SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 24 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: a person running after he has been run for. Is it legal

Posted Discussion
June 13, 2014
Michigan Vet
Men's 65
252 posts
a person running after he has been run for. Is it legal
Happened a couple days ago. Batter gets a base hit. He reaches first and has someone run for him. Two batters latter he goes into game to run for someone else (in the same inning). My contention is (and not sure of rule) that a player can not be used as a runner when he himself was run for. I could be wrong, if I am please let me know.
June 13, 2014
2504 posts
MV ... Your contention is correct ...


A runner who is replaced with a courtesy runner may not be used as a courtesy runner for the remainder of the inning.

This is on page 48 of the Official SSUSA Rulebook

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook