SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 71 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Ball or strike

Posted Discussion
Dec. 8, 2020
37 posts
Ball or strike
We are having a discussion on when there is a pitch which misses the plate, but still has the inner or outer half of the ball over the inside or the outside of the plate, but again when the ball lands, there was no contact with the plate or the mat, should this pitch be called a strike?
Dec. 8, 2020
1082 posts
Dec. 8, 2020
Men's 70
905 posts
It seems to me that if the ball actually hits the inside or the outside edge of the plate that it would deflect sideways. However, I have had, on many occasions, such a pitch called a strike on me. Even explaining the physics of the event to the ump makes no difference. Perhaps someone can explain the "error of my ways"!
Dec. 8, 2020
1082 posts
DoubleL.. read the OP again it states the ball NEVER struck the mat so therefore it's a ball.. the calling of a ball or strike is umpire judgement on whether the ball just nips the edge of the strike mat ...

lol.. on explaining the physics of the event to an ump...

as far as the error of your ways... understand that an umpire can make an error on a call just like your teammates boot a ground ball of drop a fly ball... do you go up to them and explain the psychics of catching a round object with a concave glove

Dec. 8, 2020
Men's 70
905 posts
B.J. I should have said "I have had, on many occasions, a pitch that DID NOT hit the inside or outside edge of the plate" called a strike. In such an occurrence, I do not expect the ball to deflect. If the ball does deflect, i.e., "nips the edge", I expect a strike call.
As to your suggestion on explaining the physics of catching a ball with a concave glove, I need to explain that one to myself! LOL!
Dec. 8, 2020
Men's 75
579 posts
Since B.J. responded, I imagine Wayne37 will post at some point. B.J's. reply should be correct. Where in soccer, the ball can be in contact with the ground outside the touch line, but still be in play because one side of the ball is over the touch line even if not touching it. Well, sometimes it might if the grass is high. Most senior plates are somewhat thick, so it's hard to have the same situation as the above soccer one with a smaller softball.
Dec. 9, 2020
1082 posts
DD..(instigator) I can't
Dec. 9, 2020
Wayne 37
Men's 65
773 posts

Used to they used the plate and a mud flap as part the of the strike mat. Their width was 17". The new strike mats even with mud flap going up the side of the plate are 19". Technically, you are getting the corners.
Dec. 22, 2020
2 posts
A strike zone mat will be used. Legal pitches striking any portion of the mat will
be strikes.

It appears it must strike the mat
Dec. 23, 2020
409 posts
Of course it has to strike the mat because if it just had to overlap the mat without touching it there would be endless arguments about where to draw the line so to speak (but there are still many arguments when the ball lands at the front edge of the mat/plate)
Dec. 24, 2020
1985 posts
To answer Randall’s original question:
No, that is not to be called a strike.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook