https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: hodgie; 44 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call

Posted Discussion
June 9, 2019
dug8
Men's 55
16 posts
You make the call
Line drive hit up the middle, defense playing 5 man. Ball hits off of pitchers glove, then hits runner who is off of the base. Middle infielder is standing behind the runner waiting to field ball. What is correct call?
June 9, 2019
umpire 14
8 posts
Live ball. Wait for results of play.
June 9, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2598 posts
umpire 14 is generally correct ... Here's the full text of the applicable rule ...
__________

Rulebook §9.1DEAD BALL [Page 54]
The ball is dead and not in play:
.
X. When a fair batted ball strikes an umpire or base runner on fair ground before passing or touching an infielder, excluding the pitcher. EXCEPTION: A fair batted ball that deflects off the pitcher's glove remains a live ball. EFFECT: The batter is awarded first base, and runners advance one base only if forced with the exception that a runner struck while off base is out. (See also §8.2 C.)

June 9, 2019
dug8
Men's 55
16 posts
Dave.... so, live ball regardless of a fielder behind the runner that could have fielded the ball? Umpire (also UIC) called dead ball, runner out because of fielder behind runner. If no middle infielder, then live ball in his opinion.
June 9, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2598 posts
Correct conclusion, but maybe an incorrect analysis to get there ... The runner is out because he was struck by a live batted ball ... umpire 14's "wait for result of play" is sound reasoning ... It seems unfair to me to rule, in effect, interference, because of the path of the ball being changed by deflecting off the pitcher's glove ... We don't believe that getting hit like that is an "act of interference" ... The umpire should probably have let the play finish, declare the runner out under the EXCEPTION and otherwise accept the result of the play ...

June 9, 2019
B.J.
612 posts
Dave, if the ball goes off the pitchers glove isn't he now considered a fielder?.. if the ball then hits a runner he is not out?

I can't find it clearly written in SSUSA.. in ASA/USA they cite
Section 8. RUNNER IS NOT OUT.
F. When a runner is hit by a fair batted ball after it touches, or is touched by, any fielder, including the pitcher, and the runner could not avoid contact with
the ball.
June 9, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2598 posts
B.J. ... I copied and pasted the above section directly from the SSUSA 2019-20 rule book section that was adopted back in November ... That subsection "X" seems to cover it pretty much on point, particularly the EXCEPTION language and the end of the EFFECT statement ... dug8 appeared, from my reading of his comments, to be looking at it from the "interference" theory ...
June 9, 2019
B.J.
612 posts
Dave, yes... I know that.. my question is where in the rule book does it cite that the runner is out.. what I'm saying is if the ball is off the pitchers glove and it is a live ball then the pitcher is now considered a fielder.. and if so then the runner should not be out once the ball has passed a fielder if its hits him??
June 9, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2598 posts
B.J. ... That's the parenthetical internal rule reference at the end of the above subsection "X" cite ► See also §8.2 C. on pages 44-45 ... You have to follow the bouncing ball, no matter how many runners, fielders, umpires and pitcher's gloves it hits along the way on this one! ... Thanks! ...
June 10, 2019
dug8
Men's 55
16 posts
Dave - I need to re-word my statement.
If no middle infielder, then live ball in his opinion and runner is "not" out.
I was wrong and the umpire got the call right with the only exception being that he stated that he was out only because there was a fielder behind him that could have made the play. My argument was that he was confusing it with the fielder interference rule. Bottom line is that he called the runner out and that was the correct call.
June 10, 2019
stick8
1714 posts
I have to side with BJ on this one. As described in the opening thread I have a live ball. Since the pitcher made an attempt to field the ball it “passed thru” him and thus he would be considered a fielder.
June 10, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 60
622 posts
Bill, the runner who was struck with the ball can't do anything intentional to interfere after the ball deflects off the fielder, the pitcher in this case. Immediate dead ball and award bases.
June 10, 2019
chico senior
Men's 60
107 posts
Why bring uo interference? Nothing in the original question had anything to do with interference. Wayne, the umpire guru, strikes again!
June 12, 2019
grayhitter59
Men's 55
222 posts
this sounds like dodge ball to me.

Once the ball is touched by the defense, why are the runners jeopardized?

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners