http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 47 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: make the call

Posted Discussion
May 19, 2017
HAT MAN
Men's 40
112 posts
make the call
Question. SSUSA rules only

Playing around in league and this happened but no one knew the call.

Bases loaded 1 out ball popped up to 1st right near bag . Umpire called infield fly if fair. (correct call) runner on first steps of first to get in first baseman's way (playing) and ball hits runner in the leg and rolls away.

So we know the batter is out but is the runner at first out also? can the others advance as ball runs away? is it dead ball period? can the runner at first run after ball hit him?

May 19, 2017
k man
Men's 65
164 posts
Hat man, I am not an umpire but will take a stab at this one.
On a play where the batter hits a ball and strikes a runner not on base. The runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit and 1st base and other runners return to base but since the batter was called out for infield fly, inning ending 2 outs.
May 19, 2017
titanhd
Men's 55
454 posts
k man. With with "infield fly rule". Batter is out no matter what else occurs if "ball is fair." Runner can be called out for interference after "infield fly is called. Ball is dead and Other base runners may not advance if interference is called.
May 19, 2017
k man
Men's 65
164 posts
titan, Yes I am aware the batter is out, was just presenting from a runner hit by batted ball perspective (rather than interference) and then applying the infield fly rule. Interference can be umpires judgment whereas runner hit by batted ball should not be. But I think we both agree on the final outcome: 2 additional outs and end of inning.
May 19, 2017
B.J.
252 posts
in the scenario the batter is always out on the IF call ...if there was no interference ...it could be a live ball also depending on the position of the fielder... if the 1st baseman was attempting the catch in front of 1st base and the runner and missed it and the ball then bounced and hit the runner then it would be a live ball all runners can advance
May 20, 2017
stick8
1514 posts
Not having witnessed the play it's a judgement call by the ump if the runner that came off first interfered with the first baseman making a play. If the ump deemed interference then it's a dead ball,o no runners may advance.
May 22, 2017
HAT MAN
Men's 40
112 posts
thanks guys. As i said we were all laughing and it wasn't a serious game but wanted to know the rule.

To clarify I (1st baseman) was about a foot behind the 1st base bag and about 4 feet from the line. The ball was hit in the air about 40 feet high.
The ump called infield fly if fair then the runner stepped off the bag even with the ball coming down. I was behind him
Realizing the ball might hit him in the air I just stood there, the runner ducked and it hit him in the air on the calf then rolled away from me.
Ump ruled dead ball batter out I said no that's 2 outs it hit the runner who advanced on his own risk. which ultimately after the game lead to the question here.

May 22, 2017
grayhitter59
Men's 55
93 posts
first, question was the runner in fair territory? if so 2 outs are recorded. If runner is in foul territory then only one out, nothing else can happen. my understanding.

May 23, 2017
HAT MAN
Men's 40
112 posts
Gray
runner was in fair territory came off the bag a few feet and stood in front of me.
May 28, 2017
Wayne 37
Men's 60
353 posts
FYI ~ The base is not a "safe haven" if struck by a batted ball..........and runners shall not interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball even when in contact with a base.

Infield fly rule is to protect the runners and the ball is live and in play. Your umpire needs to learn from his mistake.
May 29, 2017
coop3636
237 posts
Grayhitter...If the runner was in foul territory, then it would be ZERO outs because it would NOT be an infield fly ruling. It would only be an out if the baserunner interfered with the defensive player (so he couldn't make the catch)

Wayne.. The base IS a "safe haven" If you are on the base and are hit with the ball, you are NOT out. If it is a pop fly over the base, you have the right to stand on the base and not move. (like a base coach in the coach's box)

Just my interpretation of the rule

Brett
May 29, 2017
titanhd
Men's 55
454 posts
coop 3636 the one thing you might want to check is "like a base coach in the coach's box" . The coaches box is not a safe haven if a fielder is attempting to make a play on a foul ball.
May 29, 2017
coop3636
237 posts
Hey Titan
If I am umpiring (which I did for many years)
If the coach moves out of the coach's box and runs into a fielder trying to catch a ball, its an out.
if the coach stays put in the coach's box and is in the way of the fielder, its not an out. (he has the right to stay put.
Its like a batter standing in the batters box of a pop up to the catcher, there is no interference.
Just my opinion.
If you can find it written differently in the rule book, please let me know
Brett
May 29, 2017
B.J.
252 posts
coop... a coach and a batter must move out of the way of a fielder attempting to make a play...the only safe haven is a runner on base...the runner does not have to abandon his base to allow a fielder to make a play... you wont find a rule in SSUSA book but here is the rule from ASA

RULE 7 - BATTING
Section 6. THE BATTER IS OUT.
I. When members of the team at bat, including those in the team area, other than runners interfere with a player attempting to field a fair or foul fly ball.
May 29, 2017
grayhitter59
Men's 55
93 posts
Brett (coop) ball was called in field fly rule if fair. If ball drifts foul and player makes the catch then one out. runner can only try to advance if caught and does so at his own risk, which then another out can result if a play is made on him,
May 29, 2017
titanhd
Men's 55
454 posts
If a coach is accidently hit by a thrown ballthen the ball is alive and inplay. However, if a coach interferes with a thrown ball the runner shall be out.

It is also required for the base coaches to leave any space that is needed by a fielder to field the ball. If a coach hinders a fielder's ability of fielding a ball the batter should be called out and the runners must return to the base they were last occupying before the play.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners