SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: 3RRR; 34 anonymous
Change topic:


Posted Discussion
May 17, 2014
35 posts
STAFF: if a game goes into extra innings and the offense forgets to put the last batter at 2nd and no one noticed until the first batter singled doesn't the offense forfeit that runner, is that correct? also what if just one pitch had been made can you then put runner on 2nd?
May 17, 2014
2504 posts
Neither of these hypothetical situations are going to be found in the SSUSA Official Rulebook, so common sense (which usually isn't all that common) should prevail ...

HYPO #1: Offense forfeits the runner, but is not assessed an out ... Any other approach would create unnecessary speculation/debate over what "would have happened" with the runner on 2nd when the single was hit ... HYPO #2: Umpire calls time and the proper runner is placed on 2nd base, under a "no harm-no foul" approach, to correct the oversight ...

In EITHER hypothetical, suggest asking the tournament director if (s)he briefed the umpires before the start on the application of the International Tie-Breaker Rule, and possibly ask why both managers missed it, too ...

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook