https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: OrlandoErik99; 29 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Kicking the ball to a teammate legal?

Posted Discussion
July 20, 2020
jgoff5113
Men's 60
56 posts
Kicking the ball to a teammate legal?
Situation: Batted ball bounces off the pitcher and is rolling away from him and toward his 1st baseman. The pitcher deliberately kicks the ball the ball over to his 1st baseman who picks it up in time for the out. Is this a legal play? Or should the batter be called safe?
July 20, 2020
bkb555
288 posts
sounds like a heads up call to me...i say out
July 20, 2020
DieselDan
Men's 70
471 posts
It's been legal in our games where it's happen. Heads up play.
July 20, 2020
DaveDowell
Men's 65
3562 posts
jgoff5113 ... Nothing in our rulebook prohibits the type of "assist" on that put out ... There are implications if a defender kicks a ball into "dead ball territory", but the play you describe is legal ... As an umpire, I agree with bkb555 and the "other" DD and have an "OUT" ...
July 20, 2020
jgoff5113
Men's 60
56 posts
Once again, thanks DD's and bkb555. You guys are the experts!
July 21, 2020
Wayne 37
Men's 65
773 posts
A little deviation of the play. Pitcher catches a hard hit liner that lodges in their webbing and can't get it out. Can the pitcher throw the glove to the base with the ball still lodged in the webbing to record an out.
July 21, 2020
bkb555
288 posts
i saw it happen in a pro baseball game and the guy was called out...i recently had a play where a ball was hit to 2B and the fielder grabbed the ball with his bare hand and tagged the bag with his glove...ump called him out which is correct on a force play but on a tag play, the ball has to be in the hand that tags the runner
July 21, 2020
jgoff5113
Men's 60
56 posts
Very interesting, bkb555. I assume that in the opposite scenario where the ball is on the infielder's glove and he touches the base with his other (bare) hand, the correct call would also be "out" (assuming it's a force play). Same principal that allows the much more typical play of the infielder having the ball in either hand and touching the bag with either foot. As long as the ball is in either hand and under control, touching the bag with any part of the body on a force play results in an out.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners