Online now: 3 members: baseballbill
; 88 anonymous
|Aug. 12, 2019|
Need an answer to this one.
Bases loaded, no one out.
Pop-up behind pitcher.
Umpire calls out infield fly rule, batter out.
Ball is not caught as second baseman could not make the play.
Runner on third heads for home when ball bounces.
Defensive player throws home.
Runner did not pass commit line.
As other runners move around, the catcher throws the ball to the infield.
Umpire did not make a call yet.
Runner then crosses commit line and goes home.
No one else is put out.
Is the runner out as the third out or is it a score?
|Aug. 12, 2019|
|Based on your description the run scores. |
|Sept. 1, 2019|
|The infield fly is to protect the runners and keep the defense from getting an easy double play. Based on what you said on the 2nd baseman not being able to make a play, it sounds as if the umpire might have made the call too quick as the words ordinary effort are key as to whether or not this should have been called...now if the fielder erred in catching the fly or they just miss-judged the fly, I would have the batter as out. The call of infield fly takes the force off.|
|Sept. 3, 2019|
|bruiser - kinda confused by your description of play. you said bases loaded no one out so when umpire called infield fly you have 1 out. Runner going home is safe so you asked if runner going home was the 3rd out which isn't an out, where did the 2nd out come from?|
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.