Online now: 1 member: readytoplay
; 127 anonymous
Discussion: RULE 1.10 CATCH
|Aug. 1, 2013|
|RULE 1.10 CATCH|
thx for the SSUSA staff's answer on the question I posted on B/R IS OUT....and I have one more for you...Your definition of a CATCH which actually was changed in the 2011/12 rule book now says... RULE 1.10 CATCH....A catch is a legally caught ball that occurs when the fielder catches a batted or
thrown ball with his hand(s) or glove and the resulting release of the ball must be voluntary. NOTE: It is not a catch if a fielder, after he contacts the ball, collides with another player, umpire or a fence, or falls to the ground and loses possession of the ball as a result of the collision or falling to the ground. A ball that strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in flight, is ruled the same as if it struck the ground. An ILLEGALLY CAUGHT ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than his hand(s)or glove in the proper place. The old 2010 rule had an explanation on how to ESTABLISH a catch...say if a ball was cradled in the stomach area or if a thrown ball was was actually caught with an arm pit and then the fielder grasped the ball with his hand or glove this would then be considered a catch...the new rule (last sentence of catch rule)took all that out and made it cut and dry that a batted or thrown ball that is caught with ANYTHING other than the hand(s) or glove is now an ILLEGAL CATCH???? Why do you change a rule that is well written into one that allows for players and managers to now argue about.
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.