https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Chief144, J. C.; 180 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Wayne 37


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 60

Messages posted by Wayne 37 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

April 29, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on first base

Dang, I've never heard of a ruleset where a runner being hit with a batted ball, unless it has passed an infielder of course, isn't an automatic dead ball. All runners return to their last legally occupied base at time of interference.

Maybe posters should start stating what ruleset they're playing under.

I'm sending them back to where they came from, taking the runner struck off the bases and awarding B/R first base.

April 29, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

Dave and others......where does it state SPECIFICALLY what is interference in the rule? It says in the umpire's judgment.

Anyone ever heard of the term, deliberant indifference. It means for the most part, failure to do nothing results in something. And not something good either. Here I have a case of deliberant indifference.

How am I misapplying a rule when nowhere does the rule give a definition of what or what isn't interference? Umpire judgement is what it clearly states.

Be it duly noted that if my judgement of interference doesn't necessarily jive with yours, it is still my call to make.

I can guarantee you that as TD, you would have to find somebody to replace me for the rest of the tournament.

It would behoove the SSUSA rules committee to clean up the language in their ruleset on this one. It basically punishes the defense in the interpretation of some as to what does and doesn't constitute intentional or unintentional. Interference, most of the time is unintentional.

I'm not taking the little island in a vast sea away from the defense unless I JUDGE the collision to be unintentional.
April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner can advance

B.J. writes: yes but then it becomes as wayne says.. awarded bases (3) or 4 if the umpire thinks it would have cleared the fence.

And if you judge the ball would have cleared the fence you would award 4 bases, but I can't judge if a runner standing and not moving when they have every opportunity to do so is not interference.............hmmm.

One of those 4 base awards that slipped past ya earlier.
April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner can advance

Since you can't answer the question, I'll give you the answer.

1) A batted ball that lands in fair territory that isn't caught.
2) A batted ball that is touched over fair territoy while is in the air and runner tags
3) A batted ball over foul territory where the runner tags up when the ball is caught.



April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

It is certainly safe to say some people don't mind getting trampled on and add the risk of injury to themselves as a runner or fielder.

Me, I'm getting out of the way and maintaining contact with base.

April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on first base

Stick8, I'm asking when a runner is forced to advance when a runner is struck with a fair batted ball in the scenario of the original post?
April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner can advance

Dave, I will accept your answer as it pertains to a fair batted ball. What would be the other two?
April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner can advance

Smoke, the first two you mentioned are dead ball awards. I'm looking for on a live ball. The third one is acceptable in two of the ways though.
April 28, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

You don't have to close it, Dave. Others might want to chime in. I simply have the runner impeding the fielder by not moving while in contact with the base. I'm not a mind reader, so I as the umpire, am going to make his mind up for him.

I don't why some can't see that yes there is a small window where the runner can move, but in that small window, especially where the ball was coming down a foot or more in fair territory, the runner could have VERY EASILY afforded the fielder the opportunity to catch the ball.

My judgment, my call and one I can live with.
April 27, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner can advance

What are the three situation a base runner can advance on a fly ball?
April 27, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on first base

stick8, what scenario would a baserunner be force to advance in SSUSA?
April 27, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

Here is the thing. Baseball rules are often worded poorly. This one of them. Some of you are sure that just standing on the base and not moving.........IS NOT INTERFENCE BY THE RUNNER WHEN CONTACT IS MADE.............UH-HUH!!!!

Hence............It says the if the interefence isn't INTENTIONAL WHILE IN CONTACT WHILE IN CONTACT WITH THE BASE!!!!!

Any and every time a runner contacts a fielder is INTERFERENCE...........IT DOESN'T MATTER IF THE RUNNER IS TOUCHING A BASE...........it is the umpire's JUDGMENT if the runner interfered..........BUT ONLY IN THIS INSTANCE. All bets are off expect in this rare scenario.

The base is not a "safe haven". The runner can still keep a foot, hand or whatever you people want to come up with and maintain contact with the base. a base and avoid contact. I've never said

If you are taught to "keep your eye on the ball", perhaps you might want to move when the ball is coming at you.......because that is where the fielder is going. If you can't without keeping contact with the base, you are more than a likely paraplebic or a three toe sloth.

And yes, standing like a statue and not allowing the fielder to catch the ball is INTERFERENCE. He doesn't move to my satisfaction, he is going to be called OUT!

I don't need to know when a batter/runner becomes a runner either. Not relevant to the conversation anyway.

And lb16, you apparently don't know that if a runner is struck with a batted ball while on a base, the runner is OUT unless the ball and runner are over foul territory when struck...moron

I would suggest if you can, acquire a copy of Official Baseball Rules-Annotated. I have one and it is put away in a safe deposit box about 2 1/2 hours away. In that book former AL MLB umpire Jim Evans throughly points out after great research, errors in the rules of baseball as written. At the time of the publication, there were 237 errors and that was over 30 years ago. I believe with additional digging over the years, he got up to 275.

Another good manual to have is the Jaksa/Roder manual. It is written and kept currant by Chris Jaksa and Rick Roder who are former professional umpires.

Thank you for your time and partronage
April 26, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

Dearest lb16,

Batted ball hits runner on base, the runner is out if the they are hit when the ball is in fair territory. But you knew that already. Probably not!!!!

B.J. ~ I understand what you are saying, however in the situation in the game I referenced. the fielder, runner and ball came together all in one nanosecond. As to where the ball was when all this happened, it was over fair territory just inside of the left of the base.

By never moving at all, I would say the intent was there whether the runner knew it or not. Vacate space to me here means, vacate the space and at the same time remain in contact with the bag.

In my judgment, the runner has interfered by not even making an attempt to move when they could have easily done so.

Sometimes you just have to umpire.

April 25, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Dead ball ground rule double situation.

I can see the ball being dead in slow pitch due to the no steal rule and the ball doesn't really become live until it is put into play.

Side question for slow pitch. Does the batter have to take their place in the batter's box before giving the intentional walk? And is that what makes the ball live again?

I forgot to add that the defense loses their right to appeal after the second intentional walk is given as that constitutes a pitch.
April 25, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Jason Branch teaches Hitting Mechanics, Power and Place Hitting. SM#71

Reggie Jackson used to roll his front foot over like that, but most often it was a swinging strike. Frank Thomas used to hit with his front foot flat and virtually no weight on the back foot. Whatever works in slow pitch.
April 25, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Dead ball ground rule double situation.

Technically, you have to wait until the first batter being walked has reached 1B before you are allowed to walk the next batter intentionally. Also, intentional walks aren't a dead ball. Ball shouldn't have been made live to begin with.

Here I say everyone got some valuable experience. Experience is often a mistake you don't make twice, hopefully.

You're right for the most part k man.........play on, McDuff.
April 25, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner's right to the base

In reply to your post, 1b16, I posted the definition of interference from the SSUSA rulebook.

It reads as such:

DEFINITIONS: 1.45 INTERFERENCE.

Interference is the act of an offensive player or team member that impedes or confuses the defensive player attempting to execute a play. A base runner MUST avoid a fielder making a play.

I did send an email to my former high school assignor. His take was the fielder always has the right of way when fielding a batted ball, fair or foul. No attempt to avoid contact equals interference. Bang them both out unless two outs and then only the batter is out.

And to answer other scenarios up the thread. You cannot get a triple play on this. Interference is an immediate dead ball.

Never said the runner had to step off the base, just allow the fielder the attempt at a play. The fielder goes where the ball takes them. Runner needs to make an effort to avoid contact. Whether they hold the base or not is their decision. It has nothing to do with intent. If the runner is making a valid attempt to avoid contact and still maintain the bag, I would definitely say that was "unintentional".
April 24, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Jason Branch teaches Hitting Mechanics, Power and Place Hitting. SM#71

All I see him doing is bringing the knob of the bat (hands) down to the ball and then snapping his wrists right before he makes contact with a little uppercut, or hitting bottom half of the ball. Great for taking an outside pitch the opposite way with a more level swing for sure.

Bat speed + Hand/eye coordination.

April 24, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Dead ball ground rule double situation.

B.J. ~ you can't award four bases without it being a HR even if it doesn't count against a teams homerun count. You just can't.

For hit and sit purposes, it qualifies as a HR.

April 24, 2018
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner on first base

No judgment of interference is necessary. Batted ball hit runner, ball is immediately dead and B/R awarded 1B.
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners