SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 49 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Carry Bat

Posted Discussion
Dec. 13, 2018
Men's 60
42 posts
Carry Bat
Question can you carry your bat with you to first base after you hit a Home Run can you be called out for carrying your bat ??
Dec. 13, 2018
Men's 55
195 posts
If it is hit and sit rules it doesn't matter if you touch 1st with bat or not. Once ball goes over fence it's
a dead ball.
Dec. 13, 2018
91 posts
Why would you want too.. Dont know the rule.Should be a out.Reid
Dec. 13, 2018
1082 posts
yes in SSUSA you can carry the bat all the way around all the bases as long as you do not interfere in a defensive play
Dec. 13, 2018
36 posts

Hope you and yours are doing well.

Haven't heard from you for a long time.

How's things at your new home?

Give me a call sometime! It would be nice to hear from you.

Dec. 14, 2018
Wayne 37
Men's 65
773 posts
yes in SSUSA you can carry the bat all the way around all the bases as long as you do not interfere in a defensive play

Hey Sporto, are you saying there is a rule stating it is legal or are you saying there is no rule stating it is illegal?

Should I check in USA/ASA first.........LOL
Dec. 16, 2018
k man
Men's 65
320 posts
I know there is no SSUSA rule for this but I knew I saw it somewhere. Our 60+ league plays USSSA and there is a rule for this. Rule 8 Sec 4 G. Batter-runner out for carrying bat and touches 1B or beyond.
March 7, 2020
Men's 60
185 posts
yes as in a previous discussion bat can be carried but if the bat is hit by a throw from the defense as it is being carried by that batter runner it thus interfered with a play being made on that runner...making the runner out on interference!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
March 7, 2020
Men's 60
185 posts
fair foul or otherwise ...still interference!!!!
March 7, 2020
3404 posts
NOPE! ... But nice "stretch" to a rather seasoned thread to keep the discussion alive! ... Take a look again at the first two posts in the more recently closed thread ... The fact pattern as described made no mention of an act of interference ... The defense request for the "out" was solely on the issue of illegally carrying the bat, which is a non-existent violation of the SSUSA Rules ... As I'm sure you (should) know, interference is an umpire's judgment, and your apparent belief that it's an automatic call as soon as "bat, meet ball" occurs is an incorrect interpretation ... Let the "what If's" and "but, but, but!!!" fact pattern tweaks drift as far away from the original question as you think is relevant ... It remains a "Safe" call as described ...

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook