SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: J. C.; 109 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: scorer question

Posted Discussion
Feb. 22, 2014
Men's 60
154 posts
scorer question
how does the international tie breaker rule get scored in the book? Does it have a special designation? What if the first choice is injured, passing it on to the next batter, taking the out? Any ideas?
Feb. 22, 2014
2502 posts
For scoring purposes, the most frequently seen method is to put the runner on 2nd base in the scorebook with the notation "ITB". For rule application, the player who goes to 2nd base is the last batter of the previous inning when the third out was made. NOTE: The ITB rule is "batter" specific, so a substitution or courtesy runner is not allowed until that assigned ITB runner reaches 3rd base on his/her own ... The failure of the designated ITB to take 2nd base results in an out, and the next previous batter from the prior inning starts on 2nd base ... See Rulebook 5.4(2) at page 27 for further explanation.

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook