Online now: 2 members: Runner Blue
, TABLE SETTER 11
; 113 anonymous
Discussion: Interference or not
|Feb. 2, 2021|
|Interference or not|
Ok ,I need help. It appears my league is split on this call. we had a similar situation a couple of weeks ago. However this is different. There is a Runner on first. A ball is hit to the left side, the fielder covers second base on the side facing third base since the ball is coming from deep short. The runner does not stop at second. He collides with the defensive player who is trying to field the throw from shortstop. The umpire rules that the runner beat the throw to second and that there is no interference. The runner goes to the inside of the bag on his way to third. The collision happens, bot,h plavyers are on the ground. I believe that the defensive player was not allowed to field the ball. Others believe that since the runner beat the throw to second and proceeded to third that there is no interference. This was a bang bang play. The runner had the back side of 2nd available to him but chose to continue running to third colliding with the defensive player. I say interference on the runner but others say different.
|Feb. 2, 2021|
|Sounds like who was covering 2B was waiting for a throw from F6 on the 3B side. Comes off more as illegal contact. Runner out for interference as well as B/R due runner interference.....if indeed a call should have been made.|
There is a tight window when a runner can make legal contract. Appears they were outside that window.
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.