Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 3 members: Mick21, Still Got Wheels, Yogi8; 16 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call!

Runner on second base- 2 outs. Batter at plate. Umpire calls two strikes,the third pitch is called a ball.The next pitch hits in the middle of the mat for the third strike.Umpire calls that pitch a strike as well,but failed to say or verbally call strike 3. Batter remains in box (thinking 2 strikes). Pitcher pitches the ball-batter hits a double one run scores-hitter on second. Defensive team now realizes that the batter actually struck out and brings this up to the umpire.

What should be the correct call from the umpire ?
RULING • Run scores ... Base runner on 2B following his double ... Still two outs ... RATIONALE • Obviously an umpire error (and a "brain-dead" situation by all members of the defensive team), but defense has only until the next pitch to question/appeal/protest ... They failed to do so before the pitch that was hit, and appeal/protest rights expire at that moment ... Play on ... U.I.C. may also want to consider remedial umpire training on the use of an "indicator" and counting to "three" ...
WOW... just when you think heard it all...lol










What about this one. Actually happened to me at Roanoke. Ball pitched hits about six inches or more in front of the plate...I don't mean to swing but I took a funny swing the ball takes a bounce higher than expected and I made contact...the ball went into fair territory...What is the call? Not going to say what call was made because the umpire is one of the better ones...

PR NINJA OUT

JESUS TE AMA!!!
Forgot to say there were two umpires...Next question who's call it is to decide.
SSUSA Rulebook §6.15 (at page 37) • SHORT PITCH • A pitched ball hitting the ground in front of home plate is a dead ball. A ball shall be called on the batter.
That was not the call...
But should have been! ... Oh, and that's the Home Plate umpire's call, just like a normal ball/strike call ...
Just for the record. The umpire "cancelled" the hit called the the hitter out. No run scored .Inning over!

This after he conferred with his partner umpire! Go figure.
titanhd ... Although the untimely decision made will probably appear "fair" to the defense (after they awakened) and not so much so to the offense, the fact that it was made after the defensive team's appeal/protest rights had expired ‏is troublesome and incorrect ... I guess, by extension of that logic, MLB messed up by not awarding a perfect game to the Tigers Armando Galarraga following the blown call at 1st base in favor of Jose Tabata by umpire Jim Joyce back in 2010 ...

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA