https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: TonyA; 54 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Stepping out of the box to avoid being quick-pitched

Posted Discussion
Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Men's 60
58 posts
Stepping out of the box to avoid being quick-pitched
To avoid being quick-pitched after the first pitch has been thrown, is it sufficient that the batter step out of the batter's box (assuming he does this before the pitcher begins his throwing motion), or must the batter also ask for "time" from the umpire?
Nov. 17, 2021
DaveDowell
Men's 70
3633 posts
It's a "play ball" situation unless/until you ask for, AND ARE GRANTED "time" ... The umpire should be seeing the same quick-pitch routine you are and that would be a good time for you to ask the ump to slow the pitcher down ...
Nov. 17, 2021
B.J.
934 posts
jgoff.. as stated by Dave this is a live ball situation… if You know a pitcher has a tendency to quick pitch or you like to re-set yourself after each pitch tell the umpire you would like time after every pitch while you are entering the box

if before a pitcher starts his motion the batter just steps back and out of the box with 1 foot the umpire SHOULD immediately raise his arm signaling no pitch..
because once outside of the box the umpire cannot allow the pitcher to pitch
Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Men's 60
58 posts
Thanks Dave and BJ. So it sounds like if a batter steps out without asking for “time”, he sort of puts his fate/faith in the umpire to declare “no pitch”. If the ump fails to do that, then the pitch counts and the batter has himself to blame (more than the umpire) for not asking for “time” in between each pitch.
Nov. 17, 2021
DaveDowell
Men's 70
3633 posts
jgoff5113 ... I like B.J.'s suggestion a lot of asking for time on every pitch ... Quick-pitching is, reduced to its simplest form, just the pitcher's attempt to disrupt your rhythm by rushing you ... The "time out on every pitch" is the batter's counter-tool to impose his own rhythm on the pitcher ... But the batter has a partner in the umpire! ... Good luck with it!
Nov. 17, 2021
jgoff5113
Men's 60
58 posts
Thanks Dave! Just one more thing I’ll add: I sometimes step out during an at-bat to see if any of the fielders have moved since I first checked them when stepping up to bat…and I often find that one or more of them has indeed moved.
Nov. 18, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
This has always been a stickler of an issue with players. When I umpire I stress to both managers at the pregame that before the first pitch I automatically give the batter time to get set. After the first pitch it’s on the batter to call time out. If after the first pitch, you’re in the box fiddling with your batting glove or getting your feet set and the pitcher pitches its game on.
I’ve never had a batter tell me that they want time after every pitch. And I’ll admit I’ve never heard of anyone requesting that but it’s actually a pretty good idea. As long as that batter doesn’t do the Mike Hargrove routine!!
Nov. 18, 2021
DieselDan
Men's 70
483 posts
Would the Nomar Garciaparra routine be acceptable Stick8?
Nov. 19, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
Sure, he didn’t take nearly as long as Hargrove did. There’s a good reason why Hargrove was known as the human rain delay!
Nov. 19, 2021
Guppy7325
11 posts
I will say this, pitchers are creatures of habit.. if you the first hitter of the game and he quick pitches you.. The umpire will catch him and make the correction right there establishing the boundary. After that it’s game on. Normally like the others I will give you the first time in the at bat to settle in and be ready. If asked I will grant you reset. This is softball, and the same can be said about the pitcher. If he is ready and the batter is in the box doing other than get set.. It’s on you the batter. There is a time limit between pitches and I’ve had to enforce it a few time as well.. Be courteous to the umpire and it will go along way in your experience in the batter box..
Nov. 19, 2021
MurrayW
Men's 65
184 posts
It also goes the other way. After all, this is slow pitch softball. How much time do you need to get ready for a pitch?

Years ago, when I played young man's league, an opposing batter would take until he got a strike and step out for 20-30 seconds after every pitch. Since we had a time limit, he could make the difference between getting to play an extra inning. We got to the point where we just intentionally walked him every time he came up to bat. Eventually, he got the message and begged us to pitch to him and stopped with his game-wasting actions before every pitch.
Nov. 19, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
Ever notice on the rare occasion when someone swings and misses the pitcher will get the ball back and quick pitch? That happened to one of our guys a couple weeks ago in Sanford. The umpire correctly called it a ball because of no pause/didn’t present the ball.
Nov. 19, 2021
Kimbo Chino
Men's 50
6 posts
GENTLEMEN, QUICK PITCH IS NOT ALLOWED.
here is the rules from the SSUSA rule book:

1.56 • QUICK PITCH
A pitch made by the pitcher with the obvious attempt to catch the batter unprepared. This would be before the batter takes his desired position in the batter's box or while he is still off balance as a result of the previous pitch.

6.11 • QUICK PITCH
The pitcher shall not attempt a quick return of the ball before the batter has taken his position or when the batter is off balance as a result of a pitch. EFFECT: The umpire will call time and allow the batter to get set.
Nov. 20, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
135 posts
KC - Good job in referencing both the definition and applicable rule that governs the question from the original post.

The post that is immediately above your post has incorrectly addressed this post. He specifically references that a quick pitch has occurred and incorrectly agrees with an umpire that has also incorrectly called this pitch a ball. The correct call, as KC has referenced, is Time called resulting in a no pitch being called on the batter.
Nov. 20, 2021
hackman
5 posts
A couple things from the rule book:
1.56 • QUICK PITCH
A pitch made by the pitcher with the obvious attempt to catch the batter
unprepared. This would be before the batter takes his desired position in the
batter's box or while he is still off balance as a result of the previous pitch.
6.11 • QUICK PITCH
The pitcher shall not attempt a quick return of the ball before the batter has
taken his position or when the batter is off balance as a result of a pitch.
EFFECT: The umpire will call time and allow the batter to get set.
6.13 • NO PITCH
No pitch shall be declared when:
A. The pitcher pitches during the suspension of play.
B. The pitcher attempts to "quick pitch" the batter.

Don't put your second foot into the box until you are ready, and never take your eye off the pitcher.
Nov. 21, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
T2, if you’re referring to my post once again your a bit mistaken.
First, I was there, it was one of my teammates at bat and I watched the whole thing. Call it a hunch but I’m going to guess you weren’t there.
Second, if you read what I posted it clearly stated the umpire called it a ball because of no pause/didn’t present the ball. IOW mr T2, it was an illegal pitch.
Although our batter smiled after swinging and missing he was ready for the next pitch. No one called time. As soon as the pitcher released the next pitch the umpires left arm went out and he yelled “illegal”. Our batter let the pitch go. The pitcher asked why and the umpire told him no pause/didn’t present the ball. There was no argument.
That is what happened mr T2. It was not a no-pitch, it was correctly ruled an illegal pitch and thus counted as a ball.



Nov. 21, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
135 posts
Stick8 - yes my post was in reference to your post. No, I was not there but based on what you posted, both the umpire and you were both wrong in the call that he made and you agreed with.

In YOUR words, you stated that the pitcher QUICK PITCHED your teammate. KC and Hackman both listed the applicable definition and rules, 1.56, QUICK PITCH, 6.11 QUICK PITCH, and 6.13 NO PITCH

I’ll repeat my same last sentence, “the correct call as KC has referenced, is Time called resulting in a no pitch being called on the batter.
Nov. 22, 2021
B.J.
934 posts
T2.. some quick pitches can be called illegal..
for example say a strike is called on the batter and he never moves his position and just keeps looking at the pitcher "and is set" .. the catcher returns the ball to the pitcher who "immediately" takes the ball from his glove without a full and complete stop and 1 sec pause and releases the pitch..

as an umpire I have an immediate illegal pitch call upon release of the ball and a ball call if the batter does not swing.. the rule is below

6.4 • BEFORE STARTING THE PITCH
C. The pitcher must come to a full and complete stop with the ball in front of the body. The front of the body must face the batter. This position must be
maintained at least one second before starting the pitch.

also stick I'm not sure what you mean by presenting the ball?? the pitcher does not have to actually present/show the ball he just has to have the ball in front of his body.. it can be in his hand or hidden in his glove for the 1 sec. pause before starting his motion


Nov. 22, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
T2, I’m sorry but you are quite mistaken. Please process this if you would. The batter never left the box, the batter did not call time out, the umpire did not call time out or have his hand up and the batter was ready when the quick pitch was delivered. Since this was my teammate I was there, I witnessed the whole thing. The umpire put his left arm out and yelled “illegal”. As a result mr T2 the umpire made the right call in this situation. The rule you reference only applies to a batter who hasn’t taken his desired position in the box or is off balance—both as a result of the previous pitch. Or it applies during a suspension of play—meaning if time is called. None of that happened here mr T2. You have a habit of making assumptions about certain situations that are mistaken.
Nov. 22, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
BJ, “presenting the ball” was from a now deceased old school UIC I worked for years ago when I umpired USSSA. His “presenting the ball” before pitching was his way getting us to combat quick pitching.
He didnt mean physically present or show the ball. Just make certain the pitcher pauses for one second with the ball in his possession before pitching.
Nov. 22, 2021
TimMcElroy
801 posts
Welcome to the off season, where a simple question results in 34 replies and 9 additional "what if" scenarios.

I am looking forward to the "Which ball are we hitting in Hemet" and "Where are the 60s playing in Vegas" threads.
Nov. 22, 2021
mck71
261 posts
Come on Tim, was only 21 with your reply (22 with mine :-)

Happy Thanksgiving to all, GREAT week to give thanks for the blessings in our lives.

Hopefully y'all enjoy your off season (if you have one), see you next year!
Nov. 22, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
135 posts
stick8 - the biggest problem with these discussions come as a result of posters like yourself that change the dialogue and circumstances on every one of your posts, like the Liberals, they keep the stories coming until they finally get one that their answer actually fits.

You're even arguing with BJ about Rule 6.4.C which is printed above that clearly states that the ball must be in front of the pitcher, pitcher comes to a full and complete stop, maintained for a full second. You attribute the term "present the ball" (which i am many others use 6.4.C as a basis of using the term) as some deceased old school UIC that you worked with years ago?

Exactly how old are you? You and Joe Biden seem to be in the same boat as far as cognitive abilities. It's pitiful what these discussions most often evolve into.

And lastly a Quick Pitch and an illegal pitch are two different things. Any violation of 6.3 thru 6.10 are illegal pitches as covered by 6.11(1) and a ball is called on the batter.

6.11 covers Quick Pitch, Time is call and a no pitch is declared for all to hear.

Nov. 22, 2021
Dbax
Men's 65
1987 posts
But I’m not here to argue.
Nov. 22, 2021
B.J.
934 posts
It’s time to close this thread
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners