http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 6 members: Cutter45, Young48, bond_171513, curtiss, k man, sthomas1973; 81 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Garocket


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 55

Messages posted by Garocket »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, April 10, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Tournament seeding

So ftroop you are saying if you are if your team draws two weak teams and I draw two strong teams then you should still get the advantage of being home if I play your team. THat does not even sound fair
, April 10, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Hot box

I have been to many umpire schools and was always told that Home is the only base that you cannot return to. All others you can. but if you go back to first and standing on first with the runner that just hit the ball the defense can either throw it to second or touch you even if you are on the base and you are out.
, March 18, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two bases from release of throw or one base from the base last touched

The ASA and ISA and NSA rule is the easiest to follow any throw that goes into dead ball area
( All runners are awarded 2 bases from where they are at the time the ball is released). Remember you do not have a base made until you have touched it
Scenerio: Batter hits the ball to the right fielder slow batter but runner on 1st is a rabbit, the runner on 1st has passed 2nd as the right fielder tries to throw the runner out at 1st and the throw goes over the 1st baseman's head into dead ball area, The runner that had passed 2nd base would get home and the batter-runner would get 2nd.
Easiest rule to enforce.
, March 18, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the only situation where, after the play is over that a "do over" or "mulligan" can be implemented? (at least that I'm aware of)

You are correct BJ in Senior Softball I looked it up and it says only catcher can wear a mitt. Not sure about the penalty. The old ASA was the Offense had the option of taking the play or the batter getting to bat again.
, March 18, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the only situation where, after the play is over that a "do over" or "mulligan" can be implemented? (at least that I'm aware of)

Not sure about seniors but in ASA and ISA and fielder can use a glove or mitt. Changed about 5-6 years ago
, March 15, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: INTERFERENCE PENALTY

B.J you are correct in the ruling above but remember in ASA it states if interference by a runner THAT HAS ALREADT been put out, Then the runner closet to home is called out. In the scenario above the runner going to second was already out and by all other associations other than SSUSA the runner closet to home is also called out. Unless the umpire calls SSUSA only about 90% of the umpires will miss this call in the heat of the game.

, March 8, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: TOC 2017

I think only 5 of those fields are big enough for adult softball
, Feb. 6, 2017
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: All you rule experts: Need your input..

I went to the 2017 USSSA Rule book and could not find what the ruling on ball hitting the runner on base but did see two things
1 was dead ball if it hits a runner or umpire if before it passes a fielder
and live ball if it touches either after passing a fielder.
Just could not find out anything on when a runner is on base that gets hit and what the effect was?
, Nov. 17, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

In the above the R! went to third
Sorry
, Nov. 17, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rules

Coop better look that on up cause you are wrong. The runner his assumed to have touched the bag once he passes it. If the 1st baseman or any player says he missed the base and the 1st baseman is standing on the base he would be declared out unless he had already returned to the base.

Think about it this way. If a runner is on 1st and the batter hits a single R1 misses 2nd base, no one except the umpire seen it, and the outfielder throws it to second and the 2nd baseman is standing on second nobody says anything the umpire does not call him out without an appeal. WHY because once a runner passes a bag he has assumed to have touched it unless there is an appeal. Same at first.


, Nov. 15, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: BATTERS BOX


Just found this on a baseball site, would assume it would be the same in softball.

See 8.4.1B -- if either foot is entirely out of the batter's box, then the batter is out if hit by a fair batted ball

, Nov. 15, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: BATTERS BOX

If t he foot that touches the ball and the ball and foot is outside the batters box he would be called out. The other foot has no bearing. NOW remember the foot and the ball both have to be in fair territory out side of the batters box.
, Nov. 14, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: BATTERS BOX

If any part of his body (usually the foot)touches the ball while the foot and ball is outside the batters box and over fair territory he would be called out. If the ball and batter is still in the batters box it would be a dead ball>foul ball call.
, Oct. 26, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rule clarification II

But still in limbo, because SSUSA does not say what to do about any outs recorded during the batting out of order only about advancement of runners.

I think SSUSA says if not covered in their rule book revert back to ASA?

Isn't that true ?
, Oct. 26, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rule clarification II

BUT

This is what I found on an ASA site

COMMONLY OCCURRING ASA SOFTBALL RULES AND POINTS OF EMPHASIS
BATTING OUT OF ORDER
If a batter bats out of order, this is an appeal play, which must be brought to the umpire's attention. If it is detected while the incorrect batter is at bat, the correct batter assumes the count and all plays made will stand. If it is detected after the incorrect batter has completed their turn at bat and before the next pitch (legal or illegal), the improper batter’s time at bat is negated, the batter who should have batted is out, any advance or score made because of the improper batter's advance is negated, runners not called out must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch, however runners put out on the play remain out. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. If the error is discovered after the first pitch to the next batter, the turn at bat of the incorrect batter is legal, all runs scored and bases run are legal and the next batter shall be the one whose name follows that of the incorrect batter. No one is called out for failure to bat. No base runner shall be removed from a base to bat in his/her proper place. They merely miss their turn at bat with no penalty.


So who do we believe ? LOL

, Oct. 26, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rule clarification II

Retraction
I also found another rule that says all runners return to the base before the pitch and you would only get the batting out of order out
, Oct. 26, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rule clarification II

B.J.
Do you really think I am that smart LOL

I copied and pasted the rule from rule book.

Google batting out of turn after an out
, Oct. 26, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: rule clarification II

Not as easy as you might think

Rule
If a batter bats out of order, this is an appeal play, which must be brought to the umpire's attention. If it is detected while the incorrect batter is at bat, the correct batter assumes the count and all plays made will stand. If it is detected after the incorrect batter has completed their turn at bat and before the next pitch (legal or illegal), the improper batter’s time at bat is negated, the batter who should have batted is out, any advance or score made because of the improper batter's advance is negated, runners not called out must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch, however runners put out on the play remain out. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. If the error is discovered after the first pitch to the next batter, the turn at bat of the incorrect batter is legal, all runs scored and bases run are legal and the next batter shall be the one whose name follows that of the incorrect batter. No one is called out for failure to bat. No base runner shall be removed from a base to bat in his/her proper place. They merely miss their turn at bat with no penalty.


So in you play the runner at that scored would be put back at third and not count, The two outs that were made on the play are still credited and the batter that was suppose to bat is out. 3 outs no body scored the batter that did not bat misses his at bat that round and whoevers name that is listed after the batter that did not bat leads off the next inning

, Oct. 17, 2016
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Speed up rules

Think what you want but the 1-1 count will give you at least 1 extra inning 90% of the time. You have to relize 1-2 minutes of time equates to an extra inning a lot of times

Example time runs out with 2 outs in bottom of 5th you play the open inning as the 6th. If you get that out before the two minutes is up you play the 6th inning and the 7th would be the open inning
, Oct. 15, 2016
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Umpire Hit by a Batted Ball

The pitcher is not considered an infielder in this situation unless he touches the ball
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners