Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 5 members: Heavi, JAB, JEstes23, breardon21, gmor17; 16 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Rules question

2nd & 3rd, 1 out. Long fly ball to center. Both runners tag up and score. Defense says runner on 2nd left too early. They appeal and the umpire calls him out. How many runs score? One or two? Won't reveal what the umpire did, yet.
The 2nd out is recorded on the catch of the fly ball and the 3rd out is on the appeal play, nullifying any runs scoring.
if the runner on 3rd scored before the ball was back into the infield and an appeal was made then 1 run would score...this is a time play.. runner on 2nd would have been called out for leaving early on the appeal ...3 outs
This runner leaving 2nd then becomes a force out. No runs should score.
Vance... no this is not a force out.. it is considered a timing play.. how are the runners forced to run? the fly ball was caught therefore the runners did not have to advance.. in this scenario 1 run would score unless the defense appealed that both runners had left early and the umpire called them both out
B.J. has the correct ruling ... Out #2 on the catch and out #3 on the dead ball appeal ... Run from 3rd scores on the timing play ... Only way to (maybe) have had a different result is if the OF had thrown behind the runner from 2nd in a live ball appeal, with the doubling up of the runner off 2nd occurring before the runner from 3rd crossed the scoring line ... Under no circumstances is this a force play, which would negate any potential run being scored, because after the initial catch, nobody was forced to go anywhere ...

Then the umpire screwed it up. He didn't allow either run to score. But relax, this wasn't an SSUSA tournament.
Hey Tad, Bill from your team came over to me yesterday to ask about that call, and I told him the umpire was wrong, and gave him the correct ruling, as the SSUSA staff and B.J. stated. Of course, these league games are for fun only, right? LOL!

Andy Smith,
65 Major,
USED2BE
It was a tournament game!
B.J. don't bother........like you have said it is a timing play....no force what so ever......run from 3rd scores as long as he has scored before the appeal at 2b has taken place.....
Stattad, if the appeal at second was completed before the runner at third scored then no run. If the runner at third scored before the appeal was completed then the run counts--aka--live ball appeal--timing play.
If the appeal was after the play was over--dead ball appeal--then the run would count.
OK Tad, I did not know it came up in a tournament too. The same issue came up in our games this past Wednesday. Have a nice Thanksgiving and play some Strat-O-Matic baseball! Say hi to Howard.

Andy Smith,
65 Major,
USED2BE
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA