretty easy if it is not a foul tip by definition than it has to be a foul ball. And I always thought a caught foul ball is an out LOL
, June 17, 2015
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: foul

BJ you are correct but any fly ball that is caught really is not fair or foul only caught over one of the two territories. Any ball that is caught is a caught ball for an out. If caught over foul territory it is never called a foul just an out. I know I am splitting hairs and you are correct in the concept of playing the game.
What I was really trying to say is in slow pitch the definition of foul tip never really comes into affect in Slow Pitch. In slow pitch a foul tip is just another strike. with two strikes is would be an out because it would be a 3rd strike foul.
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners