https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 56 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Rules Question

Posted Discussion
June 19, 2019
chico senior
Men's 60
113 posts
Rules Question
Watching local senior game tonight. Runner on first was caught in run down between first and second. Baserunner was moving towards 2nd when 1st baseman threw ball towards 2nd. Baserunner did not raise his arms but rather jumped into the air and was hit by throw. He was in the baseline while doing this. What’s the call?

Also, runner in same situation did not make any effort to get out of the way of the throw that would have completed a double play. Ball hits runner. What’s the call?
June 20, 2019
B.J.
641 posts
chico.. if the base runner did a non-softball act as in jumping for no reason and was hit with the thrown ball I would have an out for interference.. in your 2nd scenario the runner did nothing wrong he was in the base path doing what a runner is suppose to do.. no where does it say a runner must duck to avoid a throw (as long as he didn't do a Reggie Jackson and veer into the path of the ball) this would be a live ball play on
June 20, 2019
lb16
Men's 50
152 posts
B.J. is correct on both situations. The 2nd situation is where a lot of players get confused saying runner has to peel off or get out of the way of the throw. That is not the case if runner is in base path moving toward base and ball is thrown into him there is no interference. To add this is as long as runner is not doing anything out of the ordinary jumping, throwing hands etc. in front of ball.
June 29, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 65
646 posts
Wow, you guys amaze me.

If a runner has ample opportunity to avoid the throw after he is out, I'm ruling interference.

If a runner is stupid enough to get hit between the eyes with a throw or they have a chance to to peel off to avoid getting hit, guess which one I'm taking.

Sometimes you just have to umpire.
June 30, 2019
B.J.
641 posts
lol.. again welcome to waynes world.. another bad call by wayne.. a runner does not have to get out of the way of a thrown ball as long as he does not move into it or raise his arms up to get hit, it is the defenses job to throw over or around him.. go ahead and post this on the other umpire site they will also tell you that you are WRONG
June 30, 2019
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1297 posts
BJ, spot on as usual. The second scenario is the one that does draw the emotions at times. This is softball, not dodgeball. While runners can attempt to get out of the way, it is even more difficult for seniors as reflexes also slow down. No one wants to get hit with a thrown ball.
June 30, 2019
chico senior
Men's 60
113 posts
I put the question out there to see if I could snag him and guess what? I had never before seen a runner jump up in the air in the baseline but I was 95% sure that it would he would be out. The other question is something you go over early when training to be an umpire. Wayne must have went to a different school then the rest of us.
June 30, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 65
646 posts
Dear Moe, Larry and Curly,

I said if a runner who is out has ample opportunity to avoid getting hit with a thrown ball, say their out by 30 feet or more, they have interfered with the throw. I will get the out at first and all other runners will return to their time of pitch base.

If you can't get out of the way of something like that, you need to retire or let somebody run the bases for you. The way y'all interpret it the runner can take a couple of steps off 1B, stand in front the F3, and long as they do nothing but stand like a statue, they've haven't interfered.

I will not hesitate to throw thru to the base if I'm playing in the middle infield. The runners need to get out of my way. Besides, I never seen a runner try to get hit with a throw.

But, if you want to take one for the team between the eyes feel free. I suggest you slide, peel off or duck though so as not to get injured.

AGAIN IT'S WHERE THE RUNNER IS IF I'M JUDGING INTERFERENCE.

June 30, 2019
TimMcElroy
615 posts
This thread is going nowhere, FAST -
Can we save the membership from a dozen name calling, finger pointing posts over what boils down to a judgement call and shut it down now?
June 30, 2019
Garocket
Men's 55
257 posts
Wayne I thought you were an UMPIRE.

You said you would call the runner out for interfering with the throw and you would put all runners back. Well the only runners you could put back would be runners on second or third. I thought all good umpires knew that if a runner that had already been put out (which in this case is the situation) then the runner closet to home is also out. You might want to read up on the rules.
June 30, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2678 posts
EXCELLENT concise analysis and wise recommendation, Tim ... Duly noted and, accordingly, ** THREAD CLOSED **
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners