https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 231 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stever


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 65

Messages posted by stever »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

April 5, 2018
stever
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Still waiting for a rational answer

Becasue a 60 Major is equivalent to a 65 Major Plus and you can't play down two classifications (to AAA). Simple.
Feb. 23, 2018
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: RULES MADE TO BE BROKEN?

I'm tired of hearing all the complaining about ratings. Does SSUSA get it right 100% of the time. Obviously, no. But the "conspiracy" theories out there are asinine. I have been playing SSUSA and SPA for over 20 years. In those 20+ years I have sponsored teams and have managed teams. In those 20+ years I have occasionally received calls from SSUSA asking my opinion about teams SSUSA was considering moving up or down. Is SSUSA perfect? Absolutely not, but to imply they have an agenda other than trying to provide the most level playing field possible is nothing but self-serving, ego-based whining. Each of us is basing our views on a small sub-set of data compared to what SSUSA has. None of us have the data base they have. Yes, we all have opinions (and you know what opinions are) and we should ask questions when we don't understand a decision. But stop the vitriol when you don't get the answer you think you should. By the way, I hear the same complaints in SPA. Does that mean it is an industry-wide conspiracy to screw people?
Jan. 23, 2018
stever
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Critical read on utilizing engineering & physics while selecting your new senior bat

You forgot to factor in age and physical conditioning! Not to mention whether you are right or left handed. Need to start over.
Nov. 12, 2017
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

B.J. Agreed. I was trying to point out that this type of contact did not entitle the base runner to advance to 2nd just because he was headed in that direction when the play occurred (regardless of the association).
Nov. 11, 2017
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

You might add that just because a runner runs into a fielder does not necessary constitute obstruction. For example, a batter gets a clean hit to center field. The fielder is playing shallow and get the ball back in quickly. The batter-runner rounds first and runs into the first baseman. There was no realistic chance of him going to second because the ball is already on its way back in when he runs into the first baseman. In that case, it is incidental contact and not obstruction.
Oct. 10, 2017
stever
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: The Rock.

You know what they say about opinions. Use of the rock has been bantered around this forum many times. Many people have been vocal about it being more dangerous than other balls, but none of them have been able to give any statistics to back up their assertions. I like the rock because it is a much more consistent performer in all weather conditions than any other ball I know of. It has nothing to do with "ego" as many of the naysayers will say when trying to disparage the rock. Until someone comes up with statistics that prove the rock is more dangerous than other balls I take their protestations with a grain of salt.
Aug. 23, 2017
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Players with the same number on a team

I agree that numbering helps in the CR situation. But I also doubt if they were trying to gain an advantage and think making a big deal about it is contrary to sportsmanship. What about in cold weather when people wear jackets over their jerseys? Can't see the numbers then. Yes, it is not according to the rules but, as Dave said, this rule is an administrative rule not a competition rule. Why can't you just try to beat them on the field instead of playing "gotcha"?
Aug. 7, 2017
stever
Topic: Website comments
Discussion: MONEY

No, Wolfman. You are not an investor in the company. You are paying for a service. SSUSA does all the work to set up and run the tournaments. You pay them a fee for doing so. If you don't like the product they are providing or don't feel you are getting the appropriate value for your money you have the choice not to use their services. It is no different than any other market (movie, hotel, restaurant, etc.). You have the freedom to decide whether or not to use the services but you DO NOT have a right to know their financial workings.
June 26, 2017
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What is the correct call?

Garocket is right. Though most think of this as a force out, it is actually an appeal play.
Feb. 8, 2017
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter Throwing a Bat

When I was in high school our coach taught us to always toss the bat a couple of steps down the first base line after we hit the ball. That way it was no danger to a play around the plate or the catcher or umpire. Drilled that into us and I would be willing to bet any of my teammates still playing are still doing it that way. I know I do it without even thinking. This player can learn a new habit if he is so motivated. If not, then perhaps he doesn't need to be playing because of his disregard for other players safety.
Oct. 6, 2016
stever
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: 2016 LVSSA/SSUSA WORLD MASTERS CHAMPIONSHIPS

1st KC Kids; 2nd Sidewinders; 3rd Auto Accessories
Sept. 4, 2016
stever
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Question

Two comments...
While I don't agree with what he did, he has every right to do so. But instead of facilitating a dIscussion of the issues he is trying to highlight the focus has becOme an attack on him.
Secondly, I am disgusted at the hypocrisy of people. Go to any sports venue and you will see thousands of people sitting, or talking, or walking around and ignoring the National Anthem. At least CK believes there is a reason behind his actions.
Aug. 22, 2016
stever
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Vegas Worlds

Plus, there are four tournament sessions and the entry deadline has not passed for any of them. Obviously, SSUSA will work on the sessions in the order they occur. 65's is the third session...and the only one that plays during the week, which means it has to compete for fields with leagues. Sure, it would be nice to know the fields and game times well in advance but the logistics for this tournament are staggering and the 65's are still 5 weeks out. Besides, as Omar says, none of them are really that far.
Aug. 22, 2016
stever
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Las Vegas Worlds

If you have someone who has a players club card from a casino (and used it quite a bit) have him call and ask for the casino host. The object of the players club cards are to track the big spenders. For those, they will bend over backwards to get them to come back. The sole object of a casino is to get people to spend money on the floor. If you aren't spending money they have no reason to give you comps or discounts. I speak from experience...I work at a casino.
April 4, 2016
stever
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Shawnee tourney

Let's face it, for some it's all about "me" and what I can get, not about the competition. The way I look at it, if it wasn't for the tournament organizers we wouldn't be playing.
Feb. 26, 2016
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Thrown Glove Makes Contact with Batted Ball

If a batted ball is contacted by a thrown glove all runners are automatically awarded three bases. If a thrown ball is contacted by a thrown glove all runners are awarded two bases.
Sept. 9, 2014
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Baserunner Retreating

Stop and think about the umpires decision. What is a baserunner doing in a rundown? Ans: retreating to avoid a tag. Obviously, this umpire doesn't know the rules. Garocket is correct.
July 17, 2014
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Using SSUSA Staff logic, if a fielder touches a ball BEFORE it passes first or third base and then it subsequently rolls foul it would be called a foul ball. Obviously, no one will agree to this. However, the base line is the inside of the bags; therefore, if a ball hits first or third base at least a portion of the ball has crossed the baseline and no matter where it ends up after that it is a fair ball. I usually can agree with SSUSA Staff on rules, but this time I think they are very, very wrong. If they are going to insist on this interpretation they are going to be the only organization, baseball, fast pitch, or slow pitch that interprets it this way. Rule 122D has no caveat that what happens after a ball hits the base decides whether it is a fair or foul ball. It just says it is a fair ball.
July 15, 2014
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Staff. Your answer on July 15 stating that a ball that hits the bag and bounds back toward home plate would be a foul ball is in direct conflict with the SSUSA rule book, as stated by Mr Ed. Rule 1.22D SPECIFICALLY says that any ball that strikes first, second or third base is a fair ball. That was not the original question, though. The original question was whether it was a fair or foul ball and whether it was a live or dead ball. According to rule 8.2.C.1, a baserunner cannot be declared out if hit by a fairly batted ball while in contact with a base and the ball is live. So, in answer to the original question by Paul P, the runner is not out and the determination of whether it is a fair or foul ball is determined by the ball position when it strikes the runner. If it struck the runner while it was over fair territory it is a fair ball and is live, according to rule 8.2.C.1. If it struck the runner over foul territory it is a foul ball.
June 2, 2014
stever
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Correct Call???

According to rule 8.4(1), "the defensive player may use either portion of the double bag to record a put out (once the batter runner becomes a base runner). Using this interpretation, if a runner is on first base when a line drive is caught by an infielder, the first baseman can use either the orange or white base to record the put out before the runner gets back. Unfortunately, that was not the interpretation the two umpires in our game made at the LVSSA/SSUSA tournament in Las Vegas. Their interpretation was the first baseman MUST touch the white base.

SSUSA Staff - were they right or is the rule to be interpreted as written?
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners