http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: dkrollw364; 15 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Scoring line

Posted Discussion
March 28, 2021
Randall
37 posts
Scoring line
We had a game this week where there was a runner on 3B. The batter got a hit and the runner on 3B ran to the scoring line. He stopped about 2 inches short of the line and turned around and went to the third base dugout. No one but the umpire noticed that this had happened. The umpire made no call, which I believe was the correct no call. I believe that the defensive team would have had to make an appeal saying that the runner did not reach the scoring line. Is this correct?
March 28, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
Randall.. the scoring line has nothing to do with the call unless he was tagged AFTER he touched on or past the line and in your OP that didn't happen.. I would have the runner out for abandoning his base as soon as he entered the dugout an appeal is not necessary
March 28, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
Randall i should have wrote... unless he was tagged BEFORE he touched on or passed the scoring line
March 28, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
71 posts
Randall - two questions about this play, were you the umpire or the runner as you said no one else saw this idiot stop short of the scoring line and take a 90 degree turn to the dugout? This scenario is surreal, and yes as soon as the runner left the field of play and entered the dugout the umpire should have signaled an out.
March 28, 2021
Randall
37 posts
The runner was never tagged. There was no play on him whatsoever. He just stopped short of the scoring line, turned and went to the third base dugout. No one else noticed this because there was a play going on in the field as a result of the batter getting a hit. Everyone assumed that the runner starting at 3B would score on the hit. He would have scored if he just would have taken another step. He never dreamed anyone would see him stop short because there was no reason for him to do that. I was playing catcher and following the ball out in the middle of the field. The umpire told me about it an inning later.no one appealed. The umpire said nothing, the run was counted on the scoreboard. My question is should the run have counted or should the umpire have called him out when that runner returned to the dugout area?
March 28, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
this is why I do not like a scoring line unless the line is the width of the scoring plate.. a runner who MISSES the scoring plate BUT passes it and then continues to the dugout would be out ONLY on appeal because he actually passed the plate/line..

a runner who does not pass the scoring plate/line has not yet fulfilled his duties on advancing to the next base and therefore should be called out when he enters the dugout for abandoning his base (see SSUSA rule 8.1 below & ASA rule 8.7 U)

this is no different than if after the hit the runner took a few steps off 3B then decided to take a R turn and enter the 3B dugout

SSUSA
8.1 • TOUCHING BASES IN ORDER
The base runner must touch bases 1st , 2nd , 3rd and "CROSS" the scoring line or touch the scoring plate in that order.

ASA
RULE 8 THE RUNNER IS OUT.
Section 7. U. When a runner abandons a base and enters the team area or leaves live ball territory.


March 28, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
71 posts
Randall, once again, no one on your team saw the runner turn and go to the dugout? As the catcher, you should easily be able to watch the play in the field while making sure the runner tagged home plate(the scoring home plate) but at least you admitted that you weren’t paying attention.

Yes, the umpire should have called the runner out, again as soon as the runner left the playing field and joined his fellow dummies in the dugout. But you keep asking the same question, “should the umpire have called the runner out?” The answer isn’t going to change.

One of my favorite adult comedians, Ron White (they call me tater salad) would say, and I quote, “you can’t fix stupid”
March 28, 2021
Randall
37 posts
Thank you!
March 30, 2021
stick8
1853 posts
Randall to answer your question from 4 posts above:
Yes, the umpire should have called that runner out for going into the dugout area before crossing the scoring line.
The umpire did well to notice it but a no call was a mistake.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners