Bases were loaded no out batter hits shot that hits runner at second while still on the bag, what is the call? thanks for your input
This came from dave on an earlier post
I agree..
"If the runner is hit with a fair batted ball while touching a base, he is not
out. EFFECT: The ball is live or dead depending on the position of the
fielder closest to the ball. If the closest defensive player is in front of
the base runner hit by the ball, the ball remains live. However, after the
runner in contact with the base is hit by the batted ball, it shall be the
same as hitting the ground. Since the ball remains live, the defense is
free to make whatever plays are available. If the defensive player is
behind the base runner, the ball is ruled dead, the hitter is awarded a
base hit and runners are advanced ONLY if forced to advance.
This is the complete answer.
OK!
So if the runner is standing on 2nd when hit, that means the runner was BEHIND the pitcher, a defensive player in front of the runner. The ball had to go past the pitcher. Unless the pitcher moved from the rubber after the pitch. What is the rule on that?
Thanks coop3636 ... Clean Up: The pitcher is not considered to be an "infielder" for purposes of the proper application of the rule ... The pitcher is a "defender", but not an "infielder" ...